Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
20
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 November 2003
I have been searching for this single since a long time ago. Brothers and Sisters includes three tracks that are not included on any album form Coldplay, this makes this CD interesting because it shows the first songs that the band made before becoming so famous. Brothers and Sisters song makes me remember the rythm of Shiver, but in a simple manner. I'd like to recomend you all this CD, since is one of the first publications of the band and is simply incredible!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2008
Got the E.P. and it's great but i'm only writing the review to say the tracklisting is wrong. I guess that much is quite obvious really - i can't imagine Chris crooning "Embraceable You" (although that could be fun)

Anyway, here's the correct tracklisting:

1) Brothers and Sisters
2) Easy To Please
3) Only Superstition
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2000
One of coldplay's first and best singles. Brother's and Sisters is a must for any self respecting coldplay fan. The a-side has a guitar riff like no other and the b-sides are a work of, chilled, genius.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2016
Early Coldplay from their time on the Fierce Panda label when you could be one of a dozen or so gathering around the band as they opened for someone more famous like Terris! Not collectible like The Blue Room but well worth having. If you only know them from their hits, this fills in where they came from.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2003
Okay so you're wondering if you should buy this single or not and are curious as to the new tracks.
Well, let me just say from the off that the single is fantastic, like all the singles that they've released, each track seems to shimmer with a subtle genius that somehow makes you wonder how you enjoyed music sans Coldplay.
The title track "Brothers and Sisters" has a great riff, full of optimism and actually quite a swaggering Chris Martin who sounds his usual best.
The second track "Easy to Please" is easily one of my favourite Coldplay tunes of all time, and contains the most haunting melody; accompanied with eerie background sounds that further push you into either chillout or melancholy, probably both.
The third track "Only Superstition" is another beautiful track, full of paranoid lyrics and somewhat thrashy (if Coldplay could be called that) guitars. A brilliant song that seems to perfectly encapsulate the fears we all harbour and successfully quell each day.
This single isn't just for coldplay fans, it's for music lovers. Everyone should listen to some early material from one of the best bands ever to emerge from the UK.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2000
this single, sitting in between the obscurity of their self released "Safety EP" and the commercial breakthrough of "The Blue Room EP" finds Coldplay moving away from the Radiohead-esque roots towards the more low-key, laid back vibes of debut 'Parachutes'. The a-side is a killer, and the two b-sides are fantastic too, making this a highly desirable package for the Coldplay fan.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 October 2008
Although this is a re-edition of their first CD is really worth the money
Only 3 tracks and one of them is in the album , but the other 2 are worth having.
If you feel that any song from parachutes is better that the whole viva la vida album you should listen to " only superstition " in the dark.

5 starts
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2010
I bought this recently to complete the collection. It's interesting to hear these early songs, when the talent was relatively raw, but you can still hear that 'something' that marks them as brilliant and distinctive. So, very encouraging for all wannabes, just starting their journey.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2003
After purchasing this, i found that it was a bit wishy washy so to speak and nothing special. As a listened to it more and more i realised what a beautiful and moving song it is (like so many of there songs). Only superstition is also a fantastic song, extremely harmonic and uplighting. Track two is almost just a link between songs, you hardly notice it, but it's still good music. It's hard to believe that they were discovered so late. This really is Coldplay doing what they do best. Highly recomended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2005
Brothers & Sisters is a must have for all Coldplay fans! Reading the inside sleeve, it seems strange to be to told who Coldplay are - we all know now! Chris Martin's vocal is, as always, amazing and the three tracks link really well.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)