Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Learn more

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars93
3.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.01+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 February 2014
Patience Philips, is a graphic designer for Hedare Beauty, a mammoth cosmetics company on the verge of releasing a revolutionary anti-ageing product.

When Patience inadvertently happens upon a dark secret her employer is hiding, she finds herself in the middle of a corporate conspiracy. What happens next changes Patience forever.

In a mystical twist of fate, she is transformed into a woman with the strength, speed, agility and ultra-keen senses of a cat.

With her newfound prowess and feline intuition, Patience becomes Catwoman, a sleek and stealthy creature balancing on the thin line between good and bad. Like any wildcat, she's dangerous, elusive and untamed.

Her adventures are complicated by a burgeoning relationship with Tom Lone, a cop who has fallen for Patience but cannot shake his fascination with the mysterious Catwoman, who appears to be responsible for a string of crime sprees plaguing the city.....

Yes, catwoman is possibly one of the worst comic book movies, but it's certainly not boring, like Man Thing.

Berry has slated this film on many occasion, but to be fair, Monsters Ball aside, has she really been in many great films?

She is fine as the titular character, all cat like to the extreme, one minute CGI, the next, a male Ballet dancer, but when it's Berry in the full get up, one cannot deny that the film is at its most watchable.

But the film belongs to Stone and the Merovingian. As the main bad guys, they are absurd, one with a face like marble, one with a sneer that would make Rickman proud, but both delivering on the ham side.

All in all it's a bad movie, the script Is bad, it makes no sense what so ever, and the CGI is bad, and at sometimes pointless, but it's a fun movie, with some really silly, set pieces, that make the film worthy of its camp trophy.

If you want a film to laugh at, this is the one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2013
This film obviously was never going to appeal to Catwoman/Batman fans; the main character isn't the Selina Kyle version of Catwoman that had been previously seen, lives in New York rather than Gotham City and works in the fashion industry. Halle Berry got a lot of flack for her acting; I actually thought she was better in this than she was in the X-Men films. The supporting cast are also good, with Family Guy's Alex Borstein as Patience's friend and Six Foot Under's Frances Conroy as the cat expert.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2015
I love this film it's in my top 3 favs of all time but i don't understand how it has so many bad reviews, unless there DC fanboys that don't like this version or something. Patience is my favorite catwoman.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2015
good to watch I guess tells you how a strange cat possess halle berry

Plays like a batman movie by a girl instead
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2006
I only didn't buy this film originally because of the bad reviews etc.. but what a fool I was. This certainly isn't the best super hero film out there, but it's up there with my favourites. Halle Berry is fantastic as the dual-natured catwoman and the story is as deep as you'd want in a super hero flick. People have slated the CGI, but I couldn't see any problems, the transition from Halle to CGI is as smooth, in my opinion, as Neo's was in the last 2 matrix films.

If you like super hero films, you'll lap this up! Buy it now!!
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2015
Take it for what it is, have no expectations and I can guarantee you will enjoy this movie.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2014
Rebought as a friend nicked mine- it is so good. The best interpretation of Catwoman Yet.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2013
Catwoman with Halle Berry has not received a good reviews from movie critics,but if you look beyond that you will find a really very entertaining movie and a great story with lots of action. Halle Berry as Patience looked great in her cat suit. Her cat fight with Sharon Stone was great too. It is a worthy up grade to blu ray. Be your own critic and enjoy.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2005
Halle Berry was given the Golden Razzi Award for worst actress of the year for this film. I think she's being unjustifiably picked on, as neither her or the film is really that bad. Maybe the critics got stuck into her because they felt that such an esteemed, talented actress, who has reached A-list Oscar stardom shouldn't be demeaning herself by playing a kiddy-friendly superhero. After all, you certainly wouldn't see the multi-talented Nicole Kidman doing this kind of role. But this doesn't belay the fact, that Halle is great as Catwoman - her kick-butt style, and her vampish sexiness lends it self ideally to the role as she slinks, struts, meows and purrs her way through the film.
Tracing the modern day Catwoman persona back to Ancient Egypt, the film starts out with an almost mythical subtext, as a mysterious, and very old cat called Midnight arrives in a city that which looks strangely like Toronto. At the same time we meet Patience Phillips (Berry), a ruffled, introverted, and shy graphic designer, who designs advertisements for a big cosmetics company run by the reptilian George Hedare (Lambert Wilson), and his frosty, but beautiful wife, Laurel (Sharon Stone). During the course of her day Patience tries to rescue Midnight from a ledge above her apartment and is saved from falling from a high window by Tom Lone (Benjamin Bratt), a kindhearted and studly cop.
One night, while dropping off a portfolio of material at the company's headquarters, Patience overhears some deadly corporate secrets involving some face cream that is deadly poisonous. The security officers' corner and murder her, but she is bought back to life by Midnight who performs mouth-to-mouth resuscitation on her waterlogged body and thus endows her with super-human feline powers. Soon Patience starts to manifest cat-like characteristics: she begins to sleep on high shelves, leaps up on to railings, hisses at dogs as she walks down the street, and even eats cat food straight out of the can!
The film gets steadily campier and more over-the-top, as Patience - now part "Catwoman" begins to enjoy her newfound strength, power, and freedom. She goes to an eccentric zany cat lady (Frances Conroy) who explains to Patience that she has become a cat woman and that cat women were servants of the Egyptian goddess Bast. They date back to ancient times and reappear throughout history. Together with this knowledge, Patience equips herself with whips, diamond-studded claws, and sexy leather lingerie, and vows to take revenge on those who have "murdered" her.

Director Pitof has a real flare for the visual and he infuses the movie with lots of moody, over drenched colors, which are generally quite effective in adding a kind of overstated glamour to the proceedings. And the twisty camera moves and stroboscopic editing, does have a certain dissolute flair, which lends itself quite well to the cartoonish, almost music video atmosphere. Everything looks fake, sleek and model-like, and not at all realistic.
Thematically, there isn't much going on here. Although there are some limited attempts to instill some issues surrounding the value of feminine independence, and the emptiness of manufactured and artificial beauty. The script is frequently terrible, consisting mostly of lots of silly one-liners, like "cat got your tongue." The acting is passable, with Halle much more comfortable as the charming, self-assured Catwoman than she is as the crumbling, diffident Patience. But it is Sharon Stone who almost steals the show, playing it all for camp exactitude, and showing us that there is a still lot of acting life left in the old girl yet. Mike Leonard March 05.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2005
While I expected a very bad movie based on the reviews I read, I still wanted to own the DVD. Boy am I glad I did buy it.
The main thing to keep in mind is that this movie isn't based on the catwoman we know from the Batman movie, but it's a new thing in many ways.
I just finished watching Catwoman for the first time, and I know I'll enjoy it just as much, if not more, the following times I'll watch it.
The story, like every other super hero movie isn't the best, especially because the first 45 minutes or-so were used to introduce Catwoman. Still, the plot has a good basis, and with the whole introductory thing being done, I can see a good future for sequals, if any are still going to be made after the bad reviews.
The acting is pretty dang good. Part of the reason Halle Berry got bad reviews for this movie is probably because of the CG Catwoman being obviously not her, and her lines being a little ... lame I guess.
The extras on the DVD are fun and interesting to watch, especially the history of Catwoman feature "the many faces of catwoman".
In short: get this movie, it's very much worth it.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)