Start reading Buried Angels on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Buried Angels
 
 

Buried Angels [Kindle Edition]

Camilla Lackberg
4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (85 customer reviews)

Print List Price: £7.99
Kindle Price: £2.99 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: £5.00 (63%)
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £2.99  
Hardcover £12.69  
Paperback £4.00  
Kindle Daily Deal
Kindle Daily Deal: Up to 70% off
Each day we unveil a new book deal at a specially discounted price--for that day only. Learn more about the Kindle Daily Deal or sign up for the Kindle Daily Deal Newsletter to receive free e-mail notifications about each day's deal.


Product Description

Review

Praise for Buried Angels:

‘A fantastic read, this latest tale promises to delight and enthral in equal measure’ Sun

Praise for Camilla Lackberg:

‘The hottest female writer in Sweden’ Independent

‘Heart-stopping and heart-warming … a masterclass in Scandinavian crime writing’ Val McDermid

‘Pacy … with flashing insight into the dark places of the psyche’ Sunday Times

‘Lackberg is an expert at mixing scenes of domestic cosiness with blood-curdling horror’ Guardian

‘Both chilling and thrilling’ Sun

Product Description

No. 1 international bestseller and Swedish crime sensation Camilla Lackberg’s new psychological thriller featuring Detective Patrick Hedstrom and Erica Falck – irresistible for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo.

YOU CANNOT CHANGE THE PAST

Easter 1974. A family vanishes from their home on an idyllic island off the Swedish coast. They have left everything behind – including their one-year-old daughter, Ebba.

Now, years later, Ebba has returned to the island. She and her husband have suffered the loss of their only child and are looking to make a fresh start. But within days, their house is the target of an arson attack.

YOU CANNOT ESCAPE THE FUTURE

Detective Patrik Hedstrom takes on the investigation, aided by his wife, crime writer Erica Falck, who has always been fascinated by the mystery of Ebba’s abandonment and the family’s tragic history.

When dried blood is found under the floorboards of the old house, it seems that the cold case involving the missing family is about to be brought back to life. And soon, Patrik and Erica are consumed by the hunt for a killer who will stop at nothing to keep the past buried…


Product details


More About the Author

Born in 1974, Camilla Lackberg graduated from Gothenburg University of Economics, before moving to Stockholm where she worked for a few years as an economist. However, a course in creative crime writing became the trigger to a drastic change of career. Her first six novels all became Swedish No 1 bestsellers. She lives in a suburb of Stockholm with her three children.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality crime fiction 21 Aug 2014
Format:Kindle Edition
Camilla Lackberg is a quality crime fiction writer. The latest novel shows why she is the best in the field. The author style and content of writing really appeals to me. The author draws parallel between present and past events. It starts when a couple discover a fire in a house recently purchased. The house unfolds a history, that may be linked to past day events. It is the job of Partrik and Erica to investigate the matter further. It unravel a sinister event. This concerns a missing family who mysteriously dissapeared. It keeps you intrigued throughout out. It is compelling and gripping. At the same time, the author cleverly mixes domestic events with the main event. She is good at doing this and what makes the author unique. The characters are engaging and believable. I am a true fan of the author. This is a very good read.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, dramatic crime novel 16 Aug 2014
By M. V. Clarke VINE VOICE
Format:Kindle Edition
This is another very strong entry in Läckberg's series set in Fjällbacka. The plot is complex and gripping; in the 1970s a family disappeared from a small island boarding school, and now the one surviving member has returned there, and quickly gets targeted again. Into this central plot, there are many sub-plots, involving the group of boys who attended the school, now largely rich, influential men in Sweden. One in particular has a high-profile position in a far right political party, which becomes another sub-plot. As they try to deal with the events on the island during their school time, they're drawn back together as the novel concludes. Set against this, commonly for this series, is a historical plot, told in short interludes between chapters. This features several generations of a family, Hermann Göring, and themes of abuse, neglect, alcoholism and family tensions. Overall, this is a brilliant plot. However, one of the very best aspects of this series is the strong characterisation and sense of community. Patrik, Erica, their family, and Patrik's colleagues are all brilliantly depicted, and it's very rewarding to get a much fuller insight into Gösta here - Patrik's older, taciturn colleague has a strong professional and personal interest in this case, and we see a different side to him as we learn of his own background. Highly recommended.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Modern-day village murder mystery 31 May 2014
Format:Kindle Edition
While Stieg Larsson’s tattooed girl may have spearheaded the global Scandi-crime wave, his graphic trilogy has actually been outsold at home by the Christie-esque murder mysteries fellow Swede Camilla Läckberg sets in the tiny fishing village of Fjällbacka.

The eighth instalment in a series featuring true crime writer Erica Falck and her police detective husband see both drawn into strange happenings on the island of Valö, where a local woman has returned decades after her entire family mysteriously disappeared without a trace. Arson and the discovery of blood under the floorboards (re)opens investigations old and new, as Läckberg weaves an intriguing story that spiderwebs through several dark periods from Sweden’s past.

WhileLäckberg has a knack for intriguing mystery storylines, her true talent, and the heart of her novels, lies in her characters and their relationships, particularly Erica and Patrick and those closest to them. Complex and fallible; the people in a Läckberg tale struggle very humanly with the varied challenges of life, as truth is sought and the book unfolds.

More Midsomer Murders than True Detective, this is an engaging and enjoyable read that will particularly appeal to fans of the cosier end of crime fiction.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a roller coaster read 14 May 2014
By cartoon
Format:Hardcover|Verified Purchase
I love Camilla Lackberg , she is almost like a guilty pleasure , a mid summer murder set in a beautiful Swedish coastal town , where most of the inhabitants seem to have a guilty secret or a Nazi ghost in the attic / cellar. There is a lot going on here ; dead children , abuse , far right activitists ... It all makes for an exciting read and an afternoon I gave up totally to such a great story teller ; so many skeletons that towards the end I had changed my mind so many times as to who the culprit was .
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Camilla Does it again. 17 April 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I was worried wether Camilla Lackberg had written herself into a hole as her last book wasn’t as good as her previous novels. This one was totally back on form. I enjoyed the History unfolding so you understand how the past affects the present and how and why the story unfolded as it did. This one was a real cliffhanger, I think I created at least 4 different endings as I was reading it....and I was still surprised.A totally enjoyable series.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read 21 Sep 2014
By Elaine Tomasso TOP 1000 REVIEWER
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Tobias and Ebba return to a house she inherited, a house her whole family disappeared from in the 70s. The police get involved when someone sets the house on fire. What unfolds from there is the gripping tale of what happened to the family told alternately from the present day and the history of Ebba's foremothers (is that a word?). There are also various subplots which keep the narrative going, some of which have their roots in previous books but are explained for new readers. I really enjoy this series as the characters are pleasant and well drawn and Ms Lackberg has an easy, intimate style of writing which makes you feel part of the story. The plot is also very good with plenty of twists and turns to keep you wondering and turning the pages. I heartily recommend this as a book you'll find difficult to put down. (I read it in 2 sittings with a reluctant break for sleep).
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
The higher price of Kindle books 1 13 May 2014
See all discussions...  
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
   


Look for similar items by category