The Bollywood Brothers has been added to your Basket
+ £1.26 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by zoverstocks
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Buy with confidence from a huge UK seller with over 3 million feedback ratings, all items despatched next day directly from the UK. All items are quality guaranteed.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • The Bollywood Brothers
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available

The Bollywood Brothers Soundtrack

Price: £18.70 & FREE Delivery in the UK. Details
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
12 new from £10.30 3 used from £6.34
£18.70 & FREE Delivery in the UK. Details Only 2 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Product details

  • Audio CD (18 Dec. 2008)
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Format: Soundtrack
  • Label: Saregama
  • ASIN: B0015XIDZU
  • Other Editions: MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 538,542 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Disc: 1
1. Aye Naujawan Sab Kuchh Yahan (Hey Young Man, It's All Here) - Asha Bhosle - Asha Bhosle
2. Khaike Paan Banaraswala (Chewing Paan From Benares) - Kishore Kumar - Kishore Kumar
3. Yeh Mera Dil Yaar Ka Diwana (My Heart Is Mad For My Lover) - Asha Bhosle - Asha Bhosle
4. Pyar Zindagi Hai (Love Is Life) - Lata Mangeshkar - Lata Mangeshkar
5. O Saathi Re (Oh, My Companion) - Asha Bhosle - Asha Bhosle
6. Yeh Time Time Ki Baat Hai (Its All About Time) - Asha Bhosle & Chorus - Asha Bhosle & Chorus
7. Been Music From Nagin - Ravi - Ravi
8. Jeevan Se Bhari Teri Aankhen (Your Eyes, Full Of Life) - Kishore Kumar - Kishore Kumar
9. Cabaret Dance Music From Dharmatma - Kalyanji Anandji - Kalyanji Anandji
10. Yeh Sama, Sama Hai Yeh Pyar Ka (This Season Is The Season For Love) - Lata Mangeshkar - Lata Mangeshkar
See all 13 tracks on this disc
Disc: 2
1. Oh Mr. Jolly, Mera Naam Hai Miss Dolly (Oh Mr. Jolly, My Name Is Miss Dolly) - Asha Bhosle - Asha Bhosle
2. Instrumental Music From Rafoo Chakkar - Kalyanji Anandji - Kalyanji Anandji
3. Yari Hai Imaan Mera (Friendship Is My Way Of Life) - Manna Dey - Manna Dey
4. Main To Bhool Chali Babul Ka Des (I've Forgotten My Father's Land) - Lata Mangeshkar - Lata Mangeshkar
5. Dum Dum Diga Diga - Mukesh - Mukesh
6. Title Music From Bluffmaster - Kalyanji Anandji - Kalyanji Anandji
7. Mere Desh Ki Dharti (My Country's Earth) - Mahendra Kapoor - Mahendra Kapoor
8. Theme Music From Kashish - Kalyanji Anandji - Kalyanji Anandji
9. Nain Milaakar Chain Churana (Your Eyes Have Dazzled Me) - Mohd. Rafi - Mohd. Rafi
10. Theme Music (African Dance) From Aamne Saamne - Kalyanji Anandji - Kalyanji Anandji
See all 14 tracks on this disc

Product Description

Product Description

Kalyanji Virji Shah and his brother Anandji - collectively known as Kalyanji Anandji - were two of the most unlikely Bollywood composers you could imagine. Relaxed and laid-back in person, their music was vital and exuberant. From scoring some of Hindi cinema's most iconic soundtracks, to a string of 'exploitation' movies in the 70s where a crazed psychedelia mixed with jazz, funk and wah-wah guitars, they always made their own unique mark.

Their story began in 1954 when older brother, Kalyanji, imported one of the first claviolins - in some ways an early version of a synthesiser - into India and managed to play it on the soundtrack of hit movie 'Nagin' (snake). There it imitated the sound of a snake-charmer's been and gave Kalyanji entry to other commissions. After a brief period composing alone he was joined by younger-brother Anandji and they very quickly established themselves as the ones to watch. In 1970 they composed music for 8 films - all of them hits.

Today their work has been sampled or remixed with worldwide success by artists as diverse as the Black Eyed Peas, Bally Sagoo or cult DJ, Dan The Automator. In fact, the Black Eyed Peas used not just one, but two Kalyanji Anandji tracks ("Aye Naujawan Sab Kuchh Yahan" and "Yeh Mera Dil Yaar Ka Diwana" both included here) for their single: "Don't Phunk With My Heart" which went on to win a Grammy in 2006. Dan the Automator was even more blatant, simply stringing together a bunch of Kalyanji Anandji tracks, twiddling a few knobs and then claiming the credit.

These 2CDs contain the originals, they tell the story and reveal the manic creativity of Kalyanji Anandji: two true Bollywood brothers.

Also contains comprehensive liner notes that give full background and context to the music, people and times.


Having brought us an extraordinary disc of the music of Ananda Shankar, Saregama have once again delved into the archives to unearth some more splendid 1970s kitsch. Four figures dominated the Bollywood of the early 70s: the great music directors Shankarsingh Raghuwanshi and Jaikishan Dayabhai Panchal; and the two brothers Anandji and Kalyanji Virji Shah. Their joyous and unashamed eclecticism plundered scores from blaxploitation movies such as Shaft as well as Latin jazz and the spaghetti westerns of Ennio Morricone. It was all topped off with the well-established Bollywood vocal style to produce some of the most wonderfully brash and exuberant songs ever written. All their greatest hits are here, including Kalyanji's amazing early use of electronic keyboard on `Been Music', from the 1954 film Nagin. Performed by a star list of singers, including Lata Mangeshkar, Asha Bhosle and Mohammad Rafi, the songs are truly evocative of their time, and for lovers of Bollywood there are some real treats here. Among the very best are Mukesh singing `Dum Dum Diga Diga' and Lata in full flight on `Yeh Sama, Sama Hai Yeh Pyar Ka'. Perhaps best of all, however, are two from Asha Bhosle: `Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star' and the improbable but incomparable `Oh Mr Jolly, Mera Naam Hai Miss Dolly'.
Maria Lord -- Songlines magazine, June 2008 issue (#52)

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

By Lazaru the 1st on 14 May 2013
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
the best that these guys have to offer, slick packaging and liner notes, awesome selection, my favourite tunes and a bargain price
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions

Look for similar items by category