Includes FREE MP3
version
of this album.
or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
More Buying Choices
Naxos Direct UK Add to Cart
10.99
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Available to Download Now
 
Buy the MP3 album for 14.98
 
 
 
 
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 

Charles Avison: Twelve Concertos, Op. 6

Charles Avison , Pavlo Beznosiuk , Avison Ensemble Audio CD
4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)
Price: 11.03 & FREE Delivery in the UK. Details
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
 : Includes FREE MP3 version of this album.
   Does not apply to gift orders. See Terms and Conditions for important information about costs that may apply for the MP3 version in case of returns and cancellations.
Only 3 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Want it Monday, 14 July? Choose Express delivery at checkout. Details
Complete your purchase to add the MP3 version to your Amazon music library. Provided by Amazon EU S. r.l.
Buy the MP3 album for 14.98 at the Amazon Digital Music Store.


Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Spend 30 and get Norton 360 21.0 - 3 Computers, 1 Year 2014 for 24.99. Here's how (terms and conditions apply)

Frequently Bought Together

Charles Avison: Twelve Concertos, Op. 6 + Charles Avison: Six Concertos, Op. 3; Eight Concertos, Op. 4 + Garth: Six Concertos for Violoncello /Tunnicliffe  The Avison Ensemble  Beznosiuk
Price For All Three: 38.01

Buy the selected items together

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product details

  • Orchestra: Avison Ensemble
  • Conductor: Pavlo Beznosiuk
  • Composer: Charles Avison
  • Audio CD (28 Jun 2004)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Label: Naxos
  • ASIN: B0002BXO5U
  • Other Editions: Audio CD  |  MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 73,562 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Listen to Samples and Buy MP3s

Songs from this album are available to purchase as MP3s. Click on "Buy MP3" or view the MP3 Album.
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                         


Disc 1:

Samples
Song Title Time Price
Listen  1. Concerto in G minor, Op. 6, No. 1: I. Adagio - Allegro - Adagio 4:150.69  Buy MP3 
Listen  2. Concerto in G minor, Op. 6, No. 1: II. Allegro 3:070.69  Buy MP3 
Listen  3. Concerto in B flat major, Op. 6. No. 2: I. Andante 2:030.69  Buy MP3 
Listen  4. Concerto in B flat major, Op. 6. No. 2: II. Allegro 3:430.69  Buy MP3 
Listen  5. Concerto in B flat major, Op. 6. No. 2: III. Adagio 1:130.69  Buy MP3 
Listen  6. Concerto in B flat major, Op. 6. No. 2: IV. Vivace 3:160.69  Buy MP3 
Listen  7. Concerto in E minor, Op. 6, No. 3: I. Adagio 2:000.69  Buy MP3 
Listen  8. Concerto in E minor, Op. 6, No. 3: II. Allegro 1:220.69  Buy MP3 
Listen  9. Concerto in E minor, Op. 6, No. 3: III. Adagio 1:370.69  Buy MP3 
Listen10. Concerto in E minor, Op. 6, No. 3: IV. Allegro 3:190.69  Buy MP3 
Listen11. Concerto in D major, Op. 6, No. 4: I. Andante 1:430.69  Buy MP3 
Listen12. Concerto in D major, Op. 6, No. 4: II. Allegro assai 1:510.69  Buy MP3 
Listen13. Concerto in D major, Op. 6, No. 4: III. Adagio 1:110.69  Buy MP3 
Listen14. Concerto in D major, Op. 6, No. 4: IV. Minuet: Vivace 1:580.69  Buy MP3 
Listen15. Concerto in B flat major, Op. 6. No. 5: I. Maestoso 3:450.69  Buy MP3 
Listen16. Concerto in B flat major, Op. 6. No. 5: II. Allegro assai 1:520.69  Buy MP3 
Listen17. Concerto in B flat major, Op. 6. No. 5: III. Adagio0:380.69  Buy MP3 
Listen18. Concerto in B flat major, Op. 6. No. 5: IV. Allegro spiritoso 2:080.69  Buy MP3 
Listen19. Concerto in D major, Op. 6, No. 6: I. Andante 1:440.69  Buy MP3 
Listen20. Concerto in D major, Op. 6, No. 6: II. Con spirito 2:500.69  Buy MP3 
Listen21. Concerto in D major, Op. 6, No. 6: III. Adagio 1:240.69  Buy MP3 
Listen22. Concerto in D major, Op. 6, No. 6: IV. Vivace 2:050.69  Buy MP3 


Disc 2:

Samples
Song Title Time Price
Listen  1. Concerto in G major, Op. 6, No. 7: I. Adagio - Allegro 4:150.69  Buy MP3 
Listen  2. Concerto in G major, Op. 6, No. 7: II. Allegro con affetto 3:500.69  Buy MP3 
Listen  3. Concerto in E minor, Op. 6, No. 8: I. Adagio - Allegro 3:000.69  Buy MP3 
Listen  4. Concerto in E minor, Op. 6, No. 8: II. Amoroso 3:150.69  Buy MP3 
Listen  5. Concerto in E minor, Op. 6, No. 8: III. Allegro 2:570.69  Buy MP3 
Listen  6. Concerto in D major, Op. 6, No. 9: I. Allegro - Adagio 3:160.69  Buy MP3 
Listen  7. Concerto in D major, Op. 6, No. 9: II. Andante siciliana 2:200.69  Buy MP3 
Listen  8. Concerto in D major, Op. 6, No. 9: III. Vivace 2:330.69  Buy MP3 
Listen  9. Concerto in C major, Op. 6, No. 10: I. Allegro 4:020.69  Buy MP3 
Listen10. Concerto in C major, Op. 6, No. 10: II. Adagio 1:490.69  Buy MP3 
Listen11. Concerto in C major, Op. 6, No. 10: III. Allegro 5:080.69  Buy MP3 
Listen12. Concerto in G minor, Op. 6, No. 11: I. Con spirito 2:230.69  Buy MP3 
Listen13. Concerto in G minor, Op. 6, No. 11: II. Allegro 1:530.69  Buy MP3 
Listen14. Concerto in G minor, Op. 6, No. 11: III. Con affetto 1:280.69  Buy MP3 
Listen15. Concerto in G minor, Op. 6, No. 11: IV. Tempo moderato 4:090.69  Buy MP3 
Listen16. Concerto in A major, Op. 6, No. 12: I. Allegro spiritoso 5:070.69  Buy MP3 
Listen17. Concerto in A major, Op. 6, No. 12: II. Andante affetuoso 3:000.69  Buy MP3 
Listen18. Concerto in A major, Op. 6, No. 12: III. Allegro 3:000.69  Buy MP3 


Customer Reviews

3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DOWN WITH HANDEL! 1 Dec 2004
By DAVID BRYSON TOP 500 REVIEWER VINE VOICE
Format:Audio CD
Charles Avison was twenty-four years younger than Handel and twenty-three years older than Haydn. He was a Geordie, born in Newcastle-upon-Tyne. He went to London at an early age to receive lessons from Geminiani, himself a pupil of Corelli, and got himself into a spot of controversy by his robust claim that Geminiani was a better composer than Handel. The latter still dominated the London musical scene to a surprising extent even after his death and up to the time of Avison's own -- pasticcio-Handel oratorios such as Gideon were still being churned out - and whether or not for that reason the ambitious Avison did not try to exorcise Handel's musical ghost from the capital but returned to the north, dying there in prosperous circumstances in 1770 at the age of 61.
These twelve concertos were published in 1758, one year before Handel died. When they were written I don't know, but there is a definite sense of change and development in their style. The first six are all in the standard slow-quick-slow-quick format customary in the trio sonatas of Handel and other contemporaries. Of the remaining six only # 8 is to this pattern, and the style is definitely altering as well. The final gavotte-like 'tempo moderato' of # 11 has a definite suggestion of Gluck to my ears, but in general what the idiom is starting to suggest is that of J C Bach, the so-called 'London Bach', the sense of this being strongest in the opening movement of # 12, the longest piece in the entire set. It is all very pleasant stuff, not 'great' music by any stretch of the term, but not routine or mechanical either.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good music. Shame about the package 23 Aug 2012
Format:MP3 Download|Verified Purchase
It's a good collection of well-performed resonant, robust (dare one say workmanlike?) concertos. Avison gives Handel a run for his money. Number 2 is my favourite so far.

For the MP3 download though, the track names are pretty much random. And with 40 tracks, that's quite a lot of renaming tedium to contend with. So I have to deduct a star for the product review as a whole. I can't say if this is due to Amazon or to the supplier (Naxos?) but somebody should be taking a little more care.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Geordie Baroque 7 Aug 2010
Format:Audio CD
These concertos are tuneful and pleasing to the ear.The Newcastle born composer deserves to be better known.This music will dispel any heaviness of spirit. Listen. Enjoy!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 5.0 out of 5 stars  6 reviews
22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DOWN WITH HANDEL! 1 Dec 2004
By DAVID BRYSON - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Audio CD
Charles Avison was twenty-four years younger than Handel and twenty-three years older than Haydn. He was a Geordie, born in Newcastle-upon-Tyne. He went to London at an early age to receive lessons from Geminiani, himself a pupil of Corelli, and got himself into a spot of controversy by his robust claim that Geminiani was a better composer than Handel. The latter still dominated the London musical scene to a surprising extent even after his death and up to the time of Avison's own -- pasticcio-Handel oratorios such as Gideon were still being churned out -- and whether or not for that reason the ambitious Avison did not try to exorcise Handel's musical ghost from the capital but returned to the north, dying there in prosperous circumstances in 1770 at the age of 61.

These twelve concertos were published in 1758, one year before Handel died. When they were written I don't know, but there is a definite sense of change and development in their style. The first six are all in the standard slow-quick-slow-quick format customary in the trio sonatas of Handel and other contemporaries. Of the remaining six only # 8 is to this pattern, and the style is definitely altering as well. The final gavotte-like `tempo moderato' of # 11 has a definite suggestion of Gluck to my ears, but in general what the idiom is starting to suggest is that of J C Bach, the so-called `London Bach', the sense of this being strongest in the opening movement of # 12, the longest piece in the entire set. It is all very pleasant stuff, not `great' music by any stretch of the term, but not routine or mechanical either. All twelve concertos are short, and the first six do not measure up anywhere near to the quirky masterpieces that Handel published with the same opus-number, whose influence can be heard in Beethoven's late string quartets and which were held up by such an orchestral virtuoso as Elgar as being a model of how to write for strings. The latter six are every bit as good musically as their predecessors, and have a strong historical interest as well.

The Avison Ensemble are clearly a thrusting organisation, with an open membership which can be applied for via the email address and website provided. There are 11 players, and I assume that the seven parts in the concerto descriptions are made up of the five normal string sections plus the `concertino' group of four soloists plus the harpsichord continuo. Their director is Pavlo Beznosiuk whose work is new to me but who has a very impressive-looking cv already for a man who looks as if he may not be 40 yet. They are specialists, by definition more or less, and the playing is of the very highest professionalism, exactly what one expects from the superb current generation of early-music performers. The recording is absolutely excellent, and the liner-notes by Mark Kroll and Gordon Dixon are a model of their kind, except that something seems to have gone slightly wrong with the tempo-directions for the seventh concerto - track 1 has a final adagio section, and the music on track 2 is no kind of allegro but an andante or larghetto.

This is music I am very pleased to have discovered, and a venture that deserves every success.
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fine Music from a Forgotten Composer 30 Mar 2007
By Ross Kennett - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Audio CD
As I am in general agreement with David Bryson I can be brief. Charles Avison was all but forgotten, his only work that was in the calalogue was his 12 Concerti Grossi following the lessons ( keyboard sonatas ) of Domenico Scarletti. We should be thankful to The Avison Ensemble and Naxos for his revival, as well as this opus 6 they have recorded opus 3 and opus 4. This CD is well played, spirited, crisp and clear, and the music is not trivial, as least as good as his mentor's, Geminiani, later works. Like Geminiani many of the outer movements are melodic and lyrical. Opus 6 was published in 1758, late in the baroque period, and I agree that it improves as the disc progresses, with the final 3 or 4 concertos sounding a bit like the string concertos of C P E Bach? Unlikely, they were written about 10 years later. David Bryson suggests J C Bach, but he did not arrive in London untill 4 years after. Perhaps we should say they sound like a maturing Charles Avison.
I am happy to give it 5 stars, and look forward to more Avison, especially late works.
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm a great fan of English music up to the 18th century 23 May 2010
By Laraine A. Barker - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Audio CD
and was delighted to discover this CD set. The concertos of Avison's Op. 6 might not be masterpieces but they certainly deserve to be played and recorded more than they are. The playing here is superb, lively and affectionate. Good on Naxos for giving us a chance to hear the music at a reasonable price. I must admit I can't find any of C P E Bach's quirkiness here, but there is perhaps a touch of the London Bach. Also Geminiani. And even Handel himself. I hope to be able to find more Avison on CD at affordable prices. Highly recommended.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love Baroque 28 Dec 2012
By Jack - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Audio CD|Verified Purchase
Simply a great work! Good music for the soul. It's bright and has the flavor of happiness and joy. Enjoy!
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful Baroque concertos in the "Italian-style" 20 Feb 2014
By GEORGE RANNIE - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Audio CD|Verified Purchase
Charles Avison is another Baroque composer whose compositions are not very well known (if at all). On this splendid Naxos two (2) disc recording, the wonderful sounding Avison Ensemble, greatly led by Pavlo Beznosiuk, play Avison's Opus 6 concerto-grossi most splendidly. Avison (born in England and a contemporary of Handle) composed his Opus six (6) concertos throughout his life (1709-1770). The works in this recording start off reminding me a lot of the typical "Italian concerto-grossi" being in two or three movements and sounding very full of vim and vigor. However, in later years, (mainly on the second disc) the works have a more mature sound sounding more like one of JS's kids or early Haydn. Whatever, the music on these discs is filled with Fuges and much ornamentation making this is a delightful recording of some very fine Baroque music.
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Look for similar items by category


Feedback