Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
15
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 May 2007
I watched this with my 8 year old daughter and we both loved it! I had wondered if maybe she wouldn't enjoy it as it's not 'modern' and 'whizzy' like animated films today, but it was fantastic and I will definately be watching the other Peanuts film with her! Brilliant!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2007
This Peanuts full-length feature, "A Boy Named Charlie Brown", originally released in 1969 was the first of a series of four full length Peanuts features, all of which turned out great. That said, this is definitely the weaker of all four films, partly because of the absence of two great characters, Peppermint Patty and Marcie and also because of a somewhat depressing plot-line.

The film starts with Charlie Brown complaining about his life as usual, feeling that he is a total failure and that he isn't good for anything. The story continues as Charlie Brown shows everyone that what he believes is true, he fails at Baseball, at kite-flying and at other activities, but then his opportunity to prove himself worth something comes when his school becomes part of a national spelling-bee and he decides to enter the competition. Unfortunately for good old Charlie, he doesn't really receive a lot of support from his school-mates, who put him down saying he'll just make a fool of himself, but with the help of Snoopy and Linus, he manages to defeat his class' other competitors and enters the spelling-bee. Charlie Brown then travels to the city, where the spelling-bee is to continue, but will Charlie Brown be warmly welcomed back when it is all over?

The story-line is a Peanuts classic, unfortunately it is still not very interesting and it seems the film-makers had to add way too many out of place sequences to actually make this feature a full-length one. Sequences such as Snoopy's play of a National Anthem record, Schroeder's classical piano-playing or Snoopy's ice skating are totally out of place and unneeded to the uneven flow of the film. The animation is Peanutsstandard, so that's something in its favor, but the music and songs leave a lot to be desired, songs such as "A Boy Named Charlie Brown," "Failure Face", "Champion Charlie Brown" and "I Before E" are rather weak and not very memorable. Still, as a Peanuts film, it holds a little charm, but it is definitely the weakest of all four Peanuts features.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2013
Out of all the Peanuts animations, this movie captures the world of the comic strips most excellently, and transfer which does not lose the cold and unsweetened nueroticism of Charlie Brown and provides a refreshing, modest and honest moral to children and adults on the nature of success and failure - very much stands out in the sea of the paralysing "NEVER GIVE UP, YOU CAN DO IT!" trend of contemporary children's media.

DVD format itself however is rather questionable, perhaps I can give it a bit of leeway seeing this DVD re-release was back in 2005, but I found that video format isn't in its original widescreen, instead the sides are trimmed a bit. Further proof of this is the discreet letter boxing that occurs during the credits since the text would've been trimmed. If guess this was necessary to get it on a PAL 576i resolution (That's 768 pixels by 576) DVD. Goodness, what a barbaric time 2005 must've been.

Though if I seriously cared I would have purchased the original 35mm film and project it, which I'd imagine to be glorious, so it's a little give and take. At least the audio is in stereo, unlike the 60s specials collection. So I'll leave you potential buyers to decide if you can deal with a little bit of quality loss.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2011
What was bought as a stocking filler for my boy friend, turned out to be his best present! Excellent value, considering other Charlie Brown or Snoopy DVDs are quite expensive, and really good quality sound and imagery on the DVD itself. Would recommend :)
22 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2013
great quality product and great customer service, great quality product and great customer service, i would shop again without hesitation
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2015
Brilliant item and you can't beat the peanuts gang for laughs - arrived before stated end date and considering how far it came fantastic
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2008
I hate to say it but there are better Charlie Brown stories. This was a bit of a let down, my daughter doesn't really enjoy it and gets bored quickly. We've watched other stories at friend's houses and loved them, but this one didn't fall into that category. Think we'll persevere though. Delivery was fine.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2013
This has been watched over and over and always with a good deal of enjoyment.I would recommend this as a change from the usual cartoons.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2014
This is a lovely DVD and the story never ages. It is one of 3 we purchased for our son, and he loves them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2015
Found it a bit depressing on first viewing - But it's growing on me !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse