Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars23
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£2.63
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 August 2012
James Clarke really does know the art of humour! I have never come across someone who has such incredible wit - this book really tickled me! It is also so encouraging to see a group of mainly retired gentlemen embarking on such fantastic adventures across Europe.. I thoroughly enjoyed this.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2013
Writing from a solo cyclist's point of view,I found the book irritatingly group
orientated at times.There were so many characters floating around that it was hard
to keep up,and distracted from the story somewhat.Having read a number of solo cycling travelogues such as Josie Dew and Anne Mustoe, the sheer dynamics of undertaking an expedition is vastly different.Priorities for example are turned on their heads when finding a meal or a bed for the night is efficiently organised in advance, thus detracting from the unpredictability of cycling with all its delicious risks.
When travelling alone with no vast backup team to bail you out,at least you can stop at a whim, without having to hold a major meeting to discuss.The very idea of having your luggage transported for you is surely for softies, who prefer to stay in posh hotels and eat in expensive retaurants every night.Not to mention the vast quantities of alcohol they were consuming at every turn.Its a wonder they managed to do any cycling at all.Well written of course but cycling style not for me.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2013
James Clarke, author of “Blazing Bicycle Saddles”, has a blog at [...] Attempting to access one of his more recent articles, I was taken directly to “Gratis Verschenken”, (“Free Gifts” or, literally, “Free Giving Away”), a site in German for giving away unwanted possessions of almost any description. Could this, I wondered, be another example of Clarke’s gentle humour?

Born in London and educated in Staffordshire, Clarke confesses to having been addicted to “Punch”, “Private Eye” and the works of Perelman, Thurber, Leacock, Wodehouse and Jerome K Jerome, which gives a good idea of his literary style. Looking like the twinkle-eyed favourite uncle most would like to have, for upwards of thirty years Clarke was a serious newspaper journalist and science writer specialising in environmental matters before developing another career as a humourist, exemplified by “Blazing Bicycle Saddles”.

The book recounts six gentle “coarse cycling” expeditions (the “Tours de Farce”) on which, between 2002 and 2007, Clarke led five retired South Africans down the Danube and the Thames and through parts of France, Italy and Ireland in search of the curious customs of the natives. At least four more similar, as yet unpublished, expeditions followed.

As befits his former profession(s), Clarke writes extremely well, graphically depicting his surroundings, lightly teasing his companions and injecting gentle humour into almost every paragraph. Whether or not you currently cycle, or the book enthuses you to start again, whatever your age, “Blazing Bicycle Saddles” is well worth reading, especially by more mature “Peter Pans” and has drawn me to reading more of James Clarke’s humourous and serious books.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2013
Enjoyed reading this book very much. It lets you experience the lure of independent travel from your armchair. Reccomend to anyone
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2013
Very funny story of a group of 60+ aged recreational cyclists on various tours through Europe. Very entertaining, well written and strangely inspiring.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2014
Really enjoyed reading this, although it wasn't quite what I expected. I knew it was a travel memoir for a group of men who were aged between 50 and 70, who went to Europe and cycled along the river Danube. But this was just the first trip. They also completed trips in France, Italy and Ireland (and others). The disappointment for me was that I was expecting the Danube trip to be the complete book and I would have liked more detail on this - it sounds fantastic and maybe something I would consider myself in the future. Having said that, the whole book is very much worth reading. It is very well written - partly, I suspect, because the author has worked in journalism - it's intelligent, informative and full of humour, without being silly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2014
I enjoyed the trip which the book provided my mind's eye...

Knowing the author as a Newspaper Columnist for decades and understand his self deprecating humor which is once again evident and well harnessed in this book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2012
An excellent and amusing, page-turning romp, proving you're never to old to tackle adventure, have too much fun, or be afraid of your wives.

This book is a real delight and very funny indeed. Buy it!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2013
Love this book and the author. Definitely worth the read - even for those not interested in cycling. Its all about the adventure. Excellent humour.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2013
One of the best and funniest books I have read for a long long time ..I will be reading it again very shortly of this I am sure..
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)