Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
464
3.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 January 2015
I love 'behind the scenes' books and this is an exciting and well-written portrayal of exactly what it's like being part of the Virgin Atlantic Cabin Crew. The opening is very powerful, describing circumstances on the plane. Probably the worst you would think of. Yet it's all covered. I could soon see there was going to be so much more to the job than everyone thinks. After this, the book goes back to before, the events which lead up to her being a member of the cabin crew. Her then boyfriend beating her up. I wasn't expecting this. She wasn't the confident person she is now then-probably due to the abuse. She's a strong woman in that she didn't take him back, she saw through the apologies. I like how she mentions which track of music was playing at the time and it seems appropriate to the scene. I just love how she speaks through her writing; down to earth, gritty, interesting, tinged with humour, Mandy's own forthright, no nonsense voice. We learn about what's involved in the training/exams, acting out scenarios, seeing how they would cope. Facts about how long you have to escape before it's too late and what would happen next. A six week course and it doesn't sound as easy as you might think. She is sharing a house with some right characters! Virgin requires its female cabin crew to wear vivid red lipstick-I couldn't help thinking what if red lipstick doesn't suit you? It certainly doesn't suit me! You learn lots of stuff behind the scenes-it was just brilliant-loved all this! The grooming lessons-certainly not the picnic they sound. Just couldn't get enough of this book!-I have many behind the scenes books eg doctor/nurse ones but never any in this industry before. I love how she speaks coming through all the time in the book, just like you're having a friendly chat and she's telling you about what she used to do. There's rows and back-biting. Some of these wannabe air hostesses are 'prima donnas'-been to stage school etc. She has a great knack of telling her story-it's full of fun. Now, occasionally there is a bit of 'ooh-er language' in it, but it has a wonderful comical tone to it. Awkward customers/passengers, medical emergencies on board-for instance a lady suffered something terrible in the toilet. She did have doubts; despite it being something she always wanted to do, she had thoughts was she cut out for it? What the passenger says to Mandy is the common perception of an air hostess, obviously they do much more as you find out in this book. There are perks/plus points though. All the gossip's in here what passengers get up to and what the crew members get up too! So funny, some of the scrapes they get into-the cabin crew. Some language and sex here so some memoir readers may be put off reading it but I am reading it as a reveal-all, behind the scenes, no holding back type of book. I WANT to know! There's a very intense chapter-events of 9/11, Mandy swopped flights quite by chance with a colleague. There's so much in this book, crew parties, various incidents and emergencies on board, some of the celebs she has met/had conversations with on flights. A great and varied memoir, really enjoyed it.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2016
I new the reputation some of the girls had, but reading this book has made me think of all the times they had to struggle to pass exams, complete long hours, deal with difficult passengers, and promote the airline, no wonder they partied hard, it was to let off steam I would have done it myself.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2016
When I saw this book I knew it was the sort of light hearted read I needed and I was not disappointed.
Mandy takes us behind the 'curtains' of what it's like to be an air hostess. A really good insight and an entertaining read, I could not put this book down.
I enjoyed Mandy's style of writing and couldn't help but like her. As well as working hard and partying hard in all these fabulous countries, you also have to train hard and pass some tough exams.
Plenty of stories about what passengers get up to as well as some saucy intimate stories of her own, this is a fun read that will put a smile on your face. And give you a new sense of respect for the air hostess '
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2016
If you're looking for a light hearted, easy read about the shenanigans of cabin crew behind the scenes then this is the book for you. Everything you always suspected and a few things you didn't are here in just enough detail to not become semi-pornographic. Not the sort of book I normally read but great fun and I would definitely recommend as a beach read!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2016
This is the best book I've read in a long time. The fact that it's not fictional makes it a far more interesting read. It's juicy, insightful and gives you a new found respect for the work that flight attendants do. Stories of excess and debauchery coupled with the highs and lows of living life out of a suitcase. It's a must read!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2014
I loved reading the insight into being a flight attendant with Virgin and it has inspired me immensely to go get the job. I feel really fired up now, so that has to be worth the 99p I spent on it. .

I did feel as though I was reading 50 shades on several occasions, which wasn't what I wanted to read about but, then again, what do you expect from a book called "Cabin Fever"? It goes without saying that there will be some sauciness in the book, which is probably why it has sold so well.

It's not going to be to everyone's taste, and it certainly seems to have bothered some readers, but I did enjoy it, even with all the innuendos. If sex is your thing, there's some of that inside, and if being a flight attendant with Virgin is your thing, it'll get you motivated like nothing else. So read it and decide for yourself. It's only 99p on Kindle right now.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2014
Embellished stories .......I've worked for the same company for nearly 6 years many of the stories I've heard over the years and disappointingly retold as her own. I don't particularly think the book is well written, was curious and so thought I'd read it, please don't believe that this is crew life as it is very much not the case. The book glamourised but cheapened our jobs that we work hard at everyday we step on a flight.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2016
This really is one of those non put downable books. I read it cover to cover in less than 24 hours. The first book that has ever had me laughing out loud to welling up in tears.

Ive previously read, Tea Coffee or Me, Air Babylon and others I can't remember. This Though has the wow factor..
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2014
I'm sure RB will appreciate the publicity in any form but I feel terribly sorry for those highly trained, professional women who will now have to endure even more lecherous, groping men on flights than before. The only thing I can give Mandy 5 stars for is putting a great airline with a fantastic safety record into disrepute. All "hosties" on all airlines have a great laugh but it's rather sad to see their competence exploited like this.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2014
Good read and enjoyed a lot of the stories. By the end started to get a bit tired of the same things over and over again. But did enjoy and do think the next time I'm on a virgin flight will look at the "hosties" differently!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)