Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars15
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
5
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 June 2009
To anyone interested in war history this is a great read. Living in Suffolk local interest obviously played a great part in purchasing this item, as it is possible to locate the remains of quite a few of the bases mentioned within the covers. It almost makes the reading of the book three dimensional. My father in law flew Lancasters in Bomber Command during WWII but even he used to say the yanks were either very brave or very stupid to fly the way they did in tight formation in daylight, this book gives a very close insight into the kind of hazards and fears they faced, and a lot more. I can't fault it and would recommend anyone to further purchase the DVD of 'The Memphis Belle'through Amazon. Not the feature film (which was war film pulp.) but the documentary made by William Wilder during the war in 16mm film. This book plus Wilders documentary gives a pretty accurate description of what the US airmen in England during the war went through.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2009
A well written book from this respected aviation author. It gives an excellent overview of the Bases and operations of the 3rd Air Division based in Suffolk and Norfolk. A must for those who love visiting old airfields. Highly recommended.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2013
Another of Martin Bowman's excellent books on wartime aviation history converted to Kindle,this one is a "must have" for anybody's collection!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2013
excellently researched book- great read and was somewhat sorry when i finished it. Will try to visit some of the bases
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2013
a lot of information in this book with nice personal touches. Well worth the read and worked well on the Kindle
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2013
Many interesting and most humbling anecdotes relating to horrendous losses by USAAF. This is a fine work and I commend it to avid WW2 researchers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2014
It was very true to what seemed to have happened and made a very enjoyable reading of the account during the war
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2015
It was well done but it should have contained more narrative rather than all factual
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2014
I should have noted the title more carefully – 3rd Air Division. So the book does not include 8th Air force bases such as Nuthampstead (I lived close to the old airfield) and Tibenham (used to fly gliders from there). Nevertheless, it did bring back childhood memories of the huge formations of B17s that would assemble over East Anglia where I lived in the early 1940s. It was sights like that (as a child I was hardly aware of the huge dangers involved) which inspired me to become a pilot. I subsequently enjoyed 40 years as a professional pilot. Ironically, my very last flight as an airline pilot was to Frankfurt and back.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2015
Typical Martin Bowman. Informative and well writen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)