Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars48
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 March 2001
I think the sign of truly great music is when it captures you immediately. I was killing time in a music store not really looking to buy when Beyond Skin began to play. The first track really impressed me and made me ask the shop assistant who was playing ? When he replied Nitin Sawhney i wasn't sure i was ready to part with my money because i'd never heard of him before. Luckily enough i hung around long enough for the second track, letting go, to begin. Words can't describe how awesomely chilled this track is. No matter how stressed you are simply put this track on and suddenly you're far away lost in the dreamy vocals and the sublime layers. The rest of the album displays many other musical styles including a distinctly drum-and-bass track, Nadia. The consistency is almost as impressive as the quality. Each song has its own magic and when im playing the CD obly one track ever gets skipped. This is certainly one of the most played CDs i have and even though it's been a year since i bought it it finds itself in my player most days. Open your mind.......discover Nitin's magic
0Comment|48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2001
Like the other reviewers here, I have to say that this album is a knock-out! Listen to loud, or play quiet, it seems somehow to change to suit any mood. The range of instruments and styles cross so many boundaries that lables become inappropriate. This is, to my humble opinion, the guiding ethos of this album - and of Nitin's other works too. I have been a fan since finding a cassette of 'Spirit Dance' (his debut) in a remainers bin at HMV in 1995 (best £1.99 ever spent). At the current asking price here - you really should buy it NOW! It will be the best present for starting the year you could give yourself - or anyone! This album works on any number of levels - some great tunes, dance-able grooves, and a deeply heartfelt message about the future "beyond politics, beyond nationality, beyond religion and Beyond Skin." Beyond doubt, this is an exceptional album.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2001
This album fitted right into the new kind of music that i wanted. Interesting to listen to, with instruments not often heard in Brit music- however it never becomes ethnic and always remains one of the most listened to CD's in my flat.Chill out and play it in the background or crank it up a few notches and listen to the emotion and depth that the music create. Perfect
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2004
I've several of his albums and I've also seen him play live and I can honestly say that Nitin Sawhney (and his musical entourage) are some of the most talented individuals I've been priviliged to hear play. They intertwine an eclectic mix of Vedic chanting, classical guitar, fantastic percussion and drums, rapping, blues and gentle pop motifs to produce music of inspirational quality. Each track is differently weighted with respect to the musical influences but is always accompanied by something unexpected and delightful. This album is the pinacle of all of Nitin Sawhney's work. As an extra consideration this is a concept album speaking out against the stupidity of conflict (especially nuclear war), which surreptitiously pervades most of the tracks. And quite right, why shouldn't an artist appeal to his audience's moral conscience as well as spoiling our musical palettes with his genius? This is a must buy. MUST BUY!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2004
Almost impossible to classify Nitin Sawhney’s “Beyond Skin” is a genuinely inspired personal musical statement. Sounds boring?… well think again for this album is crammed full with haunting melodies, tight song structures and superb playing. It’s subtext – India’s testing of it’s first nuclear weapons (and all that implies for a UK Indian like Sawhney) – provides the backdrop for odd but wholly relevant spoken interludes that create the underlying tension between the album’s chilling theme and the intense beauty of most of its songs. Cleverly fusing Indian raga and late 90’s club mixes with some quite wonderful performances from a range of female vocalists it rapidly grabs your attention and then subtly & repeatedly draws you back into its very different world. You don’t need to share his views or his culture to enjoy it and you won’t find much else like it out there but, once it gets its hooks into you, it will repay with enormous listening pleasure. File under “beautifully reflective”…
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2001
I discovered Nitin after his nomination for he mercury music prize, and without discrediting any of the other albums, I can say 'Beyond Skin' should have won. I am a huge fan of Kathryn Williams and Badly Drawn Boy, but they cannot beat the most perfect sounding album ever. Every single sound on the album is exquisite, and you discover more every time you listen to it. It would compliment any music collection to have a copy of 'beyond skin.' Nitin is truly a master and a visionary who has a better understanding of music than most people could ever hope to achieve.
Song recomendations would be 'Letting Go' and 'Homelands'
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2000
You know those listening point things you get? Well, a long time before this was nominated for the mercury award I saw this on one in borders and something about the cover made me want to listen to it. So I did, and I was amazed. Occasionally you randomly find a CD like this, dramatic, uplifting, theatrical in it's delivery, one of those CDs that really stand out. Haunting and inspirational, this a CD I can highly recommend.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2002
Have you ever felt, tasted, seen or even heard something so wonderful that you get a fast tingling sensation take over your spin and the hairs on the back of your neck stand on end...you have. So you'll know what I mean when I say that I get that feeling everytime I hear this album. Especially tracks such as Imigrant which has now become one of my favourite songs of all time. The album is a masterpiece and true some people may not like this sort of music but I think it has a little for everyone and Nitin has fused it perfectly.Check out his latest album as well, Prophesy (amazing) but see him in concert and you'll really appreciate this mans genius.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 1999
Fewer and fewer people know where they are from or where they belong in the way that our parents did. Migration and ancestral ties sort of nag away in this beautiful collection of songs. Indian Tabla and the old digidigididada stuff are strong in Nitin's work, tipping a respectful nod in the direction of what I think was once home for Nitin's forebears, while a whole host of moods from other places and times are mingled in to make a really quite awesome blend of songs which soothe so sadly a mellow hour or so. Occasionally , his preoccupation with nuclear testing by India and Pakistan, and radio reports from the months in question (remember Simon & Garfunkel's Vietnam Silent Night), produce nothing short of fear and anger in the listener - the adrenalin is palpable, reminding you that great art is a great mixture of emotions. This album is value for money. Don't be afraid of letting some go for it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2000
Nitin Sawhney has produced a masterpiece. Take the best of D-Note's piano tracks and add powerful female vocals and inconceivable sounds and you have a UK/Indian/Drum and Bass melting pot of an album! A must have for anyone's collection - a great wooing album too!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.72
£5.80
£11.24

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)