Brothers' Fury (Bleeding Land Trilogy Book 2) and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books.
In stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
Brothers' Fury (Bleeding ... has been added to your Basket
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Like New | Details
Sold by Wordery
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: This fine as new copy is waiting for you in our UK warehouse and should be with you within 4-5 working days via Royal Mail.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 3 images

Brothers' Fury (Bleeding Land Trilogy 2) Paperback – 23 Apr 2015

43 customer reviews

See all 5 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
£7.99
£3.96 £4.25
£7.99 FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books. In stock. Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

Brothers' Fury (Bleeding Land Trilogy 2) + The Bleeding Land + God of Vengeance
Price For All Three: £18.83

Buy the selected items together



Product details

  • Paperback: 480 pages
  • Publisher: Corgi (23 April 2015)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0552162418
  • ISBN-13: 978-0552162418
  • Product Dimensions: 12.7 x 2.8 x 19.8 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (43 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 18,126 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

Review

"Giles Kristian does it again: another surge of hope and fury, of passion, cannon fire and musketry to blow you away and leave you reeling in its wake. Fantastic, powerful, blood-stirring stuff... done with such panache, such daring, such glory that you’ll be aching for the next installment." (MANDA SCOTT)

"This is enthralling, excellently researched and lyrically imagined. Honour, duty, selfishness and terror – you can’t get better ingredients for a good book." (ROBERT LOW, bestselling author of the ‘Oathsworn’ Viking series)

"A rip-roaring sequel to The Bleeding Land . . . well drawn, and the language and social norms of the time are used to good effect." (SOLDIER magazine)

Book Description

In the tradition of Bernard Cornwell, Giles Kristian continues his thrilling story of the Rivers family, whose lives are turned upside down by that most brutal and tragic of wars - the English Civil War.

Inside This Book

(Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
33
4 star
10
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 43 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful By SJATurney on 28 May 2013
Format: Hardcover
The Bleeding Land was my top book last year, despite some hefty opposition. It was, for me, a game-changer of a book and certainly propelled Giles from an entertaining Skald to a first-rate producer of literature. It was also something of a self-contained novel. I worried upon starting Brothers' Fury as to whether he could really keep up the dreadful heartbreak of the first into a second book. Well in a way, he hasn't. And in a way that was the best thing to do.

TBL was harrowing and dark, bleak and soul tearing. Oh, it entertained and there was humour, but the darker side of it was extraordinarily powerful. I did suspect that Giles would struggle to reproduce that for a second run with the same effect on the reader. But he has, I suspect, not tried to. Instead, this novel takes a more active, immediate and even at times positive direction, which adds a new dimension to the saga and makes it fresh and gives it a new draw. Where the first book was a dark tale of grief and struggle with flashes of humour and adventure, this is more a story of war and action with flashes of the darkness that pervaded the first. In short, where the first novel left the reader fearing for the future of the Rivers family, Brothers' Fury provides sparks of hope for the future.

It is not quite so much a self-contained novel in the way of the first, but appears as something of a bridge between the introductory heartbreak of TBL and the epic conclusion that is to come in book 3. You see, this is a trilogy, and I often find trilogies fall easily into the Star Wars analogy. The first book was Star Wars. It was almost a complete tale in itself. The third book will be `Jedi' it will finish the tale with gusto and edge-of-the-seat action. The middle tale (Brothers' Fury) is `Empire'.
Read more ›
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By jaffareadstoo TOP 500 REVIEWER on 15 July 2013
Format: Hardcover
If The Bleeding Land lays down the visceral gauntlet of war, then this continuation of the English Civil war story, in Brothers' Fury, certainly continues the theme of mayhem and destruction, however, this time the narrative is interspersed with a more character centred focus, namely, on the two brothers whose fury is duly illustrated. Thomas and Edmund Rivers continue the quest to fight for their beliefs, and whilst both brothers are admirable in their loyalty, it is the very fact that they remain on opposing sides, which gives the book its heart and soul.
Giles Kristian never shies away from the graphic and true nature of conflict, but he seems to have mellowed the story in this middle book of the trilogy. There seems to be less emphasis on shock tactics and more focus on purpose, and the added inclusion of sister Bess's role as she seeks to unite her family adds a more subtle touch to what is still, in effect, one of the best English Civil war stories.
There is no doubt that the author has found his niche with his interpretation of history, and yet what's refreshing is that whilst his historical narratives are realistic to the point of explicitness, there is never any doubt that the story being recounted is as powerful and as accurate as the author can make it.

I am sure that the conclusion of the trilogy will be every bit as powerful.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Parm TOP 500 REVIEWER on 4 Jun. 2013
Format: Hardcover
Review

Before I start on the book a small note about the author: Giles is one of the truly nicest most genuine people I have met, not just in the world of writers but just in life.

I feel that this genuine real personality is something that influences his writing. Don't get me wrong his books are not nice guy books, they are not judgemental, they don't push an agenda. You get a story (or in the case of the Raven, a saga). The characters are real people, real people set in the past, living a real existence that is accurate to the period.

In book one; The Bleeding Land, we met the Rivers family and experienced the pain and suffering, the love and the adventures that all members of the family endured. http://parmenionbooks.wordpress.com/wp-admin/post.php?post=6&action=edit

Brothers Fury (bk 2) picks up not long after the end of book 1. We see and experience how the brothers Mun and Tom have changed, how the war has changed them both, how the spectre of death has shaped them

What a cruel thing is war: to separate and destroy families and friends, and mar
the purest joys and happiness God has granted us in this world; to fill our
hearts with hatred instead of love for our neighbours, and to devastate the fair
face of this beautiful world. ~Robert E. Lee

The English Civil war has torn a country, families, neighbours communities asunder. The Rivers family are all changed by this war. Both Mun and Tom are now killers, not born but made by the hell of civil war.

While clinging to the sanity of family and trying to pull her beloved brothers back from the brink of chaos is Bess Rivers.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Kate TOP 500 REVIEWER on 23 May 2013
Format: Kindle Edition
The human tragedy of the English Civil War is brought starkly into focus by Giles Kristian in his series begun with The Bleeding Land and now continuing with Brothers' Fury. The land that bleeds is England and the brothers are Sir Edmund (Mun) and Tom Rivers. Mun fights for Prince Rupert and the crown while Tom belongs to Parliament. Neither fight for ideology, instead the elder fights for tradition and the good name of his father and the younger, Tom, for a mad and dark vengeance, inspired by Lord Denton, the barbaric aristocrat who ruined his life.

At the heart of Brothers' Fury are Tom, Mun and their sister Bess who desperately strives to reunite her family, but they are supported by a host of vivid and colourful creations, men and women fighting their own cause and surviving as well as they can, some even profiting. The conflict within the Rivers family is mirrored in others, notably Lord Lidford and his young son Jonathan.

Giles Kristian is a master storyteller. In addition to an army of characters, he also brings places to life, most vividly here, London. Lichfield, Oxford. The research is worn lightly but effectively. As someone born and bred and living in Oxford, I know the streets well and I now see my own town very differently thanks to Brothers' Fury. Despite the horror of it all, and these are dark times indeed, there is hope and there is even humour. This comes through the endurance and camaraderie between men on both sides. There are also little moments of gold when Kristian makes reference to other characters from beyond these pages that, if you're a fan of other English Civil War fiction, you'll be delighted to pick up on.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Look for similar items by category


Feedback