FREE Delivery in the UK.
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we dispatch the item.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
Blood Ties has been added to your Basket
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by the book house
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: This item will be picked, packed and shipped by Amazon and is eligible for free delivery within the UK
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Blood Ties Hardcover – 5 Apr 2007

3.8 out of 5 stars 44 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
£19.99
£5.99 £0.01
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
£19.99 FREE Delivery in the UK. Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we dispatch the item. Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Special Offers and Product Promotions


  • Watch the author talk about this book in Windows Media Player format: dial-up | broadband.


Frequently Bought Together

  • Blood Ties
  • +
  • Tell-Tale
Total price: £28.98
Buy the selected items together

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.




Product details

  • Hardcover: 384 pages
  • Publisher: Headline (5 April 2007)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0755337328
  • ISBN-13: 978-0755337323
  • Product Dimensions: 15.9 x 24.2 x 3.4 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (44 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 1,585,848 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Samantha Hayes grew up in the West Midlands, left school at sixteen, avoided university and took jobs ranging from being a private detective to barmaid to fruit picker and factory worker. She lived on a kibbutz, and spent time in Australia and the USA, before finally becoming a crime-writer.

Her writing career began when she won a short story competition in 2003. Her novels are family-based psychological thrillers, with the emphasis being on 'real life fiction'. She focuses on current issues, and when she writes, she sets out to make her reader ask, 'What if this happened to me or my family?' With three children of her own, Samantha is well-versed to talk about how the aftershocks of crime impact upon families and communities.

To find out more, visit her website www.samhayes.co.uk

Product Description

Review

'A hard-hitting tale of abduction, prostitution, child abuse, family secrets and betrayal. With a few red herrings scattered around to confuse, a gritty sense of real-life drama and a page-turning compulsion, this is a sort of misery memoir (albeit fiction) mixed with a contemporary saga. It's an area about to expand as the popularity for real life stories of child torment and abuse catch the novelist's imagination' (Sarah Broadhurst, lovereading.co.uk) --This text refers to the Paperback edition.

Book Description

Headline launches the sensational Sam Hayes - a new British talent, destined for bestsellerdom

See all Product Description

Inside This Book

(Learn More)
Browse and search another edition of this book.
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback
I had heard about this new author from a friend who had read 'Blood Ties' on holiday and insisted I try it. I was not disappointed. This is a gritty and disturbing thriller that taps into every Mother's most primal terror...the abduction of an infant. That however, is just the tip of the iceberg. It's an intricate plot with alternating points of view but it's a rewarding journey and the threads are resolved with a twist that I certainly did not anticipate. For me, the strengths of this novel were the believable and interesting characters and its freshness and originality in handling weighty emotional themes. I loved it and can't wait for the next offering from Sam Hayes.
Comment 14 of 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
I picked this book up when I was shopping last weekend, and should have known better, as once I was home and started reading it, I could not put it down- the housework was left completely untouched! The events in Blood Ties and the brilliant writing literally had me pinned to my seat- it's a complete emotional rollercoaster, and you're never quite sure what will happen next. I'd highly reccommend this to anyone.
Comment 12 of 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
I read this book in a matter of days. Its one of those page turners that you just have to keep reading. I found it fantastic and thought the author did so well in putting all the twists and turns into the story without making it confusing. You really could relate and feel for the different people that make up this novel. I will definatly be looking out for other books by this author!!
Comment 8 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
Robert Knight meets and marries Erin very quickly after a traumatic divorce. Feelings of betrayal and mistrust are the legacies he brings with him although he remains optimistic that he'll find the happiness he's searching for second time around.

Erin meets Robert having survived a traumatic childhood and an early adult life blighted by unhappiness and misfortune. She is delighted to meet Robert who offers her and her daughter Ruby a life of unconditional love and security.

The scene should be set for a happy ending. Or so they both think.

But secrets have a way of outing themselves and the offer of a place at a new school for her daughter threatens everything Erin has fought to keep hidden and finds her battling with Robert to keep her new happiness in tact. Robert in turn begins to feel that once again he is being betrayed by the woman he loves and doubts about Erin just won't go away.

And so the secret eats away at both of them. Robert is trying to get at the truth and Erin is trying to keep it hidden. The plot is set against the backdrop of child who went missing from her mother 12 years earlier and who hasn't been seen since. It's further complicated by the appearance of Louisa, a close friend of Robert's who wants what's best for him and who just happens to be a private investigator. Which is when it all begins to unravel.......

This is a brilliantly paced thriller which is almost all the more disturbing set as it is against the backdrop of normal surburban life. Sam Hayes has done a great job creating characters that you find yourself liking and empathising with.
Comment 4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By Michelle Moore TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on 1 April 2008
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
This is an absolutely gripping thriller, which I found hard to put down. The various parts of the story are gradually unwrapped, until they all come together.. but probably not in the way you expect.

There is an interesting mix of characters in this book, all with their own story to tell, and all lifelike and believable.. I found myself involved with each and every one, concerned for their outcome.

The strands of the story are told from the viewpoint of these characters, combining present and past, culminating in a satisfying finale.

A fast-paced thriller, that will stay with you after you finish.
Comment 2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This is one of the best thrillers I have read. Gripping the reader from the outset, the story centres around Robert, his new wife, Erin, and his step-daughter, Ruby. Jumping back and forth in time and between first and third person as it does so, the book is incredibly well written and convinces in both types of voice.

This is a gritty book and deals with some quite disturbing topics, including various forms of abuse. Never gratuitous, it is used powerfully and terrifyingly.

Sam Hayes is incredibly talented at incorporating twists into her books and although I knew that twists were coming, I couldn't guess exactly what they would be. The author makes extremely good use of the first person to deceive and confuse the reader. You can never be certain whether the first person narrator is telling the complete truth, whether there is an agenda or whether the narrator is even deceiving him/herself.

I would particularly recommend this book for readers of Elizabeth Haynes, Claire Seeber, Linwood Barclay and Rachel Abbott.
Comment 1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By sonia on 13 April 2014
Format: Paperback
I was initially going to give this 2 stars, but because the beginning was quite interesting and I actually finished it, I decided to up it a star. My main dislike in the book was Louisa. To me she was a complete waste of space as an investigator. She was supposed to be at the top of her profession, yet she did less to help the search than anybody in the street with a computer could have done. All she did was feed Robert platitudes and voice her relunctance to helping him. This would have been okay, except he was paying her a fortune and putting her up in a good hotel. Also, their relationship didn't wash. At the beginning, it was implied they had feelings for each other. This was never developed. They might as well have been brother and sister.
Like another reviewer said; Robert was too whiney.
Lastly, I had difficulty in making sense of the final chapters, they were just too convoluted for me.
Comment 1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Look for similar items by category


Feedback