Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Image not available

Tell the Publisher!
Id like to read this book on Kindle

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Charles Dickens: Five Book Collection [Unknown Binding]

5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)

Currently unavailable.
We don't know when or if this item will be back in stock.

Product details

  • Unknown Binding
  • ISBN-10: 0141391626
  • ISBN-13: 978-0141391625
  • Product Dimensions: 25.9 x 20.3 x 7.1 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 388,390 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Charles Dickens was born in 1812 near Portsmouth where his father was a clerk in the navy pay office. The family moved to London in 1823, but their fortunes were severely impaired. Dickens was sent to work in a blacking-warehouse when his father was imprisoned for debt. Both experiences deeply affected the future novelist. In 1833 he began contributing stories to newspapers and magazines, and in 1836 started the serial publication of Pickwick Papers. Thereafter, Dickens published his major novels over the course of the next twenty years, from Nicholas Nickleby to Little Dorrit. He also edited the journals Household Words and All the Year Round. Dickens died in June 1870.

Product Description

Book Description

2012 marks the two-hundredth anniversary of the birth of one of our greatest and most important novelists, Charles Dickens. To celebrate we're publishing five of his best and most well-loved novels in this exclusive, must-have set of our Penguin Classics editions. The set includes paperback editions of:

- David Copperfield
- Great Expectations
- A Tale of Two Cities
- Hard Times
- Oliver Twist

About the Author

Charles Dickens was born on 7 February 1812. He began Oliver Twist in 1837, followed by Nicholas Nickleby (1838) and The Old Curiosity Shop (1840-41). A Christmas Carol, appeared in 1843, David Copperfield in 1850. In later works, such as Bleak House (1853) and Little Dorrit (1857), Dickens's social criticism became more radical and his comedy more savage. He published Hard Times in 1854, A Tale of Two Cities in 1859 and Great Expectations in 1860. His last novel, The Mystery of Edwin Drood, was never completed and he died on 9 June 1870.

Sell a Digital Version of This Book in the Kindle Store

If you are a publisher or author and hold the digital rights to a book, you can sell a digital version of it in our Kindle Store. Learn more

Customer Reviews

4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
5.0 out of 5 stars
5.0 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dickens for the purists and the pleasure-seekers 14 Dec 2011
Format:Unknown Binding|Verified Purchase
These Penguin Classics editions are so much more than the stories we are all familiar with.

Firstly, they all come with an extensive introduction, placing the novel in context and giving enough of the background to be interesting, without becoming tediously long.

Second there are extensive notes on the text, again helping to bring out more meat.

Finally, there is the text itself:
Many classic novels, including many Dickens, we're originally released in significantly different versions to those generally available today. What we see lining the shelves of libraries and discount bookstores are frequently edited versions put together either without the consent of the author, or even after their death. And this is where these books really excel.

They are all much earlier versions, some taken from original periodical publication, while others have actually been compared to original manuscripts! Many contain information and crucial story points that were subsequently watered down or removed entirely. At points, it can feel like you're reading a whole new novel.

Significantly though, not all are what Dickens would have considered 'final' versions. Oliver Twist, for instance, contains numerous racial slights regarding Fagin that Dickens himself changed or toned down after complaints, while his famous opening piece about the town for which he would 'assign no fictitious name' replaced the much shorter comment that the town was called 'Mudfog'!

And this is the beauty of these books. Such things are explained simply and you gain a real insight into the workings of the author's mind without feeling lectured to.

I got these because I enjoyed reading the books and would heartily recommend these fantastic editions to anyone who actually wants to read these for pleasure as well as for learning. And the five book set offered fantastic value for money, even though I already had one of them!

Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Value Set 28 Nov 2011
Format:Unknown Binding|Verified Purchase
Even if I hadnt purchased this at the 'Black Friday' price, this set is well worth the money. A great collection of Charles Dickens' books for a relatively good price.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Good classic read 6 Oct 2012
Format:Unknown Binding|Verified Purchase
Bought this for hubbie as one of his Christmas presents last year. He's still ploughing through, at present on Hard Times, and enjoying. Can't beat Dickens.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions

Look for similar items by category