Start reading Bottleneck (DC Scott Cullen Crime Series Book 5) on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.
OR
Read for free
with Kindle Unlimited

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available
 

Bottleneck (DC Scott Cullen Crime Series Book 5) [Kindle Edition]

Ed James
4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (170 customer reviews)

Kindle Price: £2.99 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
 
Kindle Unlimited Read this title for £0.00 and get unlimited access to over 700,000 titles. Learn More
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Kindle Daily Deal
Kindle Daily Deal: Up to 70% off
Each day we unveil a new book deal at a specially discounted price--for that day only. Learn more about the Kindle Daily Deal or sign up for the Kindle Daily Deal Newsletter to receive free e-mail notifications about each day's deal.

Book Description

‘Classic Scottish noir: bad food, bad moods, too much booze and tight plots’ @ey0k1, Twitter

‘The best yet’ Amazon five-star review

Perfect for fans of Ian Rankin, Ed McBain and Christopher Brookmyre, Bottleneck sees the return of Acting Detective Sergeant Scott Cullen, in the gritty and hard-hitting Scottish police procedural series that has set the bestseller charts alight.

Things are finally going well for ADS Scott Cullen. He’s just moved in with his girlfriend and, thanks to a merger at work, the promotion he craves is almost in reach. Just so long as he can keep out of trouble…

Then the severely decomposed body of a man is found amid the labyrinthine alleyways of Edinburgh’s Old Town; he has a screwdriver through his heart. The investigation leads Scott to unsettled scores in the music industry, where bands and their bitter rivalries might just have turned murderous.

Suddenly things aren’t looking so good. Cullen’s relationship takes an alarming turn, just as the unsolved case begins to weigh heavily on him. Scott’s maverick tactics have helped him in the past, but will they come back to haunt him – and put others in danger?

‘Loved, loved, loved this book’ Annie, Amazon five-star review

‘Plenty of police, plenty of procedure! A brilliant story of detection, politicking and a bit of the relationship stuff rolled up beautifully into this exciting and readable book’ PC Jameson, Amazon five-star review

‘Ed does a superb job of holding his audience with some real gritty stories’ Alan Chapman, Amazon five-star review

‘From the very first page to the very last page you are hooked’ Lynsey, Amazon five-star review

‘Thrilling’ Brian Norman, Amazon five-star review

‘It has all of the qualities of a Rankin or Rebus novel but with a fresh approach to the seamier side of Scotland’s great cities’ Chevin, Amazon five-star review

Books In This Series (6 Books)
Complete Series

  • Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

    Page of Start over
    This shopping feature will continue to load items. In order to navigate out of this carousel please use your heading shortcut key to navigate to the next or previous heading.

    Product details


    More About the Author

    Ed James is the author of the self-published Scott Cullen series of Scottish police procedurals, featuring a young Edinburgh Detective Constable investigating crimes from the bottom rung of the career ladder he's desperate to climb. The first book, "Ghost in the Machine", has been downloaded over 400,000 times, hitting the Amazon UK top five and US top 50.

    Ed's next novel is "Snared", starring Dundee DS Vicky Dodds, published by Thomas & Mercer in 2015.

    In order to write full-time, Ed gave up a lucrative career in IT project management, where he filled his weekly commute to London by writing on planes, trains, and automobiles, managing to complete three full-length novels in just seven months. He lives in East Lothian, Scotland.


    Customer Reviews

    Most Helpful Customer Reviews
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5.0 out of 5 stars Sundance does it again 15 Jan. 2015
    Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
    Plenty of police, plenty of procedure! A brilliant story of detection, politicking and a bit of the relationship stuff rolled up beautifully into this exciting and readable book. Like Rankin the author sets his story for the most part in real places ( with the exception of Dalhousie, but I expect he has his reasons for this.) I love to follow stories on a map but I could not locate Dalhousie or an equivalent! The reorganisation of the Scottish police forces is not just a bit of contemporary referencing but a key part of the story. I couldn't wait to see if Scott would be promoted. I would describe Ed James as the closest to Ian Rankin yet. I felt so much at home with the references to St. Leonards, Fettes, Marchmont etc. Though James has set his story in a more 21st century social and moral context with social networking e- mailing and i phones; sort of Rankin updated but none the worse for that. Do read these stories from the beginning of the series to get the most out of them, though this is the best so far.
    Comment | 
    Was this review helpful to you?
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, this series just gets better 26 Mar. 2014
    By Annie
    Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
    Loved, loved, loved this book. Couldn't put it down and was a brilliant follow on from previous books. Am now reading all previous books again. Looking forward to next one.
    Comment | 
    Was this review helpful to you?
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    5.0 out of 5 stars really good read! 17 Mar. 2014
    Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
    I had a huge problem putting this book down and in fact read it over the course of 2 days. I am a fan of Cullen and this latest book did not disappoint. I have no hesitation in recommending this book and If you have not read any Cullen books, I suggest you read the series in order so that you can really enjoy the Cullen charm. Once again, Well done ED James! Thank you.
    Comment | 
    Was this review helpful to you?
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    4.0 out of 5 stars I now look like the main protagonist 7 Sept. 2014
    Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
    Just finished this in the early hours, as i literally felt compelled to keep going to the end to find out what happened to the main characters. I now look like the main protagonist, short of sleep and cranky!
    Excellent plot with many twists and turns. I hope you can keep writing these as I'd like to know how the main characters develop.
    Comment | 
    Was this review helpful to you?
    5.0 out of 5 stars Take Me Home 18 April 2015
    By orksinc
    Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
    I only recently discovered Ed James' Scott Cullen books, but I'm so glad I did. They are all well written and, for me, take me back to my Edinburgh roots. I know some locations are fictional, but in general I'm following the characters around the city and feeling I'm there. The non-detection parts of the characters' lives add to the feeling that the reader is part of the team, watching how the lives of those around them develop. Cullen's character develops believably as the stories progress. The writing style is simple and down to earth and makes it so easy just to read and be there with the team - and Scott being a Cowboy - through each story. Love them and can't wait for the next Cullen. I've also got Snared on pre-order. I'm not going to review each story - other reviews do that - but just want to recommend this author and these books to anyone who (a) loves Tartan Noir, (b) comes from or knows Edinburgh and the Lothians and (c) wants to champion new, or relatively new, authors.
    Comment | 
    Was this review helpful to you?
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5.0 out of 5 stars Great Series - Scott Cullen 7 Nov. 2014
    By AliL
    Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
    Great series. Only found this author by accident on my Kindle, so glad I did. I have now read and enjoyed all 5 Scott Cullen police stories. With each book the characters have become more rounded and the storylines have kept me hooked. Going to download Windchill the next book in series. Hope Ed James is working on a few more...
    Comment | 
    Was this review helpful to you?
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
    Ed Harris's stories just get better and better. Anyone who has read any of the preceding adventures of Scott Cullen will not be disappointed with this latest addition. There is an assured maturity in his writing style that delivers a compelling and addictive novel that you will not be able to put down.
    Comment | 
    Was this review helpful to you?
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5.0 out of 5 stars Another winner. 25 Mar. 2014
    Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
    Scott is forced to make a "grown up" decision about his private life, while dealing with the usual frustrations of his working life. I won't say how he gets on, so you'll have to read it. In between, there are some great passages of banter between mates as he works on a very frustrating case - or cases.

    In SCM 3 I wrote an Amazon review that included a thought about Scott's nemesis. Well...

    Another great read. And the good news is that SCM 6 is on the way.
    Comment | 
    Was this review helpful to you?
    Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
    Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know

    Customer Discussions

    This product's forum
    Discussion Replies Latest Post
    No discussions yet

    Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
    Start a new discussion
    Topic:
    First post:
    Prompts for sign-in
     

    Search Customer Discussions
    Search all Amazon discussions
       


    Look for similar items by category