Carrie's War (A Puffin Book) and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more


or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Start reading Carrie's War (A Puffin Book) on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Carrie's War (Puffin Modern Classics) [Paperback]

Nina Bawden , Eccleshare Julia
4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (80 customer reviews)
RRP: £6.99
Price: £5.99 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £10. Details
You Save: £1.00 (14%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we dispatch the item.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Book Description

6 Jan 2011 Puffin Modern Classics

Carrie's War by Nina Bawden is an unforgettable Second World War story.

'I did a dreadful thing...or I feel that I did, and nothing can change it...'

It is the Second World War and Carrie and Nick are evacuated from London to a small town in Wales, where they are placed with strict Mr Evans and his timid mouse of a sister.

Their friend Albert is luckier, living in Druid's Bottom with Hepzibah Green who tells wonderful stories, and the strange Mister Johnny, who speaks a language all of his own. Carrie and Nick are happy to visit Albert there, until one day when Carrie does a terrible thing - the worst thing she ever did in her life...

Based on her own childhood, Nina Bawden's enchanting story Carrie's War has delighted readers for almost 40 years.

'Nina Bawden is without question one of the very best writers for children' Daily Telegraph

***Perfect for fans of Goodnight Mister Tom by Michelle Magorian.***

***Now part of the Puffin Modern Classics series***

Nina Bawden is one of today's best writers for both adults and children. she has often used her own childhood experiences in her books - Carrie's War is set in the mining valley in Wales where she lived as an evacuee in wartime. She studied philosophy, politics and economics at Somerville College, Oxford and finished her first novel the year after she took her degree. She won the Guardian Award for Children's Fiction for The Peppermint Pig.


Frequently Bought Together

Carrie's War (Puffin Modern Classics) + Goodnight Mister Tom (A Puffin Book)
Price For Both: £11.23

One of these items is dispatched sooner than the other.

Buy the selected items together


Product details

  • Paperback: 208 pages
  • Publisher: Puffin; Re-issue edition (6 Jan 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0141333308
  • ISBN-13: 978-0141333304
  • Product Dimensions: 12.9 x 1.3 x 19.8 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (80 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 219,536 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Authors

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

Review

I doubt that anything will beat this traditional page-to-stage adaptation for ceaselessly involving telling of a cracking story." Fiona Mountford, Evening Standard --This text refers to an alternate Paperback edition.

About the Author

Nina Bawden is one of today's best writers for both adults and children. she has often used her own childhood experiences in her books - Carrie's War is set in the mining valley in Wales where she lived as an evacuee in wartime. She studied philosophy, politics and economics at Somerville College, Oxford and finished her first novel the year after she took her degree. She won the Guardian Award for Children's Fiction for The Peppermint Pig.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse and search another edition of this book.
First Sentence
Carrie had often dreamed about coming back. Read the first page
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful 6 Dec 2013
Format:Kindle Edition
I first listened to this book when I was 10, dyslexic and pretending to actually read along. I am 26 now and still love this book. This book is a joy to read.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
42 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A children's classic 22 Feb 2002
By A Customer
Format:Paperback
I first read Carrie's War after it was published in the early '70's when I was about 10. I loved it and remember watching the TV dramatisation of it also which really mirrored the book. I am just discovering the book again after nearly 30 years and have bought it in England for my son as I have not been able to find it in America.
Nina Bawden really depicts what life was like for some WWII evacuees. The characters are unforgettable and the story is original and heartwarming. A must-read for every child.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I am only disappointed that I never saw the TV version of "Carrie's War" so I could compare it with the book. I wanted to read something by Nina Bawden, as she died last year and was in the terrible Potters Bar train crash that killed her husband and seriously hurt her. I had read some books by her as a child. I loved the story and how it unfolds and my granddaughters had both read it, I discovered, and loved it too, so it appeals to all ages.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as I remember it 11 Mar 2014
Format:Paperback
I loved this book as a child and I decided to read it again so ordered it from Amazon. It arrived quickly with no problems at all. It is as good as I remember it as a child. Brilliant book!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Carries war 22 May 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Carries war was a lovely book. My favourite character was definitely Mr Evans because he was always so grumpy and I loved the the way the book was written.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
23 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful war-time drama... 3 Oct 2004
By A Customer
Format:Paperback
When first picking up this book, one often wonders whether it'll be alike some other books set in the time of war- bouncing bombs and explosions, ration books and evacuees- but it definately stands out in the crowd.
In it, we follow the intrepid Carrie and her brother Nick, evacuated to Wales until the war subsides as they are from London. As we turn these exciting pages, we meet many a wonderful character. The exciting Hepzibah Green and Mr Jonny, Albert, Mr Evans and Auntie Lou all make this piece of script a beautiful read of twists and turns that never end. It's well worth a look- better than most.
Age 12
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for children learning about the War 30 Oct 2014
By Sarah
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
My 10 yr old is currently reading this. Just started and can't put it down. Following on from learning about The Blitz at school, she had a list of books she wanted to read and this was one of them. Is fascinating her that children really were evacuated and has led to in depth conversations with her grandad who was!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant 28 Aug 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I think this book is absolutely brilliant. I had a list of books I had to read for my 11+ and this one was bye far my favourite. it was very entertaining and fun to read. it's very educational and has new words in it for 10 year olds doing the 11+, but at the same time very interesting and leaves you curious.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback