or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Tell the Publisher!
Id like to read this book on Kindle

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Beauty's Punishment: Number 2 in series: 2/3 (Sleeping Beauty) [Paperback]

A.N. Roquelaure , Anne Rice
3.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (10 customer reviews)
RRP: 8.99
Price: 6.29 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over 10. Details
You Save: 2.70 (30%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
In stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Want it tomorrow, 21 Aug.? Choose Express delivery at checkout. Details

Book Description

23 Aug 2012 Sleeping Beauty (Book 2)

An erotic novel of discipline, love and surrender from master storyteller Anne Rice.

This sequel to The Claiming of Sleeping Beauty resumes Beauty's explicit, teasing exploration of the psychology of human desire and seduction. Now Beauty, having indulged in a secret and forbidden infatuation with the rebellious slave Prince Tristan, is sent away. Sold at auction, she will soon experience the tantalizing punishments of 'the village,' as her education in love, cruelty, dominance, submission and tenderness is turned over to the brazenly handsome Captain of the Guard.

Once again Anne Rice's classic tale of pleasure and pain dares to explore the most primal and well-hidden desires of the human heart.

This is the second of Anne Rice's classic Sleeping Beauty trilogy.


Frequently Bought Together

Beauty's Punishment: Number 2 in series: 2/3 (Sleeping Beauty) + Beauty's Release: Number 3 in series: 3/3 (Sleeping Beauty) + The Claiming Of Sleeping Beauty: Number 1 in series: 1/3
Price For All Three: 17.47

Buy the selected items together


Product details

  • Paperback: 256 pages
  • Publisher: Sphere (23 Aug 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 075155104X
  • ISBN-13: 978-0751551044
  • Product Dimensions: 19.4 x 12.4 x 2.2 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 3.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (10 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 209,879 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Authors

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

Review

"a literary odyssey into a world of forbidden lust... -- UPI --This text refers to an alternate Paperback edition.

Book Description

A modern classic of erotic fiction by the bestselling author of Interview with the Vampire, perfect for fans of Fifty Shades of Grey.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse and search another edition of this book.
First Sentence
THE MORNING star was just lading in the violet sky as the huge wooden cart crowded with naked slaves, moved slowly over the castle drawbridge. Read the first page
Explore More
Concordance
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Table of Contents | Excerpt
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very good - but can be bettered 10 Aug 2000
By A Customer
Format:Paperback
I enjoyed the Beauty trilogy too and agree with an earlier reviewer that it has an ongoing eroticised element and some effective punishment scenes. But, for this reader, there's too much preamble between the punishments. You have to read for a long time to actually reach a climax and can end up skim reading page after page. I think that Sarah Veitch is better value - she'll have erotic whipping, caning, effective talking down and forced-to-strip-in-public humiliation in a single chapter whereas in some of the Beauty books you have page after page where a man is simply crawling about picking things up.
Anne Rice also had some horrible scenes where a man is covered in household rubbish etc whereas in a Sarah Veitch book the submissives are treated well when they are not being severely corrected. Anne said on Oprah and in Playboy that she has no interest in actually trying CP - and this lack of experience sometimes shows in her writing whereas Sarah is a practicing submissive who has written numerous articles about how to have safe and arousing BDSM.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the best B&D erotica ever written! 23 Jan 2000
Format:Paperback
If a better book about sexual slavery has ever been written I've never read it! Roquelaure's book drips with lust and never lets go of your libido. The slaves in this book are all young and gorgeous and kept naked at all times. The punishments are painful and humiliating, but erotic at the same time. A slave is never able to forget that his/her place is to be a sexual plaything of free men/free women. The writing is extremely vivid and you feel as if you're really THERE in this fantasy village with erotic slave auctions, the tents where anyone with a few copper coins can sodomize any young prince or princess on display, the place of public punishment and stables with the pony boys. If the village the A. Roquelaure wrote about existed in real life there would be a waiting list with a 12 year backlog of people waiting to get in!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sleeping Beauty roughs it 20 Sep 2011
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
The general wisdom is that middle books of trilogies tend to be the worst. Perhaps this is because the writer has already wowed the reader with an introduction to the story concept and the climax of the story is still some way away, leaving the reader in a bit of a lull which also just happens to include lots of details they're going to have to know in order for the conclusion to make any sense.

However, Beauty's Punishment is a pretty good middle book! It has a few reservations but the author gets away with them.

Beauty's arrival in the Village marks a big change from her time at the Palace: it's rougher, tougher and more everyday (in a very S&M kind of a way). Beauty finds a lot more depth of love for slavehood in herself and it is this gradual realisation that forms the stock of this book.

We also see more characters introduced into the story as Tristan begins to narrate to us.

The main problem, I feel, with Anne Rice's writing is that she gives the male characters (in this book at least, and the first in the trilogy) a flowery style of prose - just as she does with the female characters. I'm in two minds about how bad a problem this is: half of the point of the Sleeping Beauty trilogy is to read the *very* pretty prose. Perhaps there's wiggle room for her to have delved into the more primal observations of her male characters, but in this book they still feel a bit, well, flowery.

I'm half-way through Beauty's Release now and the problem appears to have been cleared up. The main male character in Release is more primal, dirtier and really doesn't mince his words! What can I say, I love him already.

It's also nice to get a break from Beauty in Beauty's Punishment, lovely girl though she is.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Not for the faint hearted 12 Aug 2014
By Sally
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Ok this is definitely not a book for anyone who isn't open to frankly strangely erotic, hardcore BDSM. If you are looking for nice gentle BDSM then there are other books out there for you as this is definitely not for the faint hearted.

Now having said that I have to say I throughly enjoyed this book. I was surprised (as I hadn't read any of the other reviews) to find it was a story not only of Beauty but also of Tristan and this worked for me. Yes it's dark, yes sometimes it's a little uncomfortable to read but at the same time it's so well wrote that it's beautiful to read. Now as I said in the beginning it's not a book for everyone and this is just my opinion, however I can not wait to read the third in the series!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3.0 out of 5 stars Review 2 Jun 2013
By ray
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
I thought the book rather repetitious and the treatment quite sadistic and hard . I did not find the characters very convincing.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback