Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars63
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£47.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 December 2003
This collection of Cary Grant films includes "Bringing up a baby",
"My Favourite Wife" , "Indiscreet" and "Opperation Petticoat".
The quality of DVD image is quite nice including the older films.
The artistic decoration of the set is superb - it is relatively slim box (twice as wide as regular DVD box).
After you pull it from the case it unwraps in four pages in diffrerent directions (like a flower), each of them contains DVD on it.
And each page has gorgeus photos of Cary Grant and one of his costars - Katharine Hepburn, Irene Dunne, Ingrid Bergman.
The set also includes 4 art cards - on the front side there is a
reprint of an original poster of the film and on another the list of the Chapters of the DVD.
The special features include "Production notes" and "Cast and crew".
This beatiful box set is a dream of every Cary Grant fan and every classic films lover.
0Comment|211 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2009
So, what exactly do I mean with "A good buy for those who want an introduction to Cary Grant"?

Well, there IS a lot of movies for a very low price here so newcomers can get far into the material for relatively little money, but it's also a very good buy if you already have a number of Cary Grant movies in your collection, since many of the movies here are not available elsewhere.
So it's a perfect opportunity to fill out the gaps in your collection.

However, it should be noted that many of the movies in this boxset are "the old ones" and they're not all equally good movies. This is just my opinion of course, but there IS a reason that many of the classics are classics and a lot of other titles are not. I'm sure you know what I mean.

That being said, there ARE several "established" classics here, so it's not just the "bottom of the barrel" you're buying if you buy this collection. So in this boxset you get fantastic movies like 'Bringing up Baby', 'Charade', 'Gunga Din', 'Operation Pettycoat' & 'Suspicion' (which I, btw, feel is overrated).

For me the attraction was the movies I didn't already have, and before buying this my collection counted 39 DVDs with Cary Grant. I already had 12 of the movies presented here, so I actually bought this boxset for the remaining 9 movies I didn't already have...and most of those were some of the "lesser" titles, but what's a fan to do, right? ;-) Still, even though I already had more than half the movies here I don't feel I've wasted my money.

So, there's something here for everyone.
...plus, the packaging is beautiful!

However, please note that the description on Amazon states this box contains 21 discs. It doesn't. It contains 21 movies on 18 discs.
33 comments|136 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2011
This item is by no little distance the worst video transfer i've seen. Car-boot pirates would sneer at it. Watching "His Girl Friday" you will not be sure which blur is Cary Grant and which is Rosalind Russell. There is no price low enough to justify this travesty of two classic films (and a filler). Buy this and you will feel soiled. Ambivilent enough?
0Comment|57 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2013
I just watched His Girl Friday and the aspect ratio / screen is shaved at the sides so the C and A of Columbia are missing off the side of the screen - a very poor quality video transfer of a wonderful, wonderful film - get the movie from a different supplier on a different disk.
33 comments|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2013
A perfect resume of Cary Grant career, brilliant films, brilliant acting, the golden age of cinema. They don't make them like that any more.... A must !
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
On 18 DVDs there are 21 movies. Of course not all of them are of equal quality, his later movies are admittedly much better than the earlier ones. My personal favorite ones among the films present in the collection: Operation Petticoat (super funny), Charade, That touch of Mink, The grass is greener, Father Goose, An affair to remember. Sadly To catch the thief is not in it.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2011
A lot of movies for the money,but sadly the usual Universal no expense incurred presentation. No digital restoration here and the two 'Scope movies are a disgrace. "The Grass is Greener" looks like it was mastered from VHS in non anamorphic letterbox, while "That Touch of Mink" is a ghastly pan and scan job in spite of the sleeve claiming it's 2.35:1.
33 comments|32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2014
It is surprising that these films have not been enhanced......they quality appears to be how they would have been shown originally.....one of the movies has been ' colorised ' which although clever, seems to have introduced a blurring of the video.....watched it in the original black and white.....much much better...

The worst one; so far, was the grass is greater.....not sure if this is an NTSC conversion or what, but the aspect ratio is not good, it is very very narrow and not all that clear....so zooming just makes it worse. This is the only one i have found like this.
It is curious that some much older films e.g. Clark gable etc are much sharper....not sure what determines how clear or blurry a movie ends up when transferred to dvd....they are still very watchable, just finished operation petticoat...very funny....
Don't be put off by the quality issues, if you live Cary grant, then at this price its great value.

Not sure if there are better conversions around of these movies....I doubt it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2009
This is a beautifully packaged product featuring many of Cary Grant's greatest films and much of his early work. Presentation is superb making this truly a collector's item. The films themselves are of good quality though extras would have been nice. Recommended and at the price I paid at the time - good value.
0Comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2014
This film set should not be sold by a reputable seller in its present form.

The films, in my opinion, are unwatchable as the images are fuzzy and the sound quality is very poor - in fact they look worse than low quality rip-offs from pirated works!

Shame on Amazon for selling something of this quality - a total waste of money.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)