Start reading Castro's Bomb on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Castro's Bomb
 
 

Castro's Bomb [Kindle Edition]

Robert Conroy
3.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)

Kindle Price: £4.12 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Whispersync for Voice

Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of £3.49 after you buy the Kindle book.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £4.12  
Audio Download, Unabridged £16.60 or Free with Audible.co.uk 30-day free trial
Earn a Free Kindle Book
Earn a Free Kindle Book
Buy a Kindle book between now and 31 March and receive a promotional code good for one free Kindle book. Terms and conditions apply. Learn more


Product Description

Product Description

Set in 1963 after the Cuban Missile Crisis, Castro and his army use weapons left behind by the Russians to seize the U.S. base at Guantanamo Bay and then plan missile strikes against the U.S. From the corridors of power -- with John F. Kennedy trying desperately to retain his leadership and keep the war from escalating -- to soldiers and civilians both American and Cuban, this high-voltage novel follows the bloody fighting and struggles on the ground while never losing sight of how war can transform people and set in motion some highly unexpected consequences. Winner of the Sidewise Award for Best Alternate History Novel, bestselling author William R. Forstchen wrote, "Conroy's work is the type of book you simply can't put down."

“Robert Conroy is truly one of the top players in the field when it comes to imaginative well written tales. Be ready for some sleepless nights when you argue with yourself "I'll just read one more chapter," because Conroy's work is the type of book you simply can't put down.”
- William R. Forstchen, author of NYTimes bestseller ONE SECOND AFTER

on RED INFERNO:
“An ensemble cast of fictional characters … and historical figures powers the meticulously researched story line with diverse accounts of the horrors of war, making this an appealing read for fans of history and alternate history alike.”
- Publishers Weekly

*Starred Review* "Conroy’s latest novel is substantially his best. It supposes that in 1945, President Truman decided to send American troops across the Elbe to claim the American share of Berlin. That catches Stalin in a paranoiac mood, and the Red Army attacks the force headed to Berlin…Add the prospective disintegration of the Western Alliance over the prolongation of the war … and J. Edgar Hoover displaying a paranoia that rivals Stalin’s, and every aspect of the scenario becomes engrossing and grimly plausible. Even the book’s two well-realized romances add interest to the proceedings, and the suspense holds up literally to the last page. If Conroy’s enthusiasm for alternate history leads to a sequel to this one, it will continue a story comparable to the best by the subgenre’s masters."
- Booklist

on 1945:
“Conroy explores the carnage of war through numerous viewpoints (a naive American soldier, an escaped POW, a Japanese-American operative, the deposed emperor, etc.) with moving and thought-provoking results.”
- Publishers Weekly

on 1942:
“A high-explosive what-if, with full-blooded characters.”
- John Birmingham, author of WITHOUT WARNING

“Fans of Tom Clancy and Agent Jack Bauer should find a lot to like here.”
- Publishers Weekly

“A significant writer of alternate history turns here to the popular topic of Pearl Harbor, producing what is arguably his best book.”
- Booklist

on 1901:
“The yarn is likely to please both military history and alternative history buffs.”
- Booklist

“This cleverly conceived alternative history proposes that Kaiser Wilhelm II launches an invasion of the U.S in 1901 after President McKinley summarily rejects a demand that he surrender Cuba and the Philippines to the Germans … Conroy tells a solid what-if historical.”
- Publishers Weekly

After taking early retirement from automotive management, Conroy decided to combine his loves of history and writing. After discovering that Kaiser Wilhelm had plans to invade the U.S., he wrote his first alternate history, “1901,” in which the invasion took place. "1901" was a Book of the Month Club Alternate. Altogether, five of his novels have been published and three were nominated for the Sidewise Award, with “1942” winning the award for 2009. He has also written for Military History Magazine. He finds alternate history fascinating and the possibilities never-ending. He will not run out of plots. Conroy has an MBA and, when not writing, is adjunct faculty at Macomb Community College where he teaches business.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 617 KB
  • Print Length: 367 pages
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B005ORV3IM
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 3.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #141,259 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

5 star
0
4 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
3.0 out of 5 stars
3.0 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars He has written better 6 Sep 2012
Format:Kindle Edition
This does not have the grand scale of some of his other books and consequently not the same pace. Its still a good read though.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 4.0 out of 5 stars  33 reviews
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great read 11 Aug 2012
By Blaine Pardoe - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I'm a historian of the Cuban Missile Crisis so this book caught my attention. I've enjoyed other Conroy books and this one did not disappoint.

There are some technical inaccuracies in the book - but only true die-hard students of this period (or military historians) are likely to spot them. In fairness, they did not detract from the story and characters.

The characters are highly entertaining, especially the CIA operative the uncovers Castro's plot to attack Guantanamo Bay. For an alternate history book, Conroy has done a very good job. I found myself wondering, 'how are we going to get out of this?' That tells me he did his job as a writer.

This is not his best work, but certainly is worth the money and a good romp into the cold war.
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Conroy 19 Jan 2012
By D. Fernandez - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition
There are a few technical flaws in this book, though they'll be unnoticeable by most readers. Conroy knows his history and definitely knows how to write a good adventure tale. The reader will not be disappointed.

My only complaint lies in the ever-present, boy-meets-girl subplot which seems to be identical, every time. Also, Conroy tends to favor the heroes over the villains. Some smarter bad guys and some more complicated romance might be in order.
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Poor editing the only drawback 6 Feb 2012
By jjw901 - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I've read all of Conroy's novels and enjoyed them thoroughly. However, and perhaps this is in the nature of an e-book, the editing in Castro's Bomb leaves much to be desired. My guess is that the text was run through a spell checker with no attention paid to context. Regardless, I look forward to more works to come.
4.0 out of 5 stars I really enjoy this genre 5 July 2014
By Mark D. Miller - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I really enjoy this genre. AS a kid in the early 60's I clearly recall the "duck and cover" drills that were supposed to protect us from a nuclear attack. I also recall being aware of the tension during the "real" Cuban Missile Crisis. Mr. Conroy does a terrific job of mixing actual history with his story line. Things might well have gone something like the way he's constructed it but for different decisions by the key players at the time. I also like the twists he introduces into his novel. I recommend this book.
4.0 out of 5 stars Great twist 6 April 2014
By Paul W. Squires, Jr - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Could have happened. Great twist on the history of the missile crisis. It what you come to expect from Conroy.
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category