Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars29
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£5.85+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 January 2011
It was such a pleasure to read this book again. It was a staple of my childhood, and many of the hilarious (and wildly politically incorrect) verses are stuck forever in my memory, as are the quirky illustrations. Hilaire Belloc is ridiculously xenophobic, but - provided you can excuse him on the grounds that he wrote it in a very different age - wonderfully funny.

This is a book for a child aged around 8-10 (and for retarded adults like me) with a good sense of humour and history,and a strong feeling for words. I gave it to the son of a friend, and was delighted to see how much he enjoyed it.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2013
This version of the cautionary tales does not include any of the famous pictures. All the lines are run together so the verses look like prose without any paragraphs. In the orginal printed version all poems start on a new page. Here it is not obvious when a new poem starts. The whole book looks like an integral part of its introduction.

I was expecting joyful nostalgia but was just irritated by the bad production and the fact that I paid for too much for this text that is long since out of copyright.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2013
I thought this was a very good book and the stories were very different to anything else I have read. It was very grim but that is one of the main things I enjoyed about it. I thought the way it was written was good but it got slightly annoying, all of the rhyming! Thanks,
Beth xxx
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2012
My copy contained two sets of the text - and on checking, the spine printing would fit half the size.

I wonder if they all to!

As it's only 72 pages (7 stories) ir is not obviously fat!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2013
Not timeless but just as much fun as when I first read them, especially when read with meaning to children!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2013
I had this book as a child, and enjoyed it, but the Kindle version is deeply unsatisfactory. It is arraigned as if it was prose, and there are none of the amusing illustrations that bring it to life. I am very disappointed, and would be very careful in future of trusting such treasures to Kindle copyists.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2012
I love these. I remember hearing them as a child and read them to my children> I bought this so that I could read them to my grandchildren - as expected they were spellbound. But only given 4 stars as not all the tales were there in this edition! Print some more!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2013
I heard about this book elsewhere online and wanted to find different type of children's books for myself. I very much enjoyed the illustrations and the stories too. Excellent over all in delivery and condition received. Thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2006
Quite sick and funny, not as good as The Gashleycrumb Tinies but then what is! Worth adding to your collection tho.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2012
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I highly recommend this book and the stories inside are fabulous.
To whom would I recommend this book to? I would recommend this book to parents to share with their child(ren).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.