Beethoven: Complete Piano... has been added to your Basket

Other Sellers on Amazon
Add to Basket
& FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20.00. Details
Sold by: Amazon
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Beethoven: Complete Piano Concertos Box set

5 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

Price: £9.42 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details
Only 1 left in stock.
Sold by skyvo-direct and Fulfilled by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
25 new from £7.69
£9.42 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details Only 1 left in stock. Sold by skyvo-direct and Fulfilled by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Product details

  • Conductor: David Zinman
  • Composer: Beethoven
  • Audio CD (25 Aug. 2014)
  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Format: Box set
  • Label: Brilliant Classics
  • ASIN: B00GXQ5W8U
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 118,235 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Allegro Con Brio
  2. Largo
  3. Rondo. Allegro Scherzando
  4. Allegro Con Brio
  5. Adagio
  6. Rondo. Molto Allegro

Disc: 2

  1. Allegro Con Brio
  2. Largo
  3. Rondo. Allegro
  4. Allegro Moderato
  5. Andante Con Moto
  6. Rondo. Vivace

Disc: 3

  1. Allegro
  2. Adagio Un Poco Mosso
  3. Rondo. Allegro
  4. Choral Fantasy in C Minor, Op. 80
  5. Meeresstille Und Glückliche Fahrt, Op. 112 - Various Performers

Product Description

Product Description

The Beethoven Symphony cycle by the Tonhalle Orchestra Zurich conducted by David Zinman achieved somewhat of a cult status, first released on a budget label, later in full glory issued on Sony Classical. The same characteristics that distinguished the symphony cycle apply for this set of the complete piano concertos: warmth, clarity, drive and total commitment. Soloist is world famous pianist Yefim Bronfman, a virtuoso who is able to bring out the power and delicacies of these wonderful masterworks by Beethoven, which count among the most frequently performed works of the whole classical repertoire. As generous bonus works feature the Choral Fantasy and the Overture Meeresstille und glückliche Fahrt.

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Verified Purchase
Great playing and very good recordings! This really is a bargain.
Comment 1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0x9fb13618) out of 5 stars 3 reviews
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9f96072c) out of 5 stars Bronfman’s glittering Beethoven cycle 24 July 2015
By P. Adrian - Published on
Verified Purchase
Although I own more than a dozen sets of Beethoven piano concertos complete cycle with greatest pianists of our age - Lupu, Brendel (twice, with Levine and Rattle, respectively), Andsnes, Pollini, Perahia, Buchbinder, Kissin,… I decided to get Bronfman’s recordings primarily not for comparing his version with the above mentioned ones, but for the qualities I recognize in Bronfman’s playing. Called in the business “Mr. Fortissimo”, Bronfman in my opinion displays a varied palette of means to convey whatever in the works he included in his vast repertory. Classical flavors interspersed with romantic outbursts are ingredients that make Beethoven’s music, and especially the five concertos, some of the most beloved works in the piano literature. Their human and musical honesty promote them in the highest esteem of the audiences worldwide. On the other hand, all professional pianists are fond of dealing with these masterpieces, separately or in cycles. The reason is just as simple as they give rise to the most spectacular pianistic means in the arsenal of the soloist and put into question his or her musical insights. It is very difficult to bring something new and valuable in this realm, yet at the same time each important interpretation brings to light some fresh ideas, some virgin paths to be followed.

Despite his nickname, Yefim Bronfman knows here to differentiate the minutest nuances, enjoys soaring in median movements of the concertos, lets his fabulous finger work develop properly in the virtuosic passages but contrasts his bravura with lyrical oasis – see for instance the dream-like Adagio un poco mosso from “Emperor” concerto or the tragic utterance Andante con moto (from the Fourth concerto. . A major role in showcasing the soloist plays the wonderful Tonhalle Zurich orchestra under his former chief conductor David Zinman. I congratulate the artists also for including Choral fantasy n their Beethoven concertante integral committed to disc. It is a work of a particular charm, a quintessential precursor of the IXth symphony to come in Titan’s output...
9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9f9627bc) out of 5 stars inspired "classical" performances 16 Dec. 2014
By William Sommerwerck - Published on
Verified Purchase
Today is LvB's birthday, and this is the music I chose to listen to.

On the series "Alaska, the Last Frontier", one of the Kilchers remarks that money can't buy happiness, but it can buy goats. Though not a goat, this set is a fine example of happiness money can buy.

These are breezy (but not weightless) Classical performances, as if Mozart were at the keyboard. To extend the animal metaphor, they evoke 'possum grins.

The Choral Fantasia, which often comes off as a tediously repetitive bore, a clumsy, incompetent anticipation of 9:4, is here a brilliant, engaging showpiece.

Stop what you're doing, and buy a copy. You will be very happy for a few hours each time you play it.
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9fb7633c) out of 5 stars Five Stars 14 Nov. 2015
By Michael M. - Published on
Verified Purchase
Very good.
Were these reviews helpful? Let us know

Customer Discussions

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?