Betrayal and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more

Buy New

or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
Buy Used
Used - Very Good See details
Price: 1.79

or
 
   
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Start reading Betrayal on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Betrayal [Paperback]

Karen Alvtegen , Steven T. Murray
3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (18 customer reviews)
RRP: 7.99
Price: 6.44 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over 10. Details
You Save: 1.55 (19%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 3 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Want it tomorrow, 24 July? Choose Express delivery at checkout. Details

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition 4.12  
Paperback 5.77  
Paperback, 16 Jun 2011 6.44  

Book Description

16 Jun 2011
When Eva discovers her husband has been having an affair, her grief and rage drive her into vengeful action. Then she meets Jonas, who for the past two years has been keeping vigil beside his comatose girlfriend. Burdened with his own sinister history, he sees a chance to start afresh with Eva...Betrayal is a thrilling chase, full of desperation and murder that reaches deep into the hidden secrets of family life in a remote Swedish town.

Frequently Bought Together

Betrayal + Missing + Shadow
Price For All Three: 18.55

Buy the selected items together
  • Missing 6.02
  • Shadow 6.09

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product details

  • Paperback: 304 pages
  • Publisher: Canongate Books Ltd (16 Jun 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0857861646
  • ISBN-13: 978-0857861641
  • Product Dimensions: 13.2 x 19.7 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (18 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 386,161 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

Review

'Alvtegen's chilling novels are head and shoulders above the rest of the Scandi crew' - Daily Mail 'Reminiscent of Ruth Rendell at her best' - Herald 'Alvtegen is a name to watch' - Guardian 'A compelling tale - full of false leads and bloody deeds' - Sunday Herald

From the Back Cover

Love is whatever you can still betray When Eva discovers her husband is having an affair, she plans her revenge. Having left home and sacrificed more than she knew she could lose, she finds solace in a friendship with Jonas, who for the past two years has been keeping vigil beside his girlfriend as she lies in a coma. Then Eva's own life comes under threat. In the tradition of Nicci French and Minette Walters, Betrayal is a terrifying tale of desperation, betrayal and murder. Praise for Karin Alvtegen “Relentless and frightening.” Guardian “A compulsive thriller.” Metro “Reminiscent of Ruth Rendell at her best.” Herald [thumbnails of Missing and Shame] CANON#GATE [barcode] ISBN 978 1 84195 937 5 £6.99 Cover design © Tim Byrne --This text refers to an alternate Paperback edition.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Betrayal, Karin Alvtegen 26 July 2005
By RachelWalker TOP 500 REVIEWER
Format:Paperback
Excellent book. Even better than last year's "Missing", which I read during a binge of Scandinavian crime writing. Alvtegen's possibly the brightest young talent in Europe (that we've been treated to by translation, anyway - it's clear that the mine is deep and rich, so let's hope there are more to come too!). Betrayal is an excellent crime novel, very much in the vein in Ruth Rendell. Certainly, Rendell fans will see that creepy Jonas could easily have slipped from the pages of one of her novels. Alvtegen treats the theme or normal people becoming endangered by the delusional few around them with sensitivity and ease. Her writing is flowing and perceptive, her plotting is excellent: the way the lives of the two characters gradually bump together a bit then crash into each other is handled superbly (again in a way reminiscent of Rendell).
Buy this book. You won't be disappointed.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant 18 Aug 2010
By liveenl
Format:Paperback
It's been a while since I read a book in one sitting, that's how good this book is. Very reminiscent of the Ruth Rendells and Barabara Vines I used to devour years ago. Unsettling and well-paced, I'll be reading as many of her books as I can find
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Compassionate and creepy 11 Oct 2007
Format:Paperback
Karin Alvtegen impressed previously with Missing and with Shame. This book lies somewhere between the two.

Alvtegen's strongest characters are women - even when they are falling apart. There is a profound sense of empathy for the woman whose life spirals away from her, usually because of some genuine, or misguided, sense of duty and integrity. Such is the case with Eva, the main character here. As with Shame, it is the heat-of-the-moment decision, which seems so reasonable or justifiable, which kicks off a maelstrom of problems.

For my money her male characters are less successful, but this book hangs together well. Jonas is genuinely creepy, in a way that we've all seen in someone at some point in our lives.

Above your average thriller, for me Alvtegen is far more readable than Ruth Rendell's often turgid prose.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A curate's egg of a book 7 Feb 2012
Format:Paperback
I can't put my finger on it but for some reason I did not enjoy the beginning of this book. However it became much better as I became engrossed with the story and I ended up enjoying it. Until the end which is utterly preposterous.
The book deserved better.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
Format:Paperback
I chose this book because, like many, I have found that the Swedish crime genre - and Swedish writers - make good reading. This one ticked all my boxes.

Although there are almost 300 pages, Karin Alvtegen's 'Betrayal' feels like a 'thin book' and this feeling was still there when I had finished reading it - that and a disturbing sense of having visited a world that could very easily have been my own. Not so much a 'there but for the grace of God go I' feeling, but a very normal world, like mine, where menace can enter through the tiniest of cracks - and don't we all live in a normal world where there are cracks aplenty?

Eva and Henrik are long past the honeymoon stage of marriage - they have a young son and the mundane details of daily life are beginning to oppress. Henrik, in the manner of many men, seeks to recreate what has been lost in the arms of another woman. On discovering this, Eva opts for guile and manipulation as her weapons of choice (as women do). Which lead her to Jonas... whose impact on her life she could never have imagined.

Although appearing short and being a quick read, there was a depth to this novel that I really enjoyed. It's taut and understated. It's sad too - at least I thought so. But you'll have to read it first to understand why I think that.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars Need a good read? 13 May 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Continuing with my love all things Scandi, Alvtegenis a strong writer and this series kept me company all this winter on long commutes...
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars my favourite of scandenavian writers 21 July 2013
By hazanne
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I have read all four of Alvtegens books available in the uk and enjoyed all of them immensely. She is a most talented write
ter of the psychological thriller without the need for copious dead bodies and forensics. Well dead bodies do turn up but not to the detriment of the story. She writes human stories of tainted relationships with many twists and turns.

Here we have a broken marriage and outside of that a very damaged and compulsive man that comes into the focus of the wife who is out for revenge but doesnt quite understand what she has got herself into and the husband that is playing with fire but ultimately doesnt quite know what he wants. Sounds pretty mundane and power for the course?, It is anything but and all this intrigue leads to a very complicated series of events that can only end in disaster and a brilliant conclusionl. Waiting for the next one.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
By Pookie
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I was disappointed in this book it was very exiting.. I have read this author before and enjoyed her work.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Most Recent Customer Reviews
3.0 out of 5 stars Slow start then warms up
Overall a good read. Alvtegen really knows her characters, their behaviour, mannerisms, obsessions and inner most thoughts. Gripping at times.
Published 17 months ago by Dawn F
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping!
I have never read a book by this author and was pleasantly surprised! This was a page turner full of twists and turns and I couldn't wait to pick it up at every sitting! Read more
Published 20 months ago by Helen Fog
1.0 out of 5 stars Bought because it was cheap. Should have been cheaper.
So so bad. No depth. No style. No real story. All very contrived and convenient. A complete disappointment. Save your money or splash out for a proper book. Avoid.
Published 20 months ago by jason mardell
3.0 out of 5 stars tale of the unexpected
Easy and quick to read story about what happens when a mariage goes wrong , I read this over one afternoon . Read more
Published 24 months ago by cartoon
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing book!!!
This is the first book that I have read by Karin Alvtegen and was recommended to me by a friend who'd read it and loved it too. I would totally recommend this book.. Read more
Published on 18 Jun 2012 by lybi
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping
This was the first of Karin Alvtegen's books I've read, and I'll definitely be reading more. It's also the first time I've read foreign fiction, always being put off by thinking I... Read more
Published on 30 Jan 2012 by milmol
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read
This is an engrossing, if fairly short, thriller at around 300 pages. I think what makes it all the better is the fact that it revolves around an ordinary woman in an ordinary... Read more
Published on 19 Sep 2011 by JM
3.0 out of 5 stars Revenge gone wrong
This book is thrilling and disturbing. The story starts with the events surrounding the realisation of the main character Eva that her husband has an affair. Read more
Published on 4 Jun 2011 by Dona Rendell
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback