Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars49
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 October 2012
I have both of the Best in Show books and they never fail to delight anyone that I show them too. The patterens are charming and witty and they really are not hard for anyone with some experience of knitting and reading patterns. There is an excellent glossary of terms to aid you. The stitiches are fairly small but you soon get used to working them. The sewing up, as with any knitting, does require care and concentration but the results are well worth it. A friend of mine knitted a fine Border Collie from book 1 and he had only ever knitted 2 scarves before. I have done 3 dogs so far - Jack Russell, Scottie and Labrador - and cannot wait to get the tweedy yarn for the Airedale. So pick up those needles and go for it! Woof! Simon
11 comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2013
Instructions for knitting the dog chosen in this beautifully illustrated book are very poor and a request for help to their website has been ignored.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2014
The Best in Show books are great fun. The knitting is a bit fiddly but fine when you get the hang of it. The "wrap and turn" used in this book is a major improvement on the PULT method used in the previous one. I would have preferred some diagrams as well as photographs, and a bit more detailed help with sewing up, which is not my strong point. I stuff and sew as I go, which works for me. Also, you don't have to go with the yarn recommendations. It would cost an absolute bomb if you did. I have been able to amend some of the patterns to get a better look (for breeds that I know well!).
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2014
I'm now ready to have fun. Most of my friends have dogs so they may get a surprise in their Christmas stockings next year. Easy to follow instructions and the right size to pick up and put down yet still know where you are
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2012
This really is the best. The patterns are excellent. I can definitely recommend it for the perfectionist knitter and dog lover.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2013
This book is great, better than the 1st one in so much as the legs are knitted with the body, not like some of the ones in the 1st book
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2013
Beautiful pictures of the dogs. I must get down to start the knitting. I cannot think of any more words to express my satisfaction. regarding this product.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2013
What a fun book! I haven't begun any of the projects yet, but have had a quick glance at the instructions, which seem pretty straighforward and explain the more unusual stitches well.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2014
This book was slightly more informative with info on how to make up the dogs etc. which was very helpful
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2015
very pleased with this book.. gradually working my way through it and finding dogs I havent knitted before.like all the rest of the series, excellently written and put together, clear instructions and havent yet had a failure. I have found that the more you do the more you rfine the techniques and improve on the general look and character of the dog.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)