Berlin, A Novel and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
Buy Used
£2.80
FREE Delivery on orders over £10.
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by the book house
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: The book has been read, but is in excellent condition. Pages are intact and not marred by notes or highlighting. The spine remains undamaged.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Berlin: A Novel Paperback – 13 Jul 2006


See all 6 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
£5.00 £0.01
Unknown Binding
"Please retry"

Trade In Promotion



Product details

  • Paperback: 432 pages
  • Publisher: Atlantic Books; New edition edition (13 July 2006)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1843543249
  • ISBN-13: 978-1843543244
  • Product Dimensions: 12.9 x 3.7 x 19.8 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (43 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 883,848 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Authors

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

Review

Startling and convincing... One of the best novels I've ever read set in this era --John Lawton, author of Black Out.

An ambitious novel, filled with brilliantly drawn characters, mesmerisingly readable and disturbingly convincing. --Sunday Telegraph

In the end it is Berlin itself, the city and its inhabitants, meticulously observed and depicted, that emerges as the true star of the story, flawed, cruel, seductively engaging and all too human. This is its best evocation since Len Deighton's Winter. --The Times

From the Inside Flap

Berlin, a city devastated by the Second World War, harbours a new and terrifying threat. The fighting may be over, but the killing goes on.

‘Pierre Frei’s Berlin is an atmospheric and ambitious novel, which vividly evokes the social degeneration of the Nazi period. On one level a traditional crime thriller, it proves in the end to be a novel of considerable depth and substance. Through the unusual technique of telling us the life story of each of a serial killer’s victims, Frei builds up a devastating picture of the corruption of Nazi rule and the impact it had on so many German families. It is a hugely absorbing, entertaining and, at times, moving read and should appeal to fans of Harris, Deighton and Le Carre, amongst others.’

Tom Bradby, author of Shadow Dancer, The Sleep of the Dead, The Master of Rain and The White Russian --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.


Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse and search another edition of this book.
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful By Serious Two on 19 Aug. 2007
Format: Paperback
A complex and well crafted read that gave this reader an uncommon perspective on the road to and through wartime Germany, and its affect on the lives of individuals, some blameless, some not.It is also an excellent crime thriller. The foreign tone of the translation adds to the experience rather than detracting.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
23 of 27 people found the following review helpful By A. Ross TOP 500 REVIEWER on 21 Dec. 2006
Format: Paperback
I should state right up front that I'm not a fan of serial killer stories, I don't find them particularly interesting, and had I known that the framework for this book is the hunt for a serial killer, I may well not have picked it up. The reason I did pick it up is because the setting is one that interests me. From the brilliant film "The Third Man" to Nobel laureate Heinrich Boll's "literature of the rubble", post-WWII is rich with dramatic possibilities. Here, the American occupied sector is the backdrop for a serial killer and as the ending for the stories of several women's lives. Although the framing device is the hunt for a madman, the book's real value and interest come in the intervening chapters, each of which acts as a 40-80 page novella about a German woman coming of age before the war, and what she does to survive it. In that regard, the book makes for very lively and readable social history.

Unfortunately, the structure robs the narrative of any potential suspense and makes for rather choppy reading. Contemporary chapters concerning the hunt for the serial killer alternate with each victim's lengthy backstory in a way that makes it very hard to keep track of all the various German and American characters. And since each of the victims is introduced at her death, the flashback life story that immediately follows is overlain with an oppressive sense of impending tragedy. Especially as in each case, the woman is killed on the very night her life seems to have finally turned the corner for the better.

These women include a village farmgirl turned actress, a middle-class nurse, a slum-dweller turned upscale prostitute, a horse-riding aristocrat, and a bookshop assistant, each carefully constructed to show a different aspect of German society.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful By G. Sykes on 18 Oct. 2006
Format: Paperback
Just happened to pick this one up as I had nothing else to read on holiday and I'm so glad I did. I couldn't put the book down. I found it moving and at times quite sad as I got to know each victim and didn't want them to meet their fate. As a crime novel it's very good but as a narrative on Germany before, during and immediately after WWII it is also quite interesting. I thoroughly enjoyed this book, as did the two other people in my family who read it after me.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By jasonmason on 14 April 2013
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I bought this on a whim and am very glad I did. The basic story is pretty good - a serial killer operating in the American Sector of Berlin just months after the end of WWII, but it is the back stories of the victims that make this something special. Each victim is given a long chapter covering their lives from several years prior to the start of WWII right up to the moment of their death, and it is these chapters that give the book its depth, showing how the war changed these victims lives in so many ways, showing the growth of National Socialism in Germany in the 30's, the increasing anti-Semitism and belief in the Aryan as the only true race for Germany. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys stories set in and around WWII as well as those in to murder mysteries/police stories.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Robert on 4 Mar. 2014
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
This is an unusual thriller. It emphasizes the lives of the victims more than the detective work, and the denouement is almost done as an afterthought. However the descriptions of war damaged Berlin, and the lives of Berliners immediately after the war seem very accurate. That is until the author has Russian troops brandishing Kalashnikov guns, which were not invented then and only came into the Russian army in 1948. This is nit-picking, I know, but if this fact is wrong, how about the rest?
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By gerardpeter on 21 Feb. 2013
Format: Kindle Edition
It is Berlin summer 1945. A serial killer is preying on blonde German women. The author does not dwell on the murders as such. More attention is paid to the lives of the victims prior to their deaths. He reveals the hopes and dreams of these women before their lives were ended. In this way also he tells us what life was like at that time. We learn how different types of people were affected in different ways by the rise of the Nazis and the war. He explores the compromises that women had to make to build or try to build a life in a changed world. It is apparent that not everything has changed in this landscape - young women were not merely negotiating the new but still faced the old threats to their bodies and lives. Readers may want to look at the books of Philip Kerr and his fictional Berlin detective, Bernie Gunther. But this is a good book especially if you have an interest in that period.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful By Jill Meyer TOP 500 REVIEWER on 13 Mar. 2010
Format: Paperback
I love a great detective story, and this is one. But what separates this story from most novels is the emphasis Frei places on the CRIME VICTIMS.

Four or five blonde women are found murdered in post-war Berlin. A spree-killer is on the loose. The novel centers on the German policeman (and his family) and an American policeman, stationed in the occupied city, who team up to find the killer. But, not neglected are the women who were murdered. All were "fleshed out". All the women had played a role, some large and some small, in anti-Nazi activities during the war. All were on the verge of life-changing events that were cut still by the murderer's chain.

Along with the crime story is an often-humorous story of the German policeman's 15 year old son, playing the angles to try to buy a well-cut suit that will win him the heart - and body - of a hot-to-trot girl. (The tailor's daughter). As the author's note says that author Frei was born in 1930, I wonder if this part was "his" story.

This is a very good book.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews



Feedback