Carrie's War (Puffin Modern Classics) and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more

Buy Used
Used - Good See details
Price: 1.48

or
 
   
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Start reading Carrie's War (Puffin Modern Classics) on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Carrie's War (Puffin Books) [Illustrated] [Paperback]

Nina Bawden
4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (61 customer reviews)

Available from these sellers.


Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition 4.49  
Library Binding --  
Paperback 5.03  
Paperback, Illustrated, 31 Jan 1974 --  
Audio, Cassette, Audiobook, Abridged --  
Audio Download, Unabridged 10.75 or Free with Audible.co.uk 30-day free trial
Amazon.co.uk Trade-In Store
Did you know you can use your mobile to trade in your unwanted books for an Amazon.co.uk Gift Card to spend on the things you want? Visit the Books Trade-In Store for more details or check out the Trade-In Amazon Mobile App Guidelines on how to trade in using a smartphone. Learn more.

Book Description

31 Jan 1974 Puffin Books

Carrie's War by Nina Bawden is an unforgettable Second World War story.

'I did a dreadful thing...or I feel that I did, and nothing can change it...'

It is the Second World War and Carrie and Nick are evacuated from London to a small town in Wales, where they are placed with strict Mr Evans and his timid mouse of a sister.

Their friend Albert is luckier, living in Druid's Bottom with Hepzibah Green who tells wonderful stories, and the strange Mister Johnny, who speaks a language all of his own. Carrie and Nick are happy to visit Albert there, until one day when Carrie does a terrible thing - the worst thing she ever did in her life...

Based on her own childhood, Nina Bawden's enchanting story Carrie's War has delighted readers for almost 40 years.

'Nina Bawden is without question one of the very best writers for children' Daily Telegraph

***Perfect for fans of Goodnight Mister Tom by Michelle Magorian.***

Nina Bawden is one of today's best writers for both adults and children. she has often used her own childhood experiences in her books - Carrie's War is set in the mining valley in Wales where she lived as an evacuee in wartime. She studied philosophy, politics and economics at Somerville College, Oxford and finished her first novel the year after she took her degree. She won the Guardian Award for Children's Fiction for The Peppermint Pig.


Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Amazon Family members enjoy 20% off every delivery of nappies. Join today to get your discount, as well as a free trial of Amazon Prime and access to exclusive offers and discounts.



Product details

  • Paperback: 208 pages
  • Publisher: Puffin; New Ed edition (31 Jan 1974)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0140306897
  • ISBN-13: 978-0140306897
  • Product Dimensions: 1.3 x 10.9 x 17.8 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (61 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 27,444 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Authors

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

Review

I doubt that anything will beat this traditional page-to-stage adaptation for ceaselessly involving telling of a cracking story." Fiona Mountford, Evening Standard --This text refers to an alternate Paperback edition.

About the Author

Nina Bawden is one of today's best writers for both adults and children. she has often used her own childhood experiences in her books - Carrie's War is set in the mining valley in Wales where she lived as an evacuee in wartime. She studied philosophy, politics and economics at Somerville College, Oxford and finished her first novel the year after she took her degree. She won the Guardian Award for Children's Fiction for The Peppermint Pig.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
First Sentence
CARRIE had often dreamed about coming back. Read the first page
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful story 29 Jan 2012
Format:Paperback
My daughter who is nine years old but with a much higher reading age loved this book. As a parent you can be assured that your child is reading a book that is challenging enough for them without exposing them to unsuitable subject matters.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
36 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A children's classic 22 Feb 2002
By A Customer
Format:Paperback
I first read Carrie's War after it was published in the early '70's when I was about 10. I loved it and remember watching the TV dramatisation of it also which really mirrored the book. I am just discovering the book again after nearly 30 years and have bought it in England for my son as I have not been able to find it in America.
Nina Bawden really depicts what life was like for some WWII evacuees. The characters are unforgettable and the story is original and heartwarming. A must-read for every child.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Carrie's War book 21 Nov 2012
By kpr
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Bought this for my 9 year old daughter as it was recommended by a tutor. It took a little while to get into but she loved the story. It was enjoyable but though provoking.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Carrie's War 9 April 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I liked this book because it`s in two different worlds, one When Carrie was a teenager and one When her children went to her old friends house.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
22 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful war-time drama... 3 Oct 2004
By A Customer
Format:Paperback
When first picking up this book, one often wonders whether it'll be alike some other books set in the time of war- bouncing bombs and explosions, ration books and evacuees- but it definately stands out in the crowd.
In it, we follow the intrepid Carrie and her brother Nick, evacuated to Wales until the war subsides as they are from London. As we turn these exciting pages, we meet many a wonderful character. The exciting Hepzibah Green and Mr Jonny, Albert, Mr Evans and Auntie Lou all make this piece of script a beautiful read of twists and turns that never end. It's well worth a look- better than most.
Age 12
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars Carries War by Nina Bawden 28 Mar 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Saw it was on stage and decided I would like to read it. I am rather old to be reading this book but enjoyed is a period I enjoy reading about.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book 13 Mar 2014
By claired
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Bought for course work to compare evacuation stories. Good book but takes a while for the story to build. Worth a read
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as I remember it 11 Mar 2014
Format:Paperback
I loved this book as a child and I decided to read it again so ordered it from Amazon. It arrived quickly with no problems at all. It is as good as I remember it as a child. Brilliant book!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Most Recent Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars A good book.
A good, thoughtfully written book. It kept me engrossed, and brought back memories of the Second World War when I was a child myself.
Published 2 months ago by Elizabeth Jackson
5.0 out of 5 stars Carries war is awseme
This is a awseme book with lots of characters I would recemed this book to you I spent a long time at school reading this.
Published 2 months ago by pathway cox
5.0 out of 5 stars classic story
Loved this book from when I was in school, bought it for my daughter to read, she didn't like the sound of it at first but she loves the characters and is enthralled by the story... Read more
Published 2 months ago by Rach
5.0 out of 5 stars really good
you have to have certain knowloge to unsturstand this book im writing this because i think your children should start reading this book(they will love it)
Published 3 months ago by Irena V. Stanwell
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely story
Enjoyed the story, a good one to listen to WITH an older primary school child, which I read myself many years ago.
Published 4 months ago by Amanda Glover
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful
I first listened to this book when I was 10, dyslexic and pretending to actually read along. I am 26 now and still love this book. This book is a joy to read.
Published 4 months ago by PumpkinsPatch
5.0 out of 5 stars classic
Always a pleasure to read this book. A childhood memory revived with my class of 8 year olds. Thank you
Published 5 months ago by fiona leyshon
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware - its not what you think
Amazon have made an error and posted this title under Carries War (Puffin Modern Classic) as the kindle edition. Its not the novel but the play. Read more
Published 6 months ago by Joe Kazimierczak
5.0 out of 5 stars Carries war
I really liked this book because at school I am learning about world war 2 and I felt like I was there with Hepsibar, Albert,Carrie, Nick, Mr Evans Aunt Lou. Read more
Published 9 months ago by Olivia Finch
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews
ARRAY(0xb1c4b180)

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback