Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars39
3.5 out of 5 stars
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 September 2010
I bought this for my little 3yr old fireman sam fan. What a dissapointment! The vest is made out of awful shiny plastic that rips very easily, the belt does not stay done up, the walkie talkie is just cheap hollow plastic as is the axe and the torch button is flimsy and turns itself on when you put in in the belt holder. In short, I DO NOT recommend this toy to anyone. It is poundshop quality and Im shocked it is official fireman sam merchandise.
0Comment|33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 August 2011
This item is advertised on the back of a Fireman Sam comic, excellent product placement as my Grandson said that's what he wants for a present. Trouble is this product is not very good quality and won't last long. He loved the plastic radio, but not as much as others he has, and the plastic hachet, more than the other tiddly one he plated with previously, but the belt and the jacket were really rubbish quality and prone to stretch and tear. The torch didn't work at first and needed Granpa's magic of a really good fiddle to work at all. No this was a poor quality product and overpriced even at Amazon's reduced price. Character Options can do much better, and often do.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2010
My son who is Fireman Sam mad absolutely loves his Fireman Sam utility belt and jacket and wears it all the time. It's great for the fact that he can pretend that he is being Sam. He would without doubt give it a 5/5. From a parents' point of view however there are some negative points to it. The jacket is made from plastic and rips very easily at the seams when a young child tries to take it off without help (it can however be sewn back together countless times!). The buckle on the belt is very flimsy so the belt keeps coming off all the time so I have to spend the whole day fixing it back on! We have had to keep the batteries out of the torch because when you put it back into the utility belt it turns itself back on as it goes in the casing and then shines in the child's eyes as it is facing upwards so he is then looking directly into it when he gets it out again. My son finds the walkie talkie a bit boring because it doesn't make any sort of sound (it would be good if it played some phrases when you press the buttons). Even with all the negtive points it is still one of our 'most played with toys.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2011
we bought this so called utility belt set and hat with sound for part of my 3yr old sons xmas.he is a avid fireman sam fan.when we got the product it was all in 1 big box so we couldn't tell the quality of it until xmas morning.now my boy loves anything fireman sam but as soon as he opened it you could see the disapointment in his face!the high visibility vest tore 1st time on and the belt only fastens if you pull it so tight he can hardly breath and even then it opens by itself very soon afterwards!!and as for the torch walkie talkie and axe.they are all just pre moulded empty plastic rubbish.even the torch which was supposed to "work" was rubbish.iv'e seen better made dog toys to be truthful about it.so i thought at least he will like the hat and he probably would have if they had spent a little bit more money on developing the thing!it has a button on top that when you push it it plays the theme song.but the workings and batteries for it are right on top inside the hat with no foam or mouldings to keep it on all he got was a set of fiddly plastic tyers made from the same stuff as the jacket.so when we did get it on him and fastened the tyers he said it was to sore on his head so he tried to push it off and nearly strangled himself withit.honestly if your child asks for this item steer as well clear as possible.its total RUBBISH!!!well put it like this his big toy was the sit in fireman sam jupiter fire engine which he loved.but he spent xmas day running around th house in it wearing a real high vis vest and his old bob the builder hard hat he got the year before.UTTER RUBBISH Character Options Fireman Sam Utility Belt with Jacket and Accessories0/10
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2010
I bought this for my 3year old and within the hour it was wrecked. Not good quality and as another parent has written I am shocked that it is a official fireman sam product.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2011
Wee fella was delighted with the belt, however jacket burst at the shouder within 2 weeks. Now using selotape

Vey flimsy jacket

The belt itself does not secure vey well, however tools are sturdy enough.

Overall not a very good buy
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2010
I purchased this for my 4 year old grandson who is mad on Fireman Sam.
The belt is not at all fit for purpose, it closes with just a hole and a tiny piece of hard plastic so keeps coming undone and dropping off.
The torch light keeps coming on as the switch is flimsy.
The other pieces are ok and do the job but you will need to continually redo the belt and turn off the torch for your child.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2013
good product, my Grandson has everything assocciated with the charachter, he's besotted with him. the kit is ok for young kids, a little dissapointed though that the walkie talkie does'nt work or play back messages the only item that is workable is the torch. a bit over priced for the product I would say. But my Grandson is very happy with it & that's what counts I suppose.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2013
My little lad was sent this from his grandmother, who only saw it as a photo on Amazon.

Up close this product is incredibly poor, the sort of thing you'd expect to win as a consolation prize at a hook-a-duck at the fair. The jacket is made out of an awful shiny plastic that he doesn't like near him, the belt is made out of the same thing and next to useless, the items are made of the cheapest, cheapest plastics you could think of.

It's the sort of toy that you feel pangs of disappointment in your chest as the wrapping paper comes off.

I don't complain about stuff as a rule, but I'm straight on here reviewing in case any one is considering this as a Christmas present. People who make this sort of stuff should be ashamed of how they're willing to spoil the act of giving a present to a small child, in order to make a cynical quick profit.

McDonald's give better quality toys away with their food. DON'T BUY!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2015
My 3 year old grandson is Fireman Sam mad... this is a little on the cheap side but he loves the torch so much that he took it to bed.. the torch is as bright a normal one so it is quite useful... that out weighs any negatives
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)