Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars24
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 DownloadChange
Price:£7.11
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 November 2010
After the brilliant cover versions of classic punk era on 'Yan, Tyan, Tethera, Methera' it it's hard to produce a second album that comes anywhere near the same standard.

All I can say is 'By Hook or By Crook' not only meets this standard, it's surpasses it. None of the tracks are sub-standard to the originals, they only compliment them and, dare I say, better some.

This blend of Irish style folk with the raw (and in some case not so raw) lyrics of the punk bands produces a sound that is melodious and, being able to hear the lyrics, thought provoking.

The star track must be 'Ever Fallen in Love with Someone (You Shouldn't've).

If you are a fan of punk and folk this is a must for any collection.
0Comment10 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2012
This is the second album from the Bad Shepherds that I have purchased. Really enjoyed it. Didnt know as many songs as the last album I bought (sorry, too young!). But great anyway. Keep 'em coming!
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2011
At first the idea of `folk' with a punk attitude didn't appeal to me more than likely due to my `traditional' prejudices but when I heard that multi-instrumentalist Troy Donockley was on board I thought perhaps I shouldn't be too dismissive. And so it's proved. Of course, having a front-man as famous as Ade Edmondson spitting out the words helps and third member All-Ireland champion Andy Dinan holds his own. What lies beneath the performance is an energy that many of today's `folk' artists (with the possible exception of perhaps Bellowhead) could well take note of as the Shepherd's fight their way to the surface like drowning men struggling for breath after a trip on Titanic. Therefore tracks such as the Sex Pistols "Anarchy In The UK" and Teenage Kicks "Sound Of The Suberbs" find a fresh lease of life in an acoustic setting. Even the "Ramones Medley" with its kick-ass tune sandwich featuring Donockley's Uillean Pipes and Dinan's fiddle going full throttle is just the tonic the doctor ordered...and not a moment too soon if the rumours of a possible farewell tour (after only four years together?) are to be believed. Forget folk for folk's sake and think more along the lines of folk for fun.

PETE FYFE
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2012
This is a great CD to relax to, though I'm betting you won't be able to resist singing along ;-) loved the version of Ace of Spades and Making Plans For Nigel.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2010
Nice one chaps!

Was a bit concerned that a second album might fall short of the standards set by the first. No need to have worried though. This is another gem.

Not alot to say except to say it's fun, it's fresh, and it's damned good. Classic tunes given the Shepherds treatment. Shouldn't work this time either, but it does.

White Riot is the standout for me. It tops the album off.

This will be getting played rather alot. Do yourself a favour and buy it.
0Comment5 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Now then, listening to a set of folk covers of punk and new-wave standards--and a single Smiths track--featuring Ade Edmondson should mark me out as a psuedo-hipster nonsense.

But it's flippin' fantastic, some of the freshest noises I've heard all year. Not all the covers work but each is fully committed and at least worth listening to. When it's good though, its astonishing. Sound of the Suburbs drips with sadness and pathos, Panic is delicious and the Ramones medley cracks along with energy and crash. The absolute highlight White Riot closes the album and is something special - as with all the tracks it's beautifully recorded (huge sound, crisp, defined and full) and builds to a wild whirl of fiddle, banjo and mandolin. It's joyous, big and bursting with energy.

I absolutely wouldn't have had myself down to like this stuff but it's fantastic.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2013
Their version of Friday Night, Saturday Morning is wonderful - beautifully rendered, full of pathos, longing, regret and even better than the original.
Ade Edmondson is a really fine singer and its obvious that he loves and understands his material.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2011
I was lucky enough to catch The Bad Shepherds at Norwich last night and was utterly blown away. Not only are Troy Donockley and Andy Dinan two of the finest musicians in the World but Adrian Edmondson is certainly no slouch either. I eagerly bought 'By Hook...' but had some trepidation as to whether it would be a bit flat compared to the live show but needn't have worried as it's superb. Genius arrangements of some of the classic songs of my youth and done with love and spirit. If it's true and this is this end for the the band then they have left a fine couple of albums as a testament. I'd love to see a live cd/dvd set but for the time being this will do VERY nicely!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2012
Love this group, seen them live several times, really great music, great concept, Folk Punk, great change from Folk Rock! Shame they're taking a break!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2011
Very decidedly a "not bad" CD, [definitely 'listenable'] but not as strong as their previous offering "Yan, Tyan, Tethera, Methera!".
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.