Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Calix Stay (Circle of Light) Mass Market Paperback – 25 Jun 2004

See all 5 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Library Binding
"Please retry"
Mass Market Paperback, 25 Jun 2004
£25.40 £0.01

Trade In Promotion

Product details

  • Mass Market Paperback: 224 pages
  • Publisher: St Martin's Press; New edition edition (25 Jun 2004)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0765346176
  • ISBN-13: 978-0765346179
  • Product Dimensions: 13.2 x 1.6 x 19.4 cm
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 5,397,632 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description


"Charming . . . their adventures will enthrall readers of any age."--"Publishers Weekly"

About the Author

Niel Hancock lives just outside Austin, Texas, with his wife. Along with the "Circle of Light" series, he is also the author of "The Wilderness Four" series and "The Windameir Circle" series.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
First Sentence
As the companions raced on, a bomb burst behind them, and flung stinging hot particles of sand and iron shards all about them. Read the first page
Explore More
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt
Search inside this book:

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.co.uk.
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 5 reviews
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
Calix Stay Is Definetely Staying On My Bookshelf!!!! 18 July 2001
By Flewingam(dragonsbane1710@juno.com) - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback
This book was such a great read after I picked it up from a local used bookstore. The transition from Calix Stay's prequel ("Faragon Fairingay") was really smooth and kept the storyline fresh. The main heroes are still the famous trio of the Bear, Dwarf, and Otter, who are trying to cross the river called Calix Stay, for safety. They must guard an important relic with their lives from the destructive minions of the Dark Queen, Dorini, and the only way they can do that is reach the Meadows of the Sun across the Calix Stay. On their way they are hindered by enemies and eventually wind up in an ancient underground realm where they'll find both, allies and enemies that will determine the success of the trio in their endeavors to protect the fate of Atlanton Earth from the Dark Queen. I loved this book, and it was a really easy read (as a matter of fact, it was the shortest book in the series.) I love the cover art as much as the story inside. Though this book has it's really depressing moments, I have faith that Bear, Dwarf, and Otter will some way find a way to win out against the vile Dark Queen... And that we shall find out in the fourth and final book of the series, "Squaring the Circle".
Five Stars 16 Oct 2014
By Clara D. Rutherford - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Mass Market Paperback Verified Purchase
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
Insanely plagiaristic 26 Jun 2006
By Jonathan Appleseed - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Mass Market Paperback
This entire series is an enormous rip-off of The Lord of the Rings. Worse, perhaps, than The Sword of Shannara. At least the latter was a bit more exciting and adventurous.
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
Volume 3 takes the journey even further along 10 Mar 1998
By Robert Nowall - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback
Volume Three takes the heroes through capture and tragic escape, to a meeting with new friends and a mystical journey underground. Keeps up the pace and holds interest.
2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
too routine 20 Nov 2002
By A Customer - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback
Although a slight improvement over
part two the entire series still
suffers from sluggish pacing.
Were these reviews helpful? Let us know