Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 July 2008
I agree,

Watch has brilliant specification and does everything it is supposed to, but it is let down by cheap chrome plated plastic parts on casing which look tatty after a short time due to normal wear.
I am in touch with Casio to see if it can be refurbished, but even if it can, how long until it wears again. Why do they spoil such a good watch with this cheap and chearful casing?
If they only made all the exposed bits from stainless steel it would be a fantastic watch.
(Any response Casio?).
33 comments|32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2008
Wave ceptor technology is truly amazing and this watch is solar powered too, which means not only do you never need to reset the watch, you don't need to change the battery either - ever. Unfortunately I agree with the other reviewers 100%. Why are the adjoining panels between the watch and the strap made of plastic? It would only have cost a few pence more to make them of stainless steel and it would have made the watch a lot more desirable. It almost spoils a great product. Great technology, cheapened by cost-cutting manufacturing.
11 comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2011
As many reviewers have found, this is potentially the perfect watch for a bloke but for the cheap quality of the link between watch and bracelet. The watch bezel itself is fine - stainless steel that wears well - and the same goes for the bracelet. The linking piece is metal plated plastic, and the plate began to chip away after about 6 months. Now it has all gone, revealing an ugly grey plastic "link" between the watch and the bracelet. The face is plastic, too, and has picked up a few scratches. I could live with this but the other problem is much more of a negative.

Apart from this, this watch is perfect. Solar charging is reliable and maintenance-free; radio control worked for me in the Balearics and S. Spain down to Tarifa; the watch is always accurate; auto daylight-saving is bombproof; the 3 alarms are excellent (not very loud or long but I prefer unobtrusive alarms); backlight, luminous hands, stopwatch, 100m water resistance so I can even swim with it on... Like I say, almost the perfect watch!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2006
1 Year old and still keeping excellent time but the bracelet has areas of wear which are showing the cheap plastic through

2 years old and this watch is now looking very secondhand.Silver coating on bezel has chipped away and bracelet is well worn.Face is covered in tiny scratches.
Used for work every day and has kept excellent time.I lost the manual so got all the details I needed to alter settings off the internet. destined for the bin noiw to be replaced by something cheap for everyday use
0Comment|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2010
I agree with the other reviewers- a fundamentally good watch let down by poor detailling.

Again, the metallic finish has worn very quickly leaving large areas dark grey where the case and strap meet. The watch no longer looks smart enough to wear at work.

I thought the facility to automatically set itself to local time together with the alarm and waterproofing would make it ideal for holidays- last two years I have been to Greece and Spain and both times it stuck obstinately to British Summer Time. At least I could get the digital display to show local time using the world time feature.

The watch has now been relegated to third choice behind watches bought in 1973 and 1982, both of which have kept their finish better than this Casio
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2011
Excellent watch in every respect except... tatty plastic link between bracelet and case. Is this misleading advertising? The bracelet is not Stainless Steel, it is stainless steel and coated plastic. Come on Casio you can do better!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2014
Watch functions perfectly, incredibly accurate, no fuss timekeeping. Bracelet does look worn after 6-12months where the silver coating has rubbed off the part where the bracelet joins the watch housing. The surface underneath is grey and so not a terrible colour clash but not expected after such a short time! However the bracelet is mostly stainless steel and can be finely adjusted (half linkage on the clasp) to get a good fit. My watch has been subjected to a few knocks and drops and still works perfectly after 7 years

There is a similar version of this watch which has a full stainless steel bracelet (it is identical in all other respects) and although more expensive it may be worth the extra dependent on what you are looking for.

The fact that these watches go for years without requiring a battery replacement, have perfect accuracy & great functionality led me onto buy another Casio Wave Ceptor which I will review later.

Oh yes nearly forgot, it worked well in Europe too, but read up on how to adjust for other countries before you go.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2010
Only had it about a month now, but being solar powered and radio controlled I have nothing to worry about at the end of the month or when GMT comes in. It's all done automatically. Great looking watch too. I'm very pleased with mine.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2014
Arrived well packed and on time. Looks just like the pictures and all functions seem to work as described. A family member removed 4 links from the bracelet - I could not do this myself. It may be that you have to visit a watchmaker. I've only had it for a week - the only worry is that you are told to not cover the watch with your sleeve lest it doesn't receive enough charge to keep the battery charged up . I will see in due course.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2013
TtHE WATCH WAS MUCH BIGGER THAN THE PHOTOGRAPH INDICATED; i HAVE HAD TO RETURN IT BECAUSE OF ITS' SIZE; i AM SMALL AND THE WATCH FACE WAS FAR TO BIG TO SUIT MY WRIST SIZE..OTHERWISE THE SERVICE AND DELIVERY WAS WITHOUT FAULT AND THE RETURN PROCEDURE EXTREMELY EFFICIENT AND EASY TO DO i AM 90 IN A COUPLE OF MONTHS AND i FOUND THE PROCESS WELL DESIGNED AND EXPLAINED SO THAT i HAD NO TROUBLE IN RETURNING THE ITEM. THANK YOU
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)