Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars9
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 November 2010
This is an entry-level guide to vampires in film, folklore and literature. It is a readable guide and covers most of the usual suspects. There are a couple of notable omissions. Unless I missed them. There are also a couple of factual errors. Lucy in "Taste the Blood of Dracula" was played by Linda Hayden- not Isla Blair.

This is not a bad book and, as I say, quite readable. Just don't expect many surprises.
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2009
...in how to make a personal obsession contagious to others. Kevin Jackson knows vampires inside out. He has nimbly marshaled his vast collection of blood-sucking lore from disparate times and cultures and proves himself a witty and insightful guide as he takes readers on an illuminating tour of darkness. Nuggets -- of which there are many -- like the Welsh vampire chair reassure this reader that far from being exhausted by remorseless popular exposure, the vampire theme will continue undead forever. Highly recommended.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2009
This is an excellent, witty and erudite book which covers pretty much all of Vampire lore, from Transylvania to Texas and all points in betweeen. It looks at vampires in folklore and popular culture, literature, psychoanlysis and music. Jackson plainly is steeped in vampires and his amusing asides and terrible puns make the book a joy to read. There is much here for both the teen Goth and also the older reader.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2009
This is a real gem of a book if you are looking for some factual information on the portrayal of vampires in films. It's written in an easy and entertaining style and set out in chapters that makes it simple to access the information you need.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2009
...well, somebody had to say it! A marvellous overview of all things vampiric. Witty , incisive writing and an essential stocking filler for all budding goths and vampire fans this xmas.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2009
Kevin Jackson's _Bite_ (and you really must) restores a reader's confidence in post-Tw***ight vampire literature, standing heads and fangs above other claimants to the title of vampire guide. "Snappily written", as the Spectator puts it, the verve of Jackson's prose is only matched by his erudition. Consider the Bulgarian 'ubour', a vampire with only one nostril and a predilection for emitting sparks at night, and you might be able to guess at the breadth of research that has gone into the making of _Bite_. And that's only on page 9.

In conclusion, and to exploit that gorgeous anthimeric ambiguity for the final time:

_Bite_. Go on.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2009
Blood chillingly terrormendous.....I haven't slept a wink since reading it....and seem to be getting wider on garlic bread. KJ is the MAN! Well worth a read and great value!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2010
This book left me a little disappointed, in all honesty. I was really looking forward to reading it, so when I got it, I went straight to my room to get stuck in. However, the information contained within is sometimes boring and superficial. What I'm trying to say is, that Kevin Jackson only skims the surface of information on most of the topics he chooses to discuss. Also, for anyone who wants to read Bram Stoker's Dracula, I warn you that 'Bite' contains the plot of Dracula described and ruins the story. I think this book left me wanting more information on some of the topics. Having said this, it's good for anyone who's clueless about vampire history to gain some knowledge.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2010
this 'book' incensed me, no opinion, no insight, no criticism of the genre, no nothing, double negative thats what its all about. boooorrrrriiiinnggg yawn without teeth bared. never been moved to critic a book before but this one deserved a condemnation.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)