Start reading CHASM on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.
OR
Read for free
with Kindle Unlimited

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

CHASM
 
 

CHASM [Kindle Edition]

David Felder
4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (5 customer reviews)

Print List Price: £8.19
Kindle Price: £2.03 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: £6.16 (75%)
 
Kindle Unlimited Read this title for £0.00 and get unlimited access to over 700,000 titles. Learn More
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £2.03  
Paperback £8.19  
Kindle Unlimited
Kindle Unlimited
Enjoy unlimited access to over 650,000 titles and thousands of audiobooks on any device for £7.99 a month, including this one. Learn more


Product Description

Product Description

Michael Potter wasn’t born bad. If he lacked faith, it was because there was no one to teach it to him. As the child inexorably grew into a monster, an unsuspecting world became his playground.

In the near future in Flagstaff, Arizona, a peaceful Sunday afternoon for the Franklins is interrupted by a phone call. Jerry has to go to work to fix a problem with a cargo rocket, scheduled for launch that evening. Jerry’s wife Sheryl complains to no avail, while his son Dustin is disappointed to lose dad for the day.

At a rundown diner on the Arizona highway, a lonely waitress entices a handsome stranger, Michael Potter, to a nearby spot in the desert: a rarely used missile launch area. She doesn’t suspect that Potter is a dangerous sociopath.

At the launch site, Jerry solves the technical problem affecting the countdown. In the dark, he doesn’t see the stranger sneaking up behind him. Potter attacks, they fight and the unconscious Jerry is locked in the cargo rocket as it is launched into space.

Potter steals Jerry’s jeep and finds a picture of Sheryl in the glove box. She reminds him of his first love, and Potter decides he must find and possess Sheryl at any cost.

Jerry, assumed dead by his family and coworkers, wakes up in the cargo rocket and wonders if he can survive. Meanwhile, Sheryl must help her son Dustin accept the death of his father. Battling her own fears and doubts, she needs to fill both a mother and father role for him.

Potter moves nearer to Sheryl, who he now refers to as his “Angel.” Taking a job at a gas station, through a combination of earnings and stealing, he saves up the money he will need for his twisted plan to court her. It’s not long until Sheryl is at the supermarket where she meets Michael Potter. He has been planning this encounter a long time as part of an elaborate plot to possess her.

After weeks of stalking Sheryl, Potter realizes that her son is going to interfere with his attempts to possess her, and decides he must kill the boy. Examining the contents of the latest trash bag taken from Sheryl’s yard, Potter finds a hand written message: “Vacation, Grand Canyon Nov 1 – Nov 9.”

Potter imagines the possibilities. A little kid, if he wasn’t careful, could fall off a cliff. If that happened, he, Potter, would be there to provide loving support and physical relief to the grieving mother.

CHASM is a psychological thriller that would appeal to fans of Michael Crichton or Arthur C. Clarke. A little sci-fi, a lot of character and story, wrapped up in a fast-moving narrative that draws you in.

About the Author

David Felder was born and raised in New Jersey. CHASM is his first novel. He picked up his father's 8mm movie camera in 1970 at the age of 12 and began writing and making his own movies. The interests in film making and story writing grew through his teenage years and early adulthood. A graduate of Rutgers University, David started working in the broadcast news field, while continuing his writing. After a few years, he was hired to build a training video department for a large computer company. As head of the Video Production department at TRW, a multinational conglomerate, David wrote and/or produced almost 180 training videos with a staff of two technicians over the next ten years. The turning point in his corporate career came in 1987, when David was promoted out of the Video Production Department into a staff management position. Although he was still responsible for video production, a large number of additional management duties began to occupy his time and he felt himself growing further and further away from the creative work he enjoyed. In 1991, David left TRW and started his own company, Ryan Video Productions, where he could focus on writing and producing programs. When he's not writing or working, David enjoys traveling, reading and spending time in the company of the important people in his life. David is an avid scuba diver and can often be found in the Atlantic Ocean, somewhere off the coast of New Jersey, exploring shipwrecks, appreciating the beauty of the seas, or catching lobsters.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 706 KB
  • Print Length: 370 pages
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B008IRNFVS
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (5 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #746,070 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

4 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
3.0 out of 5 stars . 6 Nov 2013
Format:Kindle Edition
Reviewed by Nicola

I was asked by the author if I would review his book and I jumped at the chance (This was my first review book) Once I opened it and saw 78 chapters I almost died lol

As for the book it's self well....... It did take me a while to get into and all the flipping from one character to another did do my head in but once I got into the book i rather enjoyed it.

I loved the whole Potter parts, one minute he's killing someone the next he's drooling all over his `Angel' in the super market, he's one twisted guy!!
I also liked how they went back to his childhood to explain how he ended up the way he did.

The ending was a bit sudden but OK

All in all if you like space rockets or a total physco guy then this is a book for you.

This book was given free by the author for an honest review
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast Paced Thrilling Read 3 Nov 2012
Format:Paperback
David Felder's Chasm was a surprisingly good engaging read, that I didn't want to put down. It's been a long time since I stayed up late into the night reading because
I wanted to know what was going to happen next, this book did it. I really liked
it, a lot. It starts with the protagonist Jerry being called away from his wife and son, to assist with a launch of an unmanned space capsule. At the launch site, he meets up with a crazed sociopath , Potter, who has already killed others and want to do away with Jerry so he can steal his car and get away from the remote desert site. The two fight and Jerry falls into the capsule, with Potter leaving him for dead when it takes off on spaceflight. Later, when Potter glances through Jerry's wallet and sees a photo of his wife, Potter is instantly taken with her beauty, to which he becomes obsessed. As the story progresses Jerry, lost in space manages ingenious problem solving to stay alive, reminiscent of Apollo 13. Here's where Felder's story telling shines, in his intelligent use of space flight, antigravity, physiological needs, in scenes that leave the reader breathless in anticipation. While Jerry is struggling to stay alive, Potter starts a manipulative plan to meet the wife. Along the way people die, turns and twists take the reader on an adventurous thrilling read, up to the conclusion, which is predictable, but worked. Felder did a great job at weaving an interesting multifaceted story that all comes together in a highly enjoyable read.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Chasm 15 Oct 2012
By Peter
Format:Kindle Edition
Written by Dave Felder, his first novel is a definite 'can't put down' book. It tells the story of Michael Potter who will murder anyone to get what he wants. He takes a shine to a wife of one of victims and takes his time to get to know her by stalking her and 'accidentally' meeting her on supermarket shopping trips.

It will keep you in suspense right up to the last page. An excellent read.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Format:Kindle Edition
Well downloaded this last night thinking 'that sounds odd I'll try it' and since then haven't put it down. I love how sociopathic Potter is he's obsessive, possessive, cold, mean, funny... I could go on. It's written in such a way it's like David Felder knows what it's like to be a sociopathic murderer a bit too well ;-) So far I've gasped, laughed, felt sorry for Jerry, cringed a few times. I think a great book And a real page turner.

Only thing... I noticed a few spelling mistakes... Hope they're not in the printed copies of this otherwise awesome story!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars More than satisfying read... 29 Sep 2012
Format:Kindle Edition
I was sent this book by the author, as I'm a reviewer as well as an author - and yes, it was great - a more than satisfying read.

This is a tale of how experience can make or break us. It is one of pitting one's will against all the odds - for good or evil means.

The two main characters, Potter and Jerry, bring the story alive, so much that the suspense gives the reader an all time high.

I do not give spoilers, but will say that this story is certainly worth reading, and, to coin a phrase, a real page turner - excellent.

Highly recommended.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category