Chance Witness: An Outsider's Life in Politics and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more


or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Start reading Chance Witness: An Outsider's Life in Politics on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Chance Witness: An Outsider's Life in Politics [Paperback]

Matthew Parris
5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
RRP: 9.99
Price: 7.49 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over 10. Details
You Save: 2.50 (25%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 9 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Want it Saturday, 19 April? Choose Express delivery at checkout. Details

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition 4.68  
Paperback 7.49  
Amazon.co.uk Trade-In Store
Did you know you can use your mobile to trade in your unwanted books for an Amazon.co.uk Gift Card to spend on the things you want? Visit the Books Trade-In Store for more details or check out the Trade-In Amazon Mobile App Guidelines on how to trade in using a smartphone. Learn more.

Book Description

25 July 2013

Chance Witness by Matthew Parris - a hilarious and fascinating portrait of life in politics, from Thatcher to Blair

Winner of the Channel 4 / Politico's Political Book of the Year Award

'Made me laugh out loud. A book full of wisdom' Simon Hoggart, Guardian

In this surprising and eccentric autobiography from a former Conservative MP, Matthew Parris writes of his personal and political life with equal candour. With a First from Cambridge and the possibility of working for the Foreign Office, he decided instead to apply to be an apprentice diesel-fitter with London Transport. He was rejected and so turned to a life in politics. He has worked with Margaret Thatcher, Chris Patten, Tony Blair and Michael Portillo, and his observations of political lifeand those who move within it are truly fascinating. This colourful memoir is an account of a young life already well lived.

For readers of Margaret Thatcher by Charles Moore, and fans of The End of the Party by Andrew Rawnsley, this is a fascinating glimpse into modern British politics.

'A five-star autobiography. Dazzling, hilarious and wonderful' Sunday Times

Matthew Parris was born in Johannesburg in 1949. He was a Conservative MP from 1979 to 1986, since when he has worked as a journalist. He is the author of A Castle in Spain, the acclaimed story of his medieval home in L'Avenc, as well as the bestselling books Parting Shots and A Spanish Ambassador's Suitcase, both based on the BBC Radio 4 series. He divides his time between Derbyshire (where his old constituency was situated) and east London.


Frequently Bought Together

Chance Witness: An Outsider's Life in Politics + Live From Downing Street + THE SPANISH AMBASSADOR'S SUITCASE: Stories from the Diplomatic Bag
Price For All Three: 20.77

Buy the selected items together


Product details

  • Paperback: 544 pages
  • Publisher: Penguin; Re-issue edition (25 July 2013)
  • ISBN-10: 0241968291
  • ISBN-13: 978-0241968291
  • Product Dimensions: 19.4 x 12.8 x 4 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 239,745 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

Review

Shockingly Candid (Observer)

Of interest to students and lovers of politics alike, and indeed to anyone who is interested in the history of the last quarter of a century. Parris is a skilful entertainer, who informs as well as amuses (Peter Bottomley Literary Review)

Whimsy, polemic, irony, humour . . . a scintillating read (Boris Johnson Sunday Telegraph)

The perfect autobiographer (Spectator)

Brilliant, deliciously entertaining. I laughed a lot (Observer)

About the Author

Matthew Parris was born in Johannesburg in 1949. For seven years a Conservative MP, he quit to present LWT's Weekend World, after which he became a regular parliamentary sketchwriter for The Times. His books include READ MY LIPS, SCORN WITH ADDED VITRIOL, and INCA-KOLA, about his travels in Peru. He has also made a number of television documentaries, including most recently an account of his sojourn on a remote sub-Antarctic island.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Table of Contents | Excerpt | Index | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
5.0 out of 5 stars
5.0 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
By alapper
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I always thought of Matthew Parris as a gay ex-politician turned to media pundit - something like Michael Portillo, but after reading this I am considerably more impressed even though this book tells very little of his very adventurous life. He is clearly something of an explorer. At the start he tells of time spent on Kerguelen Island and from hints dropped he has climbed a number of mountains and is exceptionally well-travelled. He was born is Rhodesia (Zimbabwe) and his early life was spent in Africa. He is obviously very fit, and is a strong long-distance runner. However this book focuses mainly on politics and his crusade to encourage a more general acceptance of homosexuality in the country - which started at a time when attitudes were very different from today. His overall honesty is sometimes very intense - such as the tale he tells of being tied up while a girl he was travelling with was raped. There are other times when the word spinning gets a bit tedious. However I was considerably more impressed with the book by the time I had finished it than as I started it.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it and read slowly 27 Feb 2014
Format:Paperback
A lot of good stuff here on all sorts of things relating to his life in Africa and UK; Politics and Journo.
This book is very well written as one would expect and I will now seek out other writings of his.
He is honest and seems to be giving us the whole truth on many things that happened to him.
I came across this thru a recommend in The Week by their author of the week.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews
ARRAY(0xab43bf30)

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback