Start reading Black Ops: Jungle Kill on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available
 

Black Ops: Jungle Kill [Kindle Edition]

Jim Eldridge
3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (24 customer reviews)

Kindle Price: £3.83 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £3.83  
Paperback --  
Kindle Books Summer Sale
Kindle Summer Sale: Books from 99p
Browse over 600 titles from best-selling authors, including Neil Gaiman, John Grisham, Jeffrey Archer, Veronica Roth and Sylvia Day. >Shop now

Book Description

Thrown out of the SAS, Mitch thought his days as a Special Forces soldier were well and truly over. But when he is approached by an undercover unit embarking on a dangerous mission, he must make a choice.


The Mission: rescue a West African freedom fighter, kidnapped by a gang of ruthless bandits who will stop at nothing to get what they want. The Squad: elite, Black-Ops soldiers – Gaz, Two Moons, Tug, Benny and Nelson – codename, Delta Unit.


Can Mitch secure the trust of the five men, and step back into the battle zone?


Perfect for fans of Andy McNab, Chris Ryan and Robert Muchamore, books for teens don’t come more explosive than Jim Eldridge’s Black Ops.


Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

Page of Start over
This shopping feature will continue to load items. In order to navigate out of this carousel please use your heading shortcut key to navigate to the next or previous heading.

Product Description

Review

"Boys will devour the testosterone-filled, nonstop action and page-turning suspense of this cinematic-like read." --"School Library Journal"

About the Author

Jim Eldridge has seen action all over the world. A former member of sabotage and SAR (Search and Rescue) teams, he now lives under an assumed name somewhere in the UK.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 3796 KB
  • Print Length: 192 pages
  • Publisher: Egmont (1 Jan. 2011)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B004QWZ5IU
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (24 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #196,694 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
3.8 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A pacy lunchtime read 26 Oct. 2011
By Bookie TOP 100 REVIEWER
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I don't normally go for this type of book but I enjoyed it. It's not demanding and will while away a short journey.

There was sufficient about the main characters to understand what makes them tick. The plot was straightforward, but the location detail about the covert nature of the jungle operation gave a real sense of place. I could almost imagine being dropped in the darkness and picture the difficulties encountered. The prose was tight and pacy. On the basis of this read, I'd try another by the same author and may venture further into the SAS genre.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Military Story 4 Nov. 2011
By Mole
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Paul Mitchell is ex-SAS and wants to get back into action to make use of the skills that he has learned over the years. He makes contact with a group who have semi-official backing of the US & UK governments and is sent to West Africa to rescue a former government leader. But on arrival, they find that things are going horribly wrong, and the story covers their experiences and how they deal with the situation.

The story is fast paced and there is an element of detail that makes you feel that the story is based upon some actual experience. However, I also felt that there were a few elements that did not quite ring true and it makes me wonder if the story is just based upon a third hand conversation with someone; there are a couple of sections that just don't seem to be entirely believable.

However, as a story, it is enjoyable, in much the same way that the old "Commando" paperback novels were back in the 60s and 70s. Full of action, it's a bit predictable, but not a bad read.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars Jungle Thrill 22 Nov. 2011
By Apollo
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Ex SAS trooper Paul 'Mitch' Mitchell is in a bad place. Due to an error of judgement in the past he finds himself unable to do what he does best but he sees an opportunity to return to the Special Op's arena when approached by the furtive leader of Delta Unit. The question is, will the team accept him given his past?

Fans of McNab and Ryan will like this read and probably all the more so because it manages to be engaging without indulging in the chest beating nonsense that seems to be prevalent in the books of the two previously mentioned authors. It's a reasonably short read with a simple and straightforward story. If you are expecting a convoluted plot involving the politics of military interventions and the minutiae of military protocol and such then this is not the book for you - it's Boys Own stuff and as such, quite good. It is clear that we are only meeting Delta Unit for the first time as the majority of the tale is given over to the action as opposed to filling out the characters. Something I'm sure that will happen in subsequent books in the series of which I believe three are currently available.

I'm afraid that I have to take issue with the tag-line above under 'About the Author' -

"Jim Eldridge has seen action all over the world. A former member of sabotage and SAR (Search and Rescue) teams, he now lives under an assumed name somewhere in the UK."

I'm willing to bet my house that the Jim Eldridge who wrote this book is the same Jim Eldridge who is a successful childrens author and lives under his real name, which you are at liberty to Google for further information. I include this here because I cannot stand such literary dishonesty in an attempt to sell product.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Short but OK 28 Nov. 2011
By Bob
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
This was a fairly short story with nothing special about the plot however I liked the description of the Jungle and the characters were beginning to develop which I imagine will happen over the rest of the series. However some of the plot without giving anything away was just a bit unbelievable and being a shortish story there was not time to fill in some of the detail.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3.0 out of 5 stars It came up short, but the author has potential 30 Oct. 2011
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I was very interested to read this, (a) knowing someone who is ex-SAS, (b) having some knowledge (albeit limited) of the security services, and (c) having spent time myself in West Africa.

Regrettably, the book came up short for me, and not only in terms of its length. There was a very perfunctory lead-in to the story and almost no development of any of the characters.

Although the basic premise of the plot showed promise, some of it required a big stretch of imagination.

I found some of the situations and descriptions a little clichéd and the dialogue was often comic-book simple (occasionally bordering on puerile).

Mr. Eldridge is no Andy McNab but, in fairness, this wasn't a bad attempt and I'd certainly give him a second chance if he could find time to get to grips with a longer, better researched, and more rounded novel than 'Jungle Kill'.

I got the book for free, but if I'd paid list price for it I'd have felt cheated, because it is quite short.

Unusually for a Kindle novel, the formatting was perfect.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More character development 26 Nov. 2011
By ADP
Format:Kindle Edition
I enjoyed the action-packed story, but regretted its length as I felt there was not enough time for character development. I would like to read a longer story by Jim Eldridge, and am rather hoping that Jungle Kill was just an introduction to the characters and they will be more rounded in future longer novels.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Most Recent Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Ideal
Published 7 months ago by Nigel Kendal-Ward
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars
Easy to follow
Published 12 months ago by keith
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book
I loved this book It was a great read and worth the little money it was.I would recommend it to someone over 8 because some bits are quite gruesome and its swears once or twice
Published 20 months ago by nebillion
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok holiday read
Pacey story line quick read. Not bad for a short time and it kept your interest to the end. I would read another in the series.
Published on 16 July 2013 by Gilly dee
4.0 out of 5 stars Great short story
I dont usually read short stories bur i gave this one a try. It was good because unlike longer books it skipped straight to the action.

Ending seemed a bit rushed
Published on 24 Mar. 2013 by Hhhahahahaha
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book
I love this series and would love to see another
One. Highly recommended for all of those war fiction lovers
Published on 4 Feb. 2013 by Jessica
4.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate early teenaged boys read...
A really well structured story with an insight into the special forces life. I could picture the scenes and characters well and get a view of what it was like to be Mitch during... Read more
Published on 3 Jan. 2013 by FWxAssassin
3.0 out of 5 stars Way To short!
This book could of been so much better if it was not so short! I would describe this as a couple of chapters not a proper novel and personally wouldnt buy the rest of the series
Published on 3 Jan. 2013 by Danny
4.0 out of 5 stars Jungle kill
This book isn't as good as the other books in the trilogy so it only deserves 4 stars I didn't. Like it because it was to short and straight to the point
Published on 31 Dec. 2012 by Joshua
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!
A great intriguing book, from start to finish. Enjoyed every page! A good first book, to start the series! Thanks
Published on 2 Dec. 2012 by Davinia
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category