Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

2.7 out of 5 stars10
2.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£16.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 September 2014
This collection is, if nothing else, interesting. There are pithy pieces consisting of no more than a line, to at its longest, a confessional and touching bit of autobiographical fiction about the narrator and her relationship with her half-sister, entitled "The Seals", which is all of 27 pages, and possibly the most 'complete' story in terms of a conventional narrative.

That Davis is anything but conventional is immediately apparent in the form and content of most her stories. They range from letters to hotel managers and board directors, which reveal the characters of the letter writer, often disorganised, meandering and unfocused, to lists, one of which "Local Obits", literally contain the paras of obituaries. There is something touching and resonant about this random compiling, and pushes the envelope for what is deemed acceptable as narrative fiction, though the intent and effect is ambiguous. There are also pieces which look like work-in-progress story ideas and surrealistic dream sequences, the latter of which I must admit, capture in words rather well the often illogical yet vivid sequences that one encounters in dreamscapes. Elsewhere, Flaubert's correspondence is cited as the source for some of the pieces.

On the whole, this makes a really curious work, for a living author. The stories seem more like posthumous pieces collected to give a glimpse of the genius and working process of a departed writer, and one can't help but think that a more finished product should precede this collection. However, judging from a peek at Davis's earlier works, that is clearly not the case.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2014
Some of these stories are poems, some jokes, all are serious, intelligent and interesting, and they could all only have been written by Lydia Davis. With Anne Carson, she's the best experimental cross-genre writer in English, and hugely enjoyable.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2016
Some books work better if you read them in one go this one is definitely one to pick up and read a little over many sittings as some stories are just a few lines long others several pages long. If you read too many together as I started to do they just lose any kind of sense.

From over 100 stories I suppose it would remarkable to like them all and indeed I found some quirky, amusing and thoughtful others trivial and absurd some so pointless I gave up on them.

A very mixed collection but worth a dip into.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2015
Book that wants to be very original. Some of the stories are not bad. Others can be immediatly forgotten.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2016
Just didn't like it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2015
nice easy reading
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2014
Some very interesting takes on short-story writing here. Gave me lots to think about and hopefully use in my own writing.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2014
There are a few interesting items, such as a list of reasons for not reading articles in the London Review of Books. I can see that she wanted to write about her sister, but it seems for herself, rather than for public consumption. The interesting bit about her sister comes earlier. Their parents were always "nag, nag, nag; harp, harp, harp" at her sister, who moved to the UK, worked for the disabled and eventually received an OBE from the Queen - her parents were in the audience. Immediately after the ceremony, they no longer nagged her to her face, just "carp, carp, carped" behind her back. Davis muses: "Thank God it happened finally. If only it hadn't taken a move to another continent. And how long will it last?" I'd like to hear more about the mother from hell.

There are several stories in the form of letters to public bodies, which reveal a writer tediously obsessed with detail and irrelevancies. They are like a shaggy dog story - OK, I get it, but it's a pain to read.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2014
It is a very badly written book. I don't understand how the author could receive so many good reviews. Her book on Cows is even worse, sorry to say!
22 comments|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2014
Does not make sense.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£10.68

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.