Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars123
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.19+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 March 2014
This book had me gripped from the first chapter,I just couldn't put it down. It is hard to believe that josepina managed to stay sane .she showed such strength and courage. I would recommend this book it's a must read.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2014
This lady's story is truly fascinating. She fought the toughest battle and came out alive saving others! Then facing the press and public scrutiny, she is a hero. Highly recommended.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2014
Bought this book as there was nothing good on tv and read it in one sitting. The main character of the girl who helped the others escape was very brave indeed!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2014
This book was excellent. Unbelievable to think that it's a true story but unfortunately for this woman it's her life story.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2014
Could hardly believe what I was reading. Could give you nightmares its so horrific. Could not put the book down
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2014
This true story takes you to feel that you are part of the girls chained in the basement,very emotional .
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2014
When I pick up a book about a survivor I'm always a bit cautious, I don't want to read gratuitous sex and violence. This book is very well written by a clever and strong minded woman, Josephina. To have survived incarceration by a madman and kept her head together, to have stuck to her plan of escape takes incredible strength of mind. This is the story of her recovery from a situation unthinkable to most people, through drug addiction and failed marriage to being reunited with her two adopted children and the joy of knowing her grandchildren. Josephina is an incredible woman and it is an honour to read her story.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2015
this is a very interesting true story, unfortunately it gets lost among all the other true life stuff that is around, as it is truly a horrific tale. it is not particularily well written, but makes a short interesting read.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2014
I stumbled on this book whilst searching for Michelle Knight's. It is a horrendous tale of torture, rape and imprisonment. To the people saying Josefina was an accomplice, if it wasn't for her they'd either all be long dead by now or still in that cellar living out a miserable existence. Credit to Josefina for not just saving herself at the earliest opportunity like many would have. She held on until she could guarantee he couldn't get back to the house and kill them all. She is a selfless hero who did what she had to do, the other girls for various reasons were not capable of master minding their escape. Josefina, if you are reading this then I hope you are living in happiness now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2014
One of the best but also one of the most disturbing books I have read in a long time thank God Josephina had the courage to save herself and the other girls from this demented creature of a man.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)