Includes FREE MP3
of this album.
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Available to Download Now
Buy the MP3 album for 7.49
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Image not available


Boy Meets Girl [CD]

Various Artists Audio CD
5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
Price: 14.09 & FREE Delivery in the UK. Details
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
 : Includes FREE MP3 version of this album.
   Does not apply to gift orders. See Terms and Conditions for important information about costs that may apply for the MP3 version in case of returns and cancellations.
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Want it tomorrow, 31 July? Choose Express delivery at checkout. Details
Complete your purchase to add the MP3 version to your Amazon music library. Provided by Amazon EU S. r.l.
Buy the MP3 album for 7.49 at the Amazon Digital Music Store.

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

Product details

  • Audio CD (31 July 2000)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: CD
  • Label: Stax/Ace
  • ASIN: B00004U35K
  • Other Editions: Audio CD  |  Vinyl  |  MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 329,298 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. Soul-A-Lujah - Cleotha Staples
2. I Ain't Particular - Mavis Staples
3. Just Keep On Loving Me - Carla Thomas
4. Ain't That Good - Mavis Staples
5. I Can't Stop (Original Mix) - Carla Thomas
6. I Thank You - Mavis Staples
7. Love's Sweet Sensation - Mavis Staples
8. I Need You Woman - Carla Thomas
9. Never, Never Let You Go - Mavis Staples
10. Hold On This Time - Mavis Staples
11. That's the Way Love Is - Mavis Staples
12. It's Our Time - Carla Thomas
13. It's Unbelievable - Pervis Staples
14. Piece of My Heart - Mavis Staples
15. Leave The Girl Alone - Mavis Staples
16. I'm Trying - Pervis Staples
17. Don't Make Me A Storyteller - Carla Thomas
18. Strung Out - Mavis Staples
19. My Life - Carla Thomas
20. It's Too Late - Cleotha Staples
See all 22 tracks on this disc

Product Description

(2000/ACE) 22 tracks, Stax's special album project from 1969 pairing their best-known male artists with various female counterparts in a series of duets.Medium 1
  1. Soul-A-Lujah - TAYLOR, Johnnie & Eddie Floy
  2. I Ain't Particular - BELL, William & Mavis Staple
  3. Just Keep On Loving Me - TAYLOR, Johnnie & Carla Tho
  4. Ain't That Good - FLOYD, Eddie & Mavis Staples
  5. I Can't Stop - BELL, William & Mavis Staple
  6. I Thank You - BELL, William & Mavis Staple
  7. Love's Sweet Sensation - BELL, William & Mavis Staple
  8. I Need You Woman - BELL, William & Carla Thomas
  9. Never, Never Let You Go - FLOYD, Eddie & Mavis Staples
  10. Hold On This Time - BELL, William & Mavis Staple
  11. That's The Way Love Is - TAYLOR, Johnnie & Mavis Stapl
  12. It's Our Time - FLOYD, Eddie & Carla Thomas
  13. It's Unbelievable (How You Control My Soul) - STAPLES, Pervis & Carla Thom
  14. Piece Of My Heart - FLOYD, Eddie & Mavis Staples
  15. Leave The Girl Alone - BELL, William & Mavis Staple
  16. I'm Trying - STAPLES, Pervis & Carla Thom
  17. Don't Make Me A Storyteller - FLOYD, Eddie & Carla Thomas
  18. Strung Out - BELL, William & Mavis Staple
  19. My Life - TAYLOR, Johnnie & Carla Thom
  20. It's Too Late - FLOYD, Eddie & Cleotha Stapl
  21. I've Just Been Feeling Bad - TAYLOR, Johnnie & Carla Thom
  22. All I Have To Do Is Dream - BELL, William & Carla Thomas

Customer Reviews

4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
5.0 out of 5 stars
5.0 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars NAFF COVER DESIGN 25 Jun 2013
Format:Audio CD
Great tracks v naff cover art.get the original frm ace records .great stax duets frm 60s\70s deserve to be well presented
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) 4.5 out of 5 stars  2 reviews
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 1969 collection of Stax male-female duets 19 Aug 2009
By hyperbolium - Published on
Format:Audio CD
Sibling and parent/child duets create a family voice that complements the individual singers. But duets between men and women elevate the relationship itself. The truth of country music has lent itself to many power duos, including Conway and Loretta, George and Tammy, and Johnny and June, but the raw emotion of soul music gives its duets another dimension of expressiveness. As the Memphis based Stax label expanded upon the success of its 1960s hard soul singles, the arrangements added strings, the horn charts softened and room was created for male-female duets. As part of the label's push into album releases, a double-LP's worth of duets were recorded with roster artists for 1969's Boy Meets Girl and released as part of Stax's massive post-Atlantic Records rebirth.

Mavis Staples sings two album highlights, a conga-heavy deep funk cover of Sam & Dave's earlier Stax hit "I Thank You" with William Bell, and a powerful Southern soul cover of Erma Franklin's "Piece of My Heart" with Eddie Floyd. The album mixes up-tempo grooves such as William Bell and Carla Thomas' "I Can't Stop" with emotionally crooned ballads that include Eddie Floyd and Cleotha Staples' "It's Too Late" and Johnnie Taylor and Carla Thomas' "My Life." This reissue drops eight of the original LP's titles and adds four, including the iconic pre-LP "Private Number," a terribly misguided mid-80s remake by Dusty Springfield and Spencer Davis, and a pair of tracks from Delaney and Bonnie's 1968 sessions for Home. Those seeking the original track lineup (and cover art) can find it on a pricier UK reissue. [2009 hyperbolium dot com]
5.0 out of 5 stars A genuine soul masterpiece! 7 May 2011
By rollo - Published on
Format:Audio CD|Verified Purchase
Stax/Volt released a lot of records during the 70's. During that period they had a large stable of r&b stars like Johnnie Taylor, the Staples Singers, Carla Thomas, Judy Clay and William Bell. Stax then decided one day to pair some of these artists and make a two record set of duets with various male & female artists like Mavis Staples or Judy Clay with William Bell, Carla Thomas with Pervis Staples or Johnnie Taylor. The end result was this wonderful album "Boy Meets Girl". Of all the records Stax/Volt ever put out, this one has an abundance of style, charm and soul as well as first rate musical arrangements and vocal performances. This was one of the most interesting, overlooked recordings of the 70's. 99 stars.
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Look for similar items by category