Biting Cold: A Chicagoland Vampires Novel and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
£6.39
  • RRP: £7.99
  • You Save: £1.60 (20%)
FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £10.
Only 5 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Biting Cold: A Chicagoland Vampires Novel (Chicagoland Vampires Series) Paperback – 9 Aug 2012


See all 9 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
£6.39
£0.99 £0.01

Frequently Bought Together

Biting Cold: A Chicagoland Vampires Novel (Chicagoland Vampires Series) + House Rules: A Chicagoland Vampires Novel (CHICAGOLAND VAMPIRES SERIES) + Drink Deep: A Chicagoland Vampires Novel (Chicagoland Vampires Series)
Price For All Three: £19.17

Buy the selected items together


Product details

  • Paperback: 352 pages
  • Publisher: Gollancz (9 Aug 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0575113421
  • ISBN-13: 978-0575113428
  • Product Dimensions: 12.8 x 2.1 x 19.7 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (27 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 140,977 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Chloe Neill was born in the south of the USA and currently resides in the US Midwest. SOME GIRLS BITE is her debut novel and the first in the Chicagoland Vampires series.

Product Description

Book Description

The sixth entry in Chloe Neill's Chicagoland Vampires series, perfect for fans of Charlaine Harris and Kelley Armstrong.

From the Back Cover

Turned into a vampire against her will, Merit found her way into the dark circle of Chicago's vampire underground, where she learned there was more to supernaturals than met the eye, and more supernaturals than the public ever imagined. And not all the secrets she learned were for sharing - among humans or inhumans.

Now Merit is on the hunt, charging across the stark American Midwest, tailing a rogue supernatural intent on stealing an ancient artefact that could unleash catastrophic evil on the world. But Merit is also the prey. An enemy of Chicagoland is hunting her, and he'll stop at nothing to get the book for himself. No mercy allowed. No rules apply. No lives spared. The race is on.

Praise for the Chicagoland Vampires Novels

'A fun cast of quirky characters and smokin'-hot sexual tension . . . a stunning combination' Tate Hallaway

'Smart, sexy and delightful. A must read' Candace Havens

'Addictive' Romantic Times

ACTION PACKED, FUNNY

[cover of Drink Deep]

978 0 575 11342 8

£7.99


Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt
Search inside this book:

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

7 of 9 people found the following review helpful By Seren Ade HALL OF FAMETOP 50 REVIEWER on 10 Aug 2012
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
'Biting Cold', book 6 in Chloe Neill's 'Chicagoland Vampires' series, picks up immediately where Book 5 Drink Deep: A Chicagoland Vampires Novel (CHICAGOLAND VAMPIRES SERIES) left off. The set-up suggested that we were going to have a change of pace, in the form of a road trip - as well as some alone time for Merit and the newly-resurrected Ethan. I looked forward to this... after the slightly disappointing 'Drink Deep', I was anticipating a bit of time away from the ins and outs of Cadogan House; some relationship-solidifying together-time for Merit and Ethan; to say nothing of the possibility for a shown-down in the ongoing story arc surrounding Mallory's black magic addiction.

Instead, for me it all wound up being a bit of a damp squib. It's not by any means bad - Chloe Neill's style of writing is typically engaging - but it's not as good as some of the earlier entries in the series.

Certain plotlines just seemed to fizzle out altogether or to be overlooked. There's no Red Guard involvement at all. The road trip section is abruptly curtailed - leaving us back facing the ins and outs of vampire House politics. Where Cadogan is once again under investigation by the Greenwich Presidium. And so much for a joyous reunion between Ethan and Merit - whose relationship stutters for really quite contrived reasons throughout most of the book.

This isn't to say that there aren't opportunities for significant story progression in the next book: towards the end, there are a couple of potentially game-changing events...

For me, 3.5/5 (it does irk me that Amazon call anything below 4 stars 'unfavourable': I'm rating it better than average!
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Emma Botarelli on 2 July 2014
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Really happy with this buy, just the book I was after.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Ms J. P. Squire on 15 Mar 2014
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
a fantastic book in the series, I have the whole series & am an avid collector/ reader, I will continue to read these as long as I have eyes in my head!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Sarah (Feeling Fictional) TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on 5 Jan 2014
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Before reading this review please bare in mind that it is practically impossible to review this book without giving a major spoiler for the previous ones (Hard Bitten and Drink Deep in particular) so while this review won't contain spoilers for Biting Cold you may not want to carry on reading if you're not at this point in the series. Having said that I would like to encourage you to give the series a try if you haven't already, it's one of my favourites and I loved jumping back into Merit's world! Look away now if you want to avoid spoilers though.

When I think about how much I love this series I'm amazed it has taken me so long to get around to reading Biting Cold. I don't even have a good excuse considering how thrilled I was by Ethan's return at the end of Drink Deep! I guess the good thing about putting it off is that I already have the next 2 books and a novella ready to start reading though, I hate the delay between series books so they should keep me going for a little while. Bearing in mind it had 2 years since I read Drink Deep I was surprised at how easily Chloe Neill was able to suck me back into her world, I was worried that I'd have forgotten what was going on but she was able to recap enough to remind me of the important things without bogging down the story with too much extra information. It was like catching up with old friends, you know the kind where you can go months without seeing each other but the moment you meet up it's like you were never apart?

Anyway, let's get back to my review! I wasn't too sure what to expect from this book since my friends all seem to either love or hate it but I'm happy to say I really enjoyed it.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Trebor12 on 21 Dec 2013
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Picking up without missing a beat from the last book, I was a little disappointed that I did not feel as engaged by the characters this time around. Still a very enjoyable read as part of the series to date, this one is almost a 'stand alone'.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By knowhowgirl on 20 Dec 2013
Format: Kindle Edition
Brilliant boil just as enthralling as the rest of the series can't wait for the one in February to be released
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Claire's Book Corner on 21 Aug 2012
Format: Kindle Edition
Please be warned that there are spoilers for the earlier books in this review.

Biting Cold picks up immediately where Drink Deep left off with Merit and Ethan on a road trip hunting down Merit's best friend Mallory. Mallory is on a mission to unleash the evil which is contained in the Maleficium, a magical book, in order to ease the pain that she is feeling from Dark Magic and it is up to the two vampires to stop her.

First of all let me say that I love the Chicagoland Vampires, Ethan Sullivan is my number 1 book boyfriend. I love the characters, the world that they live in, the author's writing, basically everything then Ms Neill goes and kills off Ethan in book 4 Hard Bitten. I was absolutely devastated however I actually congratulated Ms Neill for her brave decision. It cannot be easy to kill off one of your main characters. I wondered how the series would progress without my beloved Ethan. Then in book 5 Drink Deep I was coming to terms with Ethan's demise I had hope that Merit could still have a happy future possible with the delectable Jonah then all of a sudden Ethan was brought back to life by Mallory. I was surprised and sort of happy, I mean what did this mean for the series now. I didn't understand the reason for Ms Neill to kill off Ethan in the first place just to bring him back. In my opinion Ethan's death and resurrection just feels a bit pointless and wishy-washy and that is how I found this book to be...a bit pointless and wishy-washy.

Merit is obviously delighted to have Ethan back and I thought their relationship might move on but it doesn't. Ethan still has commitment issues even after 5 books and one death but like in earlier books where as this was exciting with the will they won't they now I found it frustrating and annoying.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Look for similar items by category


Feedback