Start reading Cautionary Tales on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available
 

Cautionary Tales [Kindle Edition]

Chris Addison
4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (8 customer reviews)

Print List Price: £8.99
Kindle Price: £5.99 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: £3.00 (33%)
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £5.99  
Hardcover --  
Paperback £8.99  
Audio, CD, Audiobook --  

Book Description

These are dark days. The world is seething with imbeciles and poltroons. Everywhere the careless and thoughtless are charging about the place in hulking 4x4s, or inviting Channel 4 to come around rather than clean their own homes. So comedian Chris Addison has written CAUTIONARY TALES FOR GROWN-UPS - poems to illustrate the dangers of modern behaviour.



The tales include:



* The Gloucestershire Horse Club, Who posed Naked for a Charity Calendar.


* Phillip, who talked only in Management Speak


* Myfanwy, Who answered an Email from a Nigerian Bank Manager


* and Fiona and Dave, who had a Wacky Wedding



Sparklingly wicked and cunningly illustrated, this is a hilarious Struwelpeter for the twenty-first century.




Product Description

Review

'Extremely funny' (Stephanie Merritt, Observer)

'What could be more pleasing than to see annoying types getting their richly-deserved comeuppance? . . . Neatly and cruelly done and ingeniously rhymed' (Oliver Pritchett, Sunday Telegraph)

'His scathing wit deserves comic-laureate status.' (The Sunday Times on Chris Addison)

'The country's most erudite young stand-up.' (Guardian on Chris Addison)

'There aren't enough stars for Addison's show: he is erudite but not inaccessible or superior; confident withouth being arrogant, and the show is so well written and sharp that you will bore your friends for days afterwards quoting memorable lines from it.' (Stephanie Merritt, Observer )

'A clever sod.' (Metro)

'A load of Bellocs - and in a good way ... recommended' (Dave Crozier, Hampstead and Highgate)

'Shockingly good ... spot-on' (The Leeds Guide)

Book Description

Introducing a brilliant new talent to Christmas humour books - Chris Addison's Cautionary Tales for Grown-ups will appeal to fans of Andy Riley and Ricky Gervais.


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 798 KB
  • Print Length: 116 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 0340920726
  • Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton (5 Oct. 2010)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B0043VD5ZY
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (8 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #460,209 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
By Mr. Stuart Bruce TOP 1000 REVIEWER VINE VOICE
Format:Paperback
A lovely little book of modern satirical poetry, in which Chris Addison takes aim at a variety of different people who annoy him- people who drive 4x4s in town, wine snobs, fly-tippers, people who smother their house in Christmas decorations, and many more- and brings about their fictional demise in poetic form.

The contrast between the child-like form of the poetry, much of which has a very genial, sing-song appeal to it, and the grown-up problems and unpleasant endings being described, is a joke that easily sustains the 100 pages without a problem. There are plenty of wry laughs.

Although it does have some untimely death in it and some adult-ish problems, a teenager or possibly even slightly younger could still enjoy this as well- it's not X-rated in any way, any more than a "Horrible Histories" is, and it could have a broad appeal.

It is quite a thin volume though. If you sat down to read it cover-to-cover, it wouldn't take long. I think it's better consumed in small doses, as a little coffee table book maybe.

I'd compare this to some of Spike Milligan's work, and personally I'd say that was very high praise.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great read 26 Oct. 2006
Format:Hardcover
Firstly, this is great. Poems about all those things in life you can't bear. Obnoxious wine snobs, people who have wacky weddings, management gobbledigook talkers all get gently and wittily brought down to size. In verse.

This book has a lovely feel, high quality paper and old-fashioned illustrations that make it feel like something vaguely Edwardian. But the subject of the poems is very firmly modern (a guy who only texts and loses the power of speech, a family addicted to their 4x4). The old-fashioned medium and the modern subject matter make for a great combination.

Enough intellectualising - if you are ever in need of one of these books to read for five or ten minutes perhaps while doing another job (can I be any clearer?) then this is the perfect one. The poems are just the right length.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Divine Comedy 27 Jun. 2009
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
This collection of Chris Addison's poems is a little gem. It bubbles over with black humour and witty observations about the more ridiculous elements of life in the 21st Century.
Of all the poems in the book, two stood out for me. The first is about a man called Ray who refused to vote and lost everything. In the current political climate it is an apt warning about the consequences of voter apathy.
My second favourite poem took a swipe at The Calendar Girls, and the glut of naked charity calendars they spawned. This was a highlight chiefly because Mr Addison managed to get the word `bronchopneumonia' into the poem, which makes him a hero.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3.0 out of 5 stars Hilaire Belloc for the twenty first century 24 Mar. 2010
By Mrs. K. A. Wheatley TOP 500 REVIEWER VINE VOICE
Format:Hardcover
This does exactly what it says on the tin. A slim volume of wittily told, amusing rhymes in the style of Hilaire Belloc's cautionary tales about children like Matilda who told lies and was burned to death. Here are stories about the excesses of the tanning booth, the dangers of only being able to communicate in text speak, with the lovely line 'thn thy kck pr Mtt 2 dth.' which made me howl with laughter, and the perils of extreme dieting. Very funny and very pertinent to today's society.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions