4 used from £19.96

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Berg: Sonata for Piano, Op. 1; Schoenberg: Three Piano Pieces, Op. 11; Krenek: Sonata No. 3 for Piano, Op. 92, No. 4 CD

5 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

Available from these sellers.
4 used from £19.96

Amazon's Glenn Gould Store

Product details

  • Composer: Arnold Schoenberg
  • Audio CD (10 Nov. 2007)
  • SPARS Code: ADD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: CD
  • Label: Sony Music Classical
  • ASIN: B000UJ2OBO
  • Other Editions: MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 242,759 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Drei Klavierstücke Op. 11
  2. "Sonata for Piano No. 3, Op. 92 No. 4"
  3. Piano Sonata No. 1 - Mässig bewegt
  4. I. Mässig
  5. II. Mässige
  6. III. Bewegt
  7. "I. Allegretto piacavole, animato e flessibile"
  8. "II. Theme, Canons and Variations. Andantino - Agitato - Allegretto"
  9. III. Scherzo. Vivace ma non troppo
  10. IV. Adagio

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD
GG's rendition of these modern piano works is a revelation! His deep understanding of psyche of the music as well as insight into structures of the works makes these performances unforgettable!

Check also Schoenberg: Piano Works for the outstanding performance of Schoenberg's piano concerto!
Comment 5 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0x8851a330) out of 5 stars 3 reviews
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x889ef4a4) out of 5 stars Rare Reissue of Gould's Gold... 11 Sept. 2007
By A Customer - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
[Digitally Remastered Limited Edition Issue of the Album Classic in a Deluxe, Miniaturized LP Sleeve Replica of the Original Vinyl Album Artwork.]

Berg's piano Sonata "Op. 1"--(Berg left off assigning opus numbers after Wozzek "Op. 7")--was one of Gould's favourite pieces. He performed it at his NYC debut on 11 Jan. 1955. GG loved late-Romanticism, and regretted that Mahler and Strauss wrote no significant piano music. Berg's lush masterpiece was virtually all he could put his hands to; that, and Schönberg's crepuscular Three Piano Pieces, Op. 11 of 1909--which Gould saw as a continuation of late-Brahms, realizing them as such.

Gould's clarity, depth of expression, timing, and four-dimensional vision of architectonics are a wonder of both human Nature and Art.
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x889ef504) out of 5 stars Sony Cheapskates Strike Again... 10 Jan. 2012
By Derek Sheplawy - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Leaving the music aside (which is nonetheless excellent, both in Gould's personal execution and in the remaster) I feel it is the duty of the consumer to report to other perspective buyers that Sony have decided to not bother to reproduce the original liner notes in any way readable by human eyes. What is the point in re-releasing classic recordings in the original format, which, if I may be so bold as to assume, is targeted towards a discerning fanbase that is well known to both want and require the liner notation, and then not include that? I guess this has gone well over the heads of the geniuses at Sony marketing. What we get here is a standard 4 page paper v-card in a jewel case (not the described mini-LP) with a horrid blurred reproduction of the back of the original LP in something resembling 4pt type. Oh, and two generic sentences thrown inside the booklet regarding Gould and 20th Century Music. Gee, is it any wonder why folks shy away from purchasing music these days? Be warned if you are looking for anything of interest outside of Gould's interpretations of three fantastic pieces.
HASH(0x88b5827c) out of 5 stars Glenn Gould and the Twelve Tone Genre. 25 Mar. 2013
By Robert - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Could it get any better than Gould and Schoenberg, Alban Berg, and Enrst Krenek? Not much if you're a nut for 20th Century composition. These pieces are definitely an acquired taste. But they're a must for any fan of Glenn Gould.
Were these reviews helpful? Let us know

Customer Discussions