Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Up to 70% off Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop Amazon Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire HD 6 Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now
Buy Used
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Good | Details
Sold by outbooks
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Our goal with every sale is customer satisfaction, so please buy with confidence. Every order is shipped the same day or the next day. This is a used book in good condition and may show some signs of use or wear. We are a trusted and reliable US seller for over 10 years. All orders processed and shipped within 2 business days, normally same or next business day. Estimated delivery time from the US is 2-3 weeks. We appreciate your business.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Bleak Seasons: The Sixth Chronicle of the Black Company (Glittering Stone/Glen Cook, Bk 1) Hardcover – Apr 1996

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
"Please retry"
£10.00 £1.22

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Save £20 on with the aqua Classic card. Get an initial credit line of £250-£1,200 and build your credit rating. Representative 32.9% APR (variable). Subject to term and conditions. Learn more.

Product details

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) 4 reviews
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
This series should be bigger than the Wheel Of Time! 7 Aug. 1997
By A Customer - Published on
Format: Hardcover
An excellent read, though it might be confusing if you haven't read the rest of the Black Company series. No all-powerful characters. Characters you can relate to on some level. This isn't some flowery fantasy ala Eddings. It can be brutal. There is no definite line between Good and Evil...just like in our reality.

An excellent series...get them all:
The Black Company / Shadows Linger / The White Rose / The Silver Spike / Shadow Games / Dreams Of Steel / Bleak Seasons / She Is The Darkness (to be released Fall 1997)
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Bleak Seasons 10 July 2003
By A Customer - Published on
Format: Hardcover
Murgen has seizures in which he experiences memories of the horrible siege of Dejagore. In addition, he uses the comatose wizard Smoke as a source of clairvoyant information.
Whoa. Trippy.
I've heard some readers suggest that this was where they felt the series started to degenerate, but I liked this volume better than any others since the first one. It was dramatic and character-driven. Although much of it recaps the events of the book immediately before it in the series, it's from a very different point of view. When we finally get to the "now" moment, it's powerful. The inventive structure even includes some direct-address second person exposition-- and it works wonderfully.
It is, admittedly, confusing and disjointed at times.
I'm not sure how I feel about what Cook has done with cultures in this series. He's got his pseudo-cult of Kali, and now the Nyeung Bao, a pseudo-Vietnamese ethniticy. On one hand I like his use of non-Western images and ideas, but on the other hand I think there's a bit of exoticism going on, and I'm not sure I wouldn't prefer completely invented societies.
Overall, I think this book, in its different structure and emphasis, gives the series a new spark of life. It deepens our understanding of several characters, while maintaining the straightforward tone and grey morality that are the series' hallmarks.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
An excellent book for those who have read its predecessors. 20 Oct. 1996
By A Customer - Published on
Format: Hardcover
For fans of Glen Cook's "Black Company" books, "Bleak Seasons" will be a treat. As he did previously in his "Dread Empire" saga, Mr. Cook spends an entire book giving the reader an alternate view of events already related earlier in the series. This means, however, that anyone not familiar with the history of the plot will be completely, utterly and hopelessly lost. If this is the reader's first exposure to Glen Cook, the best advice is for them to gently return the book to its place, to be sought out later when it will make more sense. The previous books of the Black Company, all noted in's catalog, should be read first. At the very least, the first two Books of the South ("Shadow Games" and "Dreams of Steel") are required in order to make sense of this book. For those who have read and enjoyed those, however, this book can be highly recommended
It opened my eyes. 3 July 1999
By A Customer - Published on
Format: Hardcover
The characters were so funny and interesting. I have read about 30 TSR books, but The Black Company are something else! I have grown tired of shallow characters and bad plots. These books are like fantasy books should be, funny and adventourous, not just bad wizards hurling battlespells. Read them!!!!!!
Were these reviews helpful? Let us know

Look for similar items by category