Canon EF100-400 or Sigma 50-500 ??? Opinions? Recommendations?

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-6 of 6 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 8 Dec 2010 11:56:04 GMT
Vid says:
I am an amateur and not very experienced photographer who would like to start doing some wildlife photography. I currently have a Canon 350d which I tend to use with a tamron 18-250 for vesatility when out walking. I intend to upgrade to a 60D in the not too distant future, and am keen to get a greater magnification zoom to go with it. based on reviews to date I am in interested in the above two options anyone got any thoughts

Posted on 17 Dec 2010 13:40:44 GMT
Last edited by the author on 17 Dec 2010 13:41:40 GMT
I bought the Canon 100-400 back in May as an upgrade for my sigma 170-500 (the precursor to the 50-500). The main reasons being the image stabilisation and the L-series optics. I am a keen wildlife photographer in the process of turning semi-pro. The difference in handling and the quality of the images is massive. I have used this lens to take images of wild otters, birds, and dogs going around agility courses, all handheld and they come out pinsharp, not something that I could do with the sigma. I hear two criticisms (1) its a dust pump - I have had no problem at all in this regard, (2) its heavy - its bound to be, its an L-series and made of metal! (unlike the Sigma which is plastic) I actually find that the weight helps to steady it when handholding, in my opinion its easier to handhold a heavier, but balanced lens than a long lightweight lens . The image stabilisation is excellent.

Posted on 18 Dec 2010 12:09:45 GMT
Vid says:
Thanks, that is very helpful feedback. Although I have also learnt that the new version of the Sigma also has IS, and is supposed to be much better. But seems like the Canon is a fantastic lens.

Posted on 18 Mar 2011 10:43:44 GMT
P. French says: