Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars14
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 May 2007
This is their best release as far as i'm concerned. Only slightly better than 'Hello Rockview'.

Notable songs worth making a big fuss over in particular are:

'Kehoe': Best LTJ song in my opinion. Noone agrees, but it's so catchy.

'Suburban Myth': Just brilliant..

'Gainesville Rock City': Monumental. Short and sweet.

'Malt Liquor...': Another classic.

'Bad Scene and a Basement Show': Are you getting the picture?

'1989': LTJ's second greatest song for me. And it's the year I was born.

'Last Hour of the Last Day of Work': Always sounds so familiar, but it's their song, and it's a blinder.

The tracks that weren't mentioned, they're all great too, hence the five stars.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2008
LTJ are one of my all time favourite bands, and have been a joy to listen to over the past years. After listening to all their records from Pezcore to the new GNVFLA, the progression is interesting to note.
They started out extremely raw and spontaneous, and have gradually become more and more accessible (to the point of the sickly sweet sound production of 'In With The Out Crowd' BLEUGH).
I consider this album to be not only the middle ground in terms of time, but also in their sound. It's the perfect balance of their distinctive sound and familiar song topics, without being either too polished, or too raw (though, I do like my music raw ;)

The entire album feels like one big story of events in LTJ's lives, which is how it should be, and their aren't really any duff tracks on here either. Even the ones that you probably don't like as much you will still listen to because they work so well in the album. Okay, there are days when I can sit and yap my head off about how fantastic 'Hello Rockview', 'Losing Streak' or 'Anthem' are.. but in my heart of hearts, this album will stay my favourite.
LTJ at their finest.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2003
This album is truly a masterpiece. It might alienate those fans that have followed less than jake for a long time, cos this album almost completely abandons LTJ's ska origins, instead delivering a much more (mainstream) punky sound. It seems however a natural progression on from 'hello rockview' for the band. However there is one thing that is most definitely still the same: the infectious trombone/trumpet/saxophone riffs that wil have you singing along in no time...track 1 is pretty indicative of what you can expect from the album: cool bass lines, some excellent guitar work, those catchy brass bits and good vocals (the constrasting vocals of the two lead singers works well throughout the album; one a gruff, harsh sounding voice, the other almost childlike in its...er, softness). Standout tracks include 'look what happened', 'gainesville rock city', 'pete jackson is getting married' and 'last hour of the last day of work'. I recommend this to fans of 'hello rockview', and bands like home grown, blink-182, fenix tx etc. who are looking for something a little bit different.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2002
This is probably one of the best (if not the best ) LTJ album gainesville rock city is the best song on the album with some cool guitar riffs and classic less than jake trombone . Its only competitor for best album is hello rockview.
10 out of 10
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2001
Less Than Jake are my favorite band. All there other albums, for example "Hello Rockview" are full of jolly ska but in this album i dunno what they were thinking. I am not trying to put you off buying it, beacuse it's still good but its a bit of a dissapoint ment to me as i have seen them 12 times live and i love every song. Track 1 - Magnetic North is good with some cool guitar riffs and some fast trumbone playing. Track 8 - Malt Liquoir Takes Better .... has a good uptown beat and you cant get it out you head. Overall its a good album but i prefear there older stuff.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2001
if you're a hard-core punk i dont reccomend it, however it has some catchy tunes, especially malt liquor tastes better when you're got problems, and look what happened is somewhat anthemic. they're slick tunes, no mess and good speed, but nothing hard or gritty. i think its a greta album, lost some of the ska from their earlier stuff but still good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2001
Amazing album less SKA guitar, but still very good, i like the saxaphone and the trombones.
Standout tracks are kehoe, magnetic north and on this version u get 7 extra live tracks on the end which are all great inc help save the youth of america from exploding
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2003
I already own Hello Rockview and Losing Streak and i think they are really cool albums but Borders and Boundaries is the best Less than Jake album i have heard. It is full of all the bits of Less than Jake that still made them at the top of the ska scene like cool guitar riffs and the excellent use of brass instruments.
One of my favourite songs off of the album is 'Mr. Chevy Celebrity'- a really cool song about a boy called Mark Cruce with a really good flowing tune. Gainesville Rock City is just a brilliant song. Also 'Malt Liquor Tastes Better When You've Got Problems', 'Kehoe' and '1989' (listen to the ace intro to this song) are great songs in their own right. The live tracks are cool too.
If you want to get into Less than Jake buy this album!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2006
Well, what we have here, is my favourite album of all time ever, full stop.
If you are considering purchasing this, let me say one thing:
1. Buy it!
If you actually are purchasing this, let me say two things:
1. Bravo, you will not be disappointed.
2. Make sure, before you press play for the first time, that there is nothing important you need to do in the next 45-50 minutes because once it's started, you will be hooked.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2004
'Borders and Boundaries' was my first less than jake album, and ever since not much can compare!! From the very first track, with the great mix of vocal sounds and brass riffs, creates an impression for the rest of the album. Very different from albums like 'hello rockville' and 'losing streak', this albums not as heavy as earlier albums but definaltely delivers the goods. From 'Gainesville Rock City' a lively 'feel good' tune in my opinion, to 'last hour of the day of work' every song on this album is great to listen to whenever. I was lucky enough to go and see them live a few weeks ago,a trully amazing experience that i would recommend to everyone!!To show how good this album is, i need a new one cos mine is scratched to bits!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£14.98
£9.98

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)