Burn (Pure Book 3) and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
  • RRP: £7.99
  • You Save: £1.60 (20%)
FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books.
Only 4 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
Burn (Pure Trilogy 3) has been added to your Basket
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Good | Details
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: SUPER FAST SHIPPING, DISPATCHED SAME DAY FROM UK WAREHOUSE. NO NEED TO WAIT FOR BOOKS FROM USA. GREAT BOOK IN GOOD OR BETTER CONDITION. MORE GREAT BARGAINS IN OUR ZSHOP.
Trade in your item
Get a £0.34
Gift Card.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Burn (Pure Trilogy 3) Paperback – 11 Sep 2014

32 customer reviews

See all 18 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback, 11 Sep 2014
£6.39
£3.45 £3.39
£6.39 FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books. Only 4 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

Burn (Pure Trilogy 3) + Pure (Pure Trilogy)
Price For Both: £14.38

Buy the selected items together


Trade In this Item for up to £0.34
Trade in Burn (Pure Trilogy 3) for an Amazon Gift Card of up to £0.34, which you can then spend on millions of items across the site. Trade-in values may vary (terms apply). Learn more

Product details

  • Paperback: 464 pages
  • Publisher: Headline (11 Sept. 2014)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0755385586
  • ISBN-13: 978-0755385584
  • Product Dimensions: 13.7 x 3.1 x 19.7 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (32 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 14,444 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Julianna is an award-winning poet, novelist, and young adult writer. For years, she has been thinking about writing a futuristic dystopian novel about a society of haves - the Pure, who escaped the apocalypse and live in an uncontaminated dome-covered city - and have-nots - the wretched survivors who live in the nearly-destroyed outside world.

(Photograph: Laura Ciociola)

Product Description

Review

'A great, gorgeous novel, boundless in its imagination. You will be swept away' (Justin Cronin, New York Times bestselling author of The Passage)

'Discomfiting and unforgettable' (The New York Times)

'A post-apocalyptic thrill ride, filled with wildly inventive characters whose journey of struggle and revolution manifests as a fast-paced narrative full of promise and hope. As visceral and kinetic as it is socially relevant, PURE is bursting with imagination and epic adventure. Baggott is here to stay. And we are all the beneficiaries' (Steven Schneider, producer of Paranormal Activity I and II)

'A dark adventure that is both startling and addictive at once. Pressia Belze is one part manga heroine and one part post-apocalyptic Alice, stranded in a surreal Wonderland where everyone and everything resonates with what has been lost. Breathtaking and frightening. I couldn't stop reading PURE' (Danielle Trussoni, bestselling author of ANGELOLOGY)

Book Description

The final part in the PURE trilogy for fans of THE PASSAGE, THE ROAD and THE HUNGER GAMES.

Inside This Book

(Learn More)
Browse and search another edition of this book.
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Quicksilver TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on 15 Feb. 2014
Format: Hardcover
I approached Burn in some trepidation. It's the final book of the 'Pure' trilogy. I found Book 1, Pure, to be a dark, brooding dystopia with strong themes, and more meat than your average YA post-apocalypse dinner. Book 2, Fuse, however, I found less satisfactory. The characterisation was strong, but the story was more generic, less interesting. So which way would Burn take things, downwards, or upwards towards greatness? If you haven't read the first two books, it goes without saying you should stop reading at the end of this sentence, but do look Pure up; Burn elevates the series to heady heights.

Whilst Burn picks up right where Fuse leaves off, there is an almost immediate change in tone. We're mostly inside the dome now and there is an urgency about the plot. The first two books were essentially quest stories. This is more like a ticking bomb with time running out. The burning question in the book is - How can Partridge move out of the shadow of his father? I said in my review of Fuse, that the portrayal of Ellery Willux was heavy handed. He was almost too perfect a villain, too calculating and accurate in his assessments to be fully credible. Killing him made the man.

Alive, Willux Snr left no room for doubt. He was a maniac with absolute control and this diminished the story. There was never a sense that, actually, he might have a point (contrast this with Patrick Ness and Mayor Prentice, a man the reader is programmed to hate, and then suddenly, there are countless shades of grey and we're not sure what to believe).
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Marleen on 6 Feb. 2014
Format: Hardcover
I received my copy from the publisher through Nudge

First things first. Before I say anything else I have to stress that this book should not be read unless you’re familiar with the story up to now, as told in “Pure” and “Fuse”.

This book seamlessly picks the story up where Fuse ended. Partridge has returned to the Dome and has inherited his father’s position as leader now that Willox is dead. But if Partridge thought that gaining power would bring him the opportunity to put an end to the inequality between the Pure people inside the dome and the Wretches outside, he is in for a shocking surprise. Established powers have no intention of allowing him to change the status-quo and have the means to keep him in check. As his feelings of powerlessness grow, so do Partridge’s doubts about himself, his motives and what he might be able to achieve. By the time he realises that his desire to avoid all bloodshed might lead to nothing except more violence it may well be too late.

Meanwhile Pressia, Bradwell, El Capitan and Helmut are in Ireland, in the care of a small group of detonation survivors fighting their own battle to stay alive. When they board their airship to travel back to America they’ll have acquired the means to bring down the Dome. While Bradwell is pushing for their oppressors’ destruction, Pressia still holds on to the dream of getting the serum that could form the basis for a cure for the Wretches to scientists inside the Dome.

As violence erupts from the Dome, doubts about Partridge’s loyalty are raised. By the time it becomes clear that the only way to bring down a world created through an unspeakable act of destruction is to destroy its core, it may be too late for all participants to survive or find the answers they were looking for.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Amazon Customer on 16 Feb. 2014
Format: Hardcover
After reading Pure and Fuse I was so excited to finish Burn, unfortunately I still don't feel as though I have. Many parts of the plot that were hinted at earlier in the story seem to have been forgotten about and the sub-stories left unfinished. The final chapters felt very rushed and the story ends so abruptly without actually wrapping up the story. It didn't feel like an intentional cliff-hanger, it was as if the author was simply bored of telling the story and stopped.

There were also several typos, spelling errors and grammatical mistakes that slipped through the net on the kindle version (can't speak for the print copy, possibly it's different) which also hint that this book was rushed.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Kate TOP 500 REVIEWER on 12 Feb. 2014
Format: Kindle Edition
Finally, one of the most memorable and outstanding dystopian trilogies comes to the end that we have been waiting for none too patiently. It all began with Pure - what a highlight of 2012 it was. A world destroyed by Detonations, nothing less than an apocalyptic World War, when people were fused to whatever they were holding or embracing at the time, whether animate or inanimate, becoming Wretches. It is proving impossible to forget the Mothers - women fused to the child at their hip - or the Dusts - souls consumed by the earth itself, with no human purpose left except to kill those more fortunate who walk upon their living graves. Not all were damaged, though. A few were selected for a more golden future, sealed before the Detonations into a Dome where they could live as Pures. At one time, Wretches viewed Pures as benevolent carers. Not any more.

As Burn is the final part of the trilogy, there is no reason why you should read it before first devouring Pure and Fuse. Spoilers for both of those are inevitable here so do please give yourself a treat and begin at the beginning and catch up.

Burn begins immediately as Fuse ends. Partridge is back in the Dome among the Pures while Pressia and the others return from Ireland to meet up with him, releasing the cure among Wretches while bring the rule of the Pure to an end. As a result, Burn is much more focused upon these two distinct strands. Whereas in the previous two books, where the chapters piled on the mysteries, the twists and the shocks, in Burn the story is much more targeted. Pressia and Partridge are on a course to the end and nothing will divert them from their purpose.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Look for similar items by category


Feedback