Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars18
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£18.46+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 November 2010
The seventies threw up some really quirky sci-fi movies and this is a great example.
A young Don Johnson travels a post nuclear war wasteland with his telepathic and highly articulate side kick, a dog called "Blood".
Together they forage the ruins of society for tins of food and female companionship.
Using a beautiful young woman as bait Don Johnson is lured down into a very strange underground society who are desperate to replenish their gene pool.
The trap is set and you are in for a very funny black comedy.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 21 May 2012
I was born in '75 - I remember watching this as a teenager and even then, thinking it was excellent. I was admittedly developing a life-long taste for Sci-Fi, but it was also unlike anything I'd watched previously(Note: That was the early 90's; there are now many films based in a post-apocalyptic world [Go watch Threads!]).

Like several other films of the era: West-world, Logans Run, THX1138, Silent Running - the ideas and concepts presented are quite alien to our generally hum-drum lives; you can miss out by being overawed at the strangeness of the story world.

Vic is a young man trying to survive in the barren wasteland - all that is left of civilisation after multiple nuclear strikes have reduced the world to ashes. Among the shattered remains of humanity his companion is a dog: Blood. Blood and Vic are linked by a telepathic connection that allows them to communicate with each other. The film details their escapades: trying to find food and get Vic laid. There are plenty of regular horrors on the surface to avoid - but below ground there is very real danger too.

Having watched this again as an adult - I still think it is a great story and a great film. If you like films that are all wrapped up at the end, with a happy ending, then this film might not be for you. Also, if you like awesome special effects and non-stop action where zombies/aliens/badguys are mown down in a constant hail of bullets/laser-fire/plasma - give it a miss. It was made in 1975 and, from the looks of it, on a budget. Don't get me wrong - the effects are not bad - but it can't compete with the big-budget, all-action sci-fi that is available today.

It is a glimpse into a horrific might-have-been-future, through the eyes of someone desperate to survive. The ending is...novel - I defy anyone to see it coming!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2010
I've met many people who love sci fi ...

Talk will usually lead to rollerball, westworld & logans run.

Suprisingly most have not seen or heard of A boy and his dog -
Which is a shame.

It's a post apocalyptic movie set after world war 4 ...
the vision is not disimilar to that of Mad Max ,Arid barren landscape.

It follows the boy & The dog who are an unlikely pair - this is brilliant the dog is telepathic and we hear dialogue between the two.

The dog (blood) Is a sorta world weary cynical charactor which I always find amusing.

The film has a brilliant ending as well.

Based on a Hugo award winning short story by the brilliant Harlan Ellison - it's a suprisingly faithful adaption.

The print is great/sharp - some scratches here and there - something I like as I watch through a projector - It adds to the cinematic vibe, you understand.

No extras.

To conclude ...
If you like films like Solvent green, Silent running and the above mentioned.

I would strongly recommend this modest little gem to you.

4/5
11 comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2011
A Charming film about a young adult and his dog "Blood", the story takes place in the not to distant future 2024. After several wars the world is nothing more than a crumbling wasteland with no rules all except one under ground city. This film is essentially about Vic (Don Johnson) getting laid, so this isnt your ordinary Mad Max Survival action film. all in all 10/10 for a truly timeless classic
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2013
I wasn't quite sure what to expect with this tbh, quite a few folk said it was a good film, & Harlan Ellison tends to provoke with his writing so I reckoned it was worth a punt.

Set some years after a nuclear war, it's basically a boy & his telepathic dog trying to get by, & that's pretty much it as it follows a basic storyline, so if you're looking for FX & ray guns, go elsewhere. Alternatively, if you like slower paced, thought provoking sci-fi the likes of 'Silent Running', 'Soylent Green', or more recently 'Moon', then I think you'd enjoy this.

And yes, it is a good ending, brought a smile to my face. :)
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 11 September 2013
Having withstood the test of time this film is a genuine cult classic. While many think this is a post-apocalyptic movie, it is in reality a satire of society and what drives us. A boy survives by talking to his dog. Only he can hear the dog. The boy wants two things: food and women. The dog helps him by using his superior sense of smell and in return gets the companionship of the boy as well as someone who feeds him. The scene where the dog holds out for popcorn for information was classic and well as his conjugating "fornication" and going into it's roots.

The boy is lured into an underground world for breeding purposes, but doesn't like it due to the "artificial"aspect of the town, fashioned after a small Kansas community. The irony of the movie is that they think the boy is some genius because he has been able to survive without being infected, so they want his DNA to pass on. In reality it was the dog that allowed him to survive.

Great cult classic. Minor nudity. Sexual situations.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2010
Please note that this dvd is cropped to 1.78:1 from 2.35:1. The Region 1 editions are orginal ratio. http://www.amazon.co.uk/Boy-His-Dog-Region-NTSC/dp/B0000C825J/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=dvd&qid=1285318070&sr=8-1
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2004
Allright, post-apocalyptic America... A young Don Johnson and his telepathic dog roam the world looking for food and easy women. If you are confused about your feelings on this one, it's o.k. I was fearful as well. But, get this, I would rate this movie in the same caliber as Road Warrior and Mad Max.. and that's as good as it gets for me.
In fact.. the movie and people even look like Road Warrior. They also keep the convention going of cool names for different kinds of gangs and junk. (i.e. Screamers, Solos, and Rovers) It's just great. The plot is the kid and his dog roaming about and then hooking up with this chick who is trying to lure Don underground (where the "normal" folk live) to impregnate all their women. C'mon. Tell me that doesn't sound like a great movie. Underground is creepy as hell, and apparently the good guys in the future will listen to recipes, Almanac reports and Paul Harvey-types.
It's another one of those Stand deals, where, if that is gonna be the future, then I hope I'm right at Ground Zero. But I'll prolly still hold out and maybe I can hook up with the cool future cliques, like in Future Kill. (I'm sure DEVO will be there).
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
There were a lot of post-nuclear-apocalypse type movies in the 1970s, not surprising considering the politics of the time, but "A Boy And His Dog" is quite different. In a crazy way, this film tries to be both a sex comedy and a bleak "Mad Max"-style action film at the same time, as Don Johnson and his telepathic dog search the post-World War IV desert in search of women.

It's strangely captivating, and for a 1974 film it is *incredibly* dark. It is very thought-provoking in terms of mysogyny, and human attitudes towards women and breeding. It is a very bold film that will definitely give you food for thought, especially in the final scenes. If you're a woman you may find some scenes extremely uncomfortable, even by today's standards.

There are plenty of twists and turns. Halfway through the movie you suddenly find yourself in an underground community strangely similar to the TV series "The Prisoner" or some of the absurd 60s movies like "Head".

It is NOT a high-budget movie- some of the explosions do look a little on the cheap side, but it doesn't really matter. It is NOT a horror movie, though there is some gore. It is DEFINITELY NOT an erotic movie, although there is some nudity. The original story is the key.

Yes it may have dated a little and it may look a bit thin in places, but if you can put up with that, it's really very good.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2015
I really enjoyed this flick, everything about this film works perfectly. The story is peculiar and a little wacky but I think that's a big part of its charm. Don't miss out on this true cult classic because it really does meet all expectations when it comes to post apocalyptic movies.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)