Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Subscribe and Save Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now
Customer Discussions > Sim City (PC DVD) forum

Best previous version of Sim City?

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-9 of 9 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 8 Mar 2013 15:52:38 GMT
J. Spencer says:
So I'm new to the Sim City franchise and was initially excited about SC5 but have been royally put off by all the issues - not least the always online requirement. So I just want a single player, offline, DLC-free experience - which previous version of SC would you recommend as I've heard differing opinions of each - or any SC alternatives?

In reply to an earlier post on 8 Mar 2013 16:50:49 GMT
Simcity 4 deluxe edition.

There are plenty of mods for it but the most popular one is "NAM" the latest version being 31. It fixes simcity 4's transportation issues, without it sims take the physically shortest route to and from work and not necessarily the fastest route which causes big issues with noone using your buses/trains etc.

Posted on 8 Mar 2013 21:42:28 GMT
sadoldbishop says:
As Max said it's SC4...it has it's niggles but it's a great game and going strong 10 years on...the site to use is called Simtropolis where you can find links to download the NAM.

Posted on 8 Mar 2013 23:26:02 GMT
As above. SC4 deluxe with NAM and RHW pretty much solves most issues

Posted on 9 Mar 2013 16:39:23 GMT
Scott Rae says:
You know, as much as I love SC4, I think Sim City 2000 was the best and most original in the franchise. It didn't take itself so seriously, had a great sense of humour running through it, and had great end buildings and towers. The llama references just seem to get lost in the later versions! Its a shame they dropped the humour

Posted on 10 Mar 2013 19:37:18 GMT
Brewster says:
Agree - Simcity 2000 was the best - although 4 was good , simcity 2000 added so much.