Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars152
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.80+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 March 2004
I went to see this film with my daughters, aged 4 & 7. They both thoroughly enjoyed it - it was (in the words of the eldest) "one of the best cinema films ever" ! It is beautifully made with likeable characters and a story line that moves along at a good pace and keeps up the interest of even the most fidgety 4-year old. It was also genuinely funny and made us all laugh. It's a real shame that this film was overshadowed by Nemo as it was, in our opinions, every bit as good and just as well worth seeing.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2004
I took my then 21 month old daughter to see this film. She didn't last twenty minutes in Nemo (and has, at 25 months, yet to sit through the whole DVD) but she LOVED Brother Bear. I think it was the 'realness' of the animals (which, like in Lion King, move like the real species) combined with action right from the beginning. There's also a wonderful sense of place and being outdoors - you can almost smell the pine trees. She loved the story of a boy who turns into a bear and back and back again. Every time we passed the cinema, she dragged me back to the poster and when my U.S.-based mother brought her a Brother Bear book, she adored it. Daddy and I liked the film, too. I've never been a Phil Collins fan, but 'On My Way' was a good tune and the story was very strong and very well animated. I especially like how the film introduces very young children to another culture and way of looking at the world (without the preachiness of Pocohontas). I'm looking forward to seeing it two or three hundred times in the next months!
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2004
I loved this film. I was surprised that it was somehow given so many bad reviews, and why it was shunned by the box office. This film has a heartwarming and feel good sense to it, and a great performance by Joaquin Phoenix as Kenai, the hunter who kills a bear, only to get turned into one himself. The two dim-witted moose are also very funny and unforgettable. Brother Bear borrows some of its contents from other animated films, but most of the time it manages to get away with it very well. When Kenai gets turned into a bear, he must find a way to get to the mountains where the lights touch the Earth, staying by the side of a lonely bear cub called Koda. During his voyage he learns that Koda is alone and that Kenai will have to keep with him throughout his whole journey. This technique of being there for others has a similar feeling that was previously featured in Finding Nemo and Lilo and Stitch. The only differences are that it doesn't work as well as it did with Lilo and Stitch, but for me, no other Disney film of any style can better it, and whereas Lilo and Stitch focused its winning charm on family, Brother Bear's is on brotherhood.
One thing has been improved though. Like Tarzan this has a soundtrack boasting with five new songs from music legend Phil Collins, which come better than the ones featured in Tarzan, so there's one good side to it. The only bad area was probably the repeat use of a herd of charging stampede, ruining The Lion King's pride of originality. The plot sounds like it rips off the Emperor's New Groove, but overall it makes the film much better and much more mature.
To end this review, Brother Bear is a great film for the whole family, with it being funny and touching, exactly the same things that made Lilo and Stitch the excellent franchise it is. Compared with that, Brother Bear probably won't become a well-loved Disney classic, but still a classic nonetheless, and a must-have on DVD.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2004
having seen this film over 7 times at the cinema with my little brother i cant wait to get him the dvd. Its a film which i like to see time and again with its heartwarming characters, the lovable bear cub Koda and the boy who was transformed into a bear by his dead brother Kenai. He has to learn some of lifes valuble lessons wilst traveling with Koda to the salmon run a meeting place for all bears. whilst suffering being hunted and riding round on wooly mamoths. this film is a must and i know that what i say just doesnt do it justice. the songs perfomed Phill Collins has brought a tear to my eye somthing which is actually very hard to do! my favorite song in the film has to be Ime on my way!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2004
We loved this movie! It has now become one of our favorite Disney animated features. The special features on DVD are excellent if you are interested in how the movie was made. If you have children, there are a couple of Brother Bear games that are actually quite enjoyable (even for the adult person).
We think it is an inspiring story and a revelation in animation and art-work. Buy this movie!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2013
Having owned and watched at some point the majority of Disney movies including the straight to dvds ones - many times over, BrotherBear is certainly a classic worthy of repeated views and easily up there with Tazan,LionKing, Aladdin..no quesion.

Age range..well..any child nearing 5 upwards..and honestly for every age group over that. Honest.

It is a beautiful film, with a beautiful original message at it's heart. Add to the - love him or loathe him - Phil Collins mastery soundtrack work. In fact it's a shame Tina Turner sung his opener and also 'Look into my Eyes' is virtually lost in the movie ( arriving end of the credits ). Sterling work..the transformation sequence, including Phils drumns and vocals/chants...really are stunning.

Grown up themes at times..but my nearing 5 daughter said to me, I really believe this is what happens when you go to heaven. And thats good enough for me. The spirits in the sky..transforming...beautiful. And so much better than dreary notions of churchs and hymns which - sadly - schools drums into kids.

The dvd itself is excellent value..plenty of behind the scenes snippets, makings of, deleted scenes...a shame actually some of them didnt make the movie. Could be wrong, but i seem to recall the movie having a slightly troubled history - two directors etc etc..perhaps this shows...I do feel Phil Collins music could of been used more.

No hesitation - a must-buy from me. Again, kids under 4/5 probably not..the just won't get it..and sit through some of the earlier..slightly adult..themes...but for everyone else..enjoy.

Unlike a few - this one really is worthy of being called a Disney Classic. ( You'll cry your heart out near the end btw!!!..but don't worry tears will of dried up as the credits roll. )
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 10 November 2015
Disney’s Brother Bear is traditional and very handsome hand drawn animation, with occasional CGI inserts, that makes absolutely no attempt to be anything other than a simple, entertaining and colourful cartoon aimed squarely at kids. Comparisons with Disney’s very successful The Lion King (the circle of life thing) are inevitable and are in some ways fair, but on the whole Brother Bear is a sturdy if slightly insipid standalone tale with enough spirit and spectacle to keep younger audiences happy.

This coming of age tale about a young Native American who is turned magically into a bear, and in doing so learns what it is like to be hunted, is not very subtle and it’s not going to win any Pulitzers, but it’s perfect and familiar Disney territory and was diverting enough and keep my 5 year old watching for a rather short 82 minutes. Disney’s attempt to create another Lion King rather backfired as critics generally gave it a roasting and it did not do well at the box office.

With a few decent songs written and performed by Phil Collins and Tina Turner, lovely old fashioned animation, a few good laughs, and two very funny Moose characters, Brother Bear just about keeps it head above water, even though it’s definitely in the shallow end of the Gene Pool.

Unremarkable, but good looking and engaging.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 6 February 2016
Brother Bear is a 2003 American animated fantasy film produced by Walt Disney Feature Animation and released by Walt Disney Pictures, the 44th animated feature in the Disney Animated Canon. In the film, an Inuit boy named Kenai pursues a bear in revenge for a battle that he provoked in which his oldest brother, Sitka, is killed. He tracks down the bear and kills it, but the Spirits, angered by this needless death, change Kenai into a bear himself as punishment. To be human again, Kenai must learn how to see through another's eyes, feel through another's heart and discover the true meaning of brotherhood.

Originally titled Bears, it was the third and final Disney animated feature produced primarily by the Feature Animation studio at Disney-MGM Studios in Orlando, Florida; the studio was shut down in March 2004, not long after the release of this film in favor of computer animated features. The film received an Academy Award nomination for Best Animated Feature, but lost to the fellow Disney/Pixar film Finding Nemo. A sequel, Brother Bear 2, was released on August 29, 2006.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2008
Brother Bear is a wonderful animation - it isn't violent and it has the right balance between comedy and drama. The storyline is engaging and the characters and some of the cameos in this film are hysterical. This is a film for all the family and it is a truly wonderful children's animation combined with Phil Collins' musicianship that brings the film to life. Highly enjoyable.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2015
I thoroughly enjoyed the film shock which was pitched at the right level for children and adults to enjoy with a few good songs in to boot. My disappoint was however with the condition in which the DVD arrived. It was scratched to pieces and skipped frequently during the film. I have not experienced this before with Amazon
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)