Start reading Black Sea Affair on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.
Black Sea Affair
 
 

Black Sea Affair [Kindle Edition]

Don Brown

Print List Price: £9.50
Kindle Price: £6.49 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: £3.01 (32%)
This price was set by the publisher
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £6.49  
Paperback £9.50  
Audio Download, Unabridged £8.90 or Free with Audible.co.uk 30-day free trial
Kindle Daily Deal
Kindle Daily Deal: At least 60% off
Each day we unveil a new book deal at a specially discounted price--for that day only. Learn more about the Kindle Daily Deal or sign up for the Kindle Daily Deal Newsletter to receive free e-mail notifications about each day's deal.


Product Description

Product Description

As the U.S. Navy searches for weapons-grade plutonium that has been smuggled by terrorists out of Russia, a submarine mishap in the Black Sea brings the United States and Russia to the brink of nuclear war. It is a race against the clock, with Russian missiles activated and programmed for American cities.

Synopsis

Ita??s a mission that could bring the world to the brink of nuclear war. Now time is running out. It starts with a high-stakes theft: weapons-grade plutonium is stolen from Russia. The Russian army is about to attack Chechnya to get it back. But U.S. intelligence discovers that the stolen shipment is actually on a rogue Russian freighter in the Black Sea. It turns into a global nightmare: a secret mission gone awry; an American submarine commander arrested and hauled before a military tribunal in Moscow; and a game of brinksmanship so dangerous that war might be its only possible conclusion. As the U.S. Navy searches for weapons-grade plutonium that has been smuggled out of Russia by terrorists, a submarine mishap escalates the international crisis. With the world watching, JAG Officer Zack Brewer is called to Moscow to defend submarine skipper Pete Miranda and his entire crew. It is a heart-stopping race against the clock. With Russian missiles activated and programmed for American cities, Brewer stalls for time as the U.S. Navy frantically searches the high seas for a floating hydrogen bomb that could threaten New York Harbor.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1217 KB
  • Print Length: 336 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Up to 5 simultaneous devices, per publisher limits
  • Publisher: Zondervan (26 May 2009)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B000SK2FUK
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #398,282 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.co.uk.
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 3.2 out of 5 stars  40 reviews
25 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Superb Military Thriller 16 Nov 2008
By S. Peek - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
There is no pause in the action in this latest thriller from Don Brown. The author, who is a former Navy JAG officer, created a story that will keep readers on the edge of their seats throughout.

It centers around a batch of plutonium stolen from the Russians that ends up in the hands of Chechnyan terrorists. Submarine commander Pete Miranda and his volunteer crew are tasked with destroying the ship carrying it. One huge catch is the location of the freighter. It is in an area that will render escape virtually impossible for the sub's crew. I won't give any more details on that in the interest of not spoiling it. Suffice it to say, the events occuring in this mission are amazing and harrowing.

This novel will appeal to fans of Tom Clancy, Vince Flynn, and Brad Thor. Don Brown is an amazing author who can write a thriller like those above and also pen a legal yarn like Grisham and Turow. If you have not read any of his books, do yourself a favor and get this one. I would also strongly recommend the following: Treason (Navy Justice, Book 1) Hostage (Navy Justice, Book 2) Defiance (Navy Justice, Book 3)
29 of 41 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Purpose Behind This Book 21 Nov 2009
By Richard - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I enjoyed much of this book, whether or not it had factual errors. Not being a military man I could not comment on these.

However, as I read, I found an obtrusive, out-of-place note sounding a number of times -- little squibs about Christianity popping up here and there. I would not have minded these, and in fact would scarcely have noticed these, if they had been part of tightly woven character depictions. However, they just felt wrong, as though they didn't belong.

[I am adding to this review on 6 December a number of additional comments, which I have enclosed in brackets.

A number of Christian zealots (not to be confused with ordinary Christians) have bought this book as retribution for what they believe must be anti-religious feelings on my part. At least two have contacted me more or less admitting this. What I wanted to bring to people's attention was what seems to me to be a transparent motivation: selling books by assuming a false mantle of religion. The Black Sea Affair seems to me to include an attempt to capitalize on religion and the gullibility of many of the devout.]

[This review is a BOOK review, not a religion review. One novel that legitimately handles devout religion in its characters -- in strong contrast to The Black Sea Affair -- is In-Sight, by Gerard D. Webster. In In-Sight religion is an organic part of characters' backgrounds and personalities, not something slapped on at the last minute to sell books. And if you need another example of a religiously-themed book I greatly like, take a look at Willa Cather's Death Comes for the Archbishop, too.]

[Folks, if you're going to buy The Black Sea Affair because of its little pro-Christianity snippets, which have nothing to do with the real plot, your being played.]

But to continue my original review ----- This is an interesting thriller about evil Muslims trying to blow up a major city with a hydrogen bomb. Evil Muslims, got it ?

I was not surprised as I finished the book to find that it was published by a religious, Christian publishing house. Obviously it was designed not only to amuse us as we read along, but also perhaps to convert us. Once I saw the aim of the publishing house, I knew I had been right in feeling that the little religious snippets I had found here and there were really the excuse for the whole book.

I don't like having religion slipped to me that way, and I wonder if the rest of Brown's novels have the same out-of-place messages.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Suspenseful military thriller 12 Dec 2010
By Debbie - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback
"Black Sea Affair" is a Christian military thriller. It's the fourth in a series, but the connecting character was a very minor character in this book. I didn't need to read the previous books to understand this one.

There were a fairly large number of point-of-view characters from all sides of the conflict, yet the author skillfully maintained uncertainty about several closely timed events involving those characters. The suspense was high from the first page to the last. The suspense was created by physical danger to the characters and the knowledge that their decisions, if wrong, could cause the deaths of thousands.

The characters were varied and interesting enough, but they didn't really "come alive" as real humans. Military details were woven into the story, but I wondered about some of them. Still, I'm not an expert. I liked that maps of the areas being talked about were included.

Some of the characters were Christian and their faith helped them through the tough times (mainly as "he prayed for wisdom" style statements) and, in some cases, helped them make decisions. There was no explicit sex. There was a minor amount of "he cussed" style bad language.
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good read 31 May 2010
By S. Lawhorn - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
I really enjoyed this book and can't wait to read his other works they are well written and kept my attention utill the end well i really wanted more but thats a good thing
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice Read 10 April 2014
By everett whippy - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
An interesting read that holds your attention and builds up in intensity as the story progresses.

Was a pleasant surprise having not read any of Don Brown's work previously
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know

Popular Highlights

 (What's this?)
&quote;
CONTENTS Title Page Copyright Page Acknowledgments Prologue &quote;
Highlighted by 9 Kindle users
&quote;
“Any man who may be asked in this century what he did to make his life worthwhile, can respond with a good deal of pride and satisfaction: ‘I served in the United States Navy.’ ” President John F. Kennedy &quote;
Highlighted by 6 Kindle users
&quote;
Lieutenant Commander Frank Pippen, Pete’s executive officer, &quote;
Highlighted by 5 Kindle users

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Customers Who Highlighted This Item Also Highlighted


Look for similar items by category