Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
20
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.87+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 October 2013
When I first started it, I did not think I was going to like it. Jill seems a rather odd character. Odd, certainly. Not many sane people would even begin to contemplate some of the things she did and she is very candid about her private thoughts. She very soon grew on me and her writing style is compulsive reading. She is so matter of fact about such outrageous things. Before long it becomes very difficult to put the book down.
Will be looking for the sequel.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2014
Well written and genuinely engaging narrative non fiction account of Jill Homer's cycle ride on the Great Divide, starting in Canada and finishing at the border with Mexico 2700 miles later.
Best read after Jill's first book (Ghost Trails) which ends one year before this book starts this is a highly personalised account of an epic mountain bike journey through North America, detailing all the highs and lows of endurance cycling.
John Metcalfe has written a excellent book on the same subject (although Jill Homer is taking part in a race) but his is written from an English point of view whereas Jill is a native American. She provides a raw and real account of her journey along the Great Divide detailing all her emotions, pains and injuries throughout in a way that would be unusual for a British writer.
This book is better edited than her first (albeit she still calls her speedometer an odometer and seems to think a stallion is a female horse) and better written, and I read through the book quickly.
For anybody interested in non fiction adventure this is pretty much essential and the cost of a kindle purchase is only slightly more than that of a quality newspaper. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2013
A great account, well written and inspiring. Refreshing to read
A book in the knowledge that the author is a genuine sports person without the boring frills of celebrity and is still in awe of those celebrated endurance athletes , that pursuant to her various endeavors, ultimately have become her peers
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2012
Unfortunately many adventure books suffer from either not being particularly brilliantly written or not having a particularly strong story to tell. This book however has both which puts it in a class with precious few other first-person adventure books. Just because somebody can do amazing things doesn't mean they can necessarily write about them but Jill is a writer as a 'day job' and is a cyclist in her leisure time, which makes for a great book about riding the Continental Divide on a mountain bike.
If you are looking to adventure vicariously through a book then this is a great choice.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2014
A good well written book detailing the struggles that Jill went through as she cycles the length (and more) of the Great Divide as well as her relationship break up. You really do feel her pain and her struggles that she endures during the race. Jill is amazingly driven and as the title of the book alludes to – very brave and strong – both braver and stronger than me. My only criticism is that as she suffers she makes sure you know that she suffers - it was her choice to do the race in the first place. The book could’ve been a little more descriptive of the landscape and mountains but that’s a small grumble.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2014
I love jill she is so much like me but on a braver and grander scale, does things that 99.9% can only dream about whilst always understating how good she is, letting us think she us just that geeky girl next door door when in fact she is an athlete, she just doesn't believe it. Fantastic read and a real insight into doing this awesome race/ ride. Keep doing what you do jill.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2012
I am a novice runner and cyclist with big dreams of achieving something like Jill Homer achieved cycling across the Great Divide. I found her book riveting. I felt like i was with her each day as she picked up supplies and started pedaling again...and again...and again. She paints intimate, candid and absorbing pictures of her inner life while describing her surroundings in glorious detail, all with a great sense of humour. Once on the Divide, her days consisted of the same routine (lots of pedaling and persevering) over and over, and yet her prose kept me wanting to hear more and more. I recommend this book to everyone who feels profoundly human and weak, and yet yearns to have an adventure, and wants to be inspired to do it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2012
This is a down-to-earth account of an amazing cycling adventure; I found myself willing Jill on all the way and couldn't put the book down for long. Although I've only visited the deserts of the SW once, I appreciated the brilliant descriptions of the terrain and scenery, conveyed with sincere feeling. It takes guts to write so openly about your doubts and feeling. We're keen cyclists ourselves but have only toured for about 200 miles on roads and cycle paths, I can appreciate some of the challenges but how you made it up mountains and hills in succession is beyond belief!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2013
Ok, the style isn't always there but the enthusiasm of the story and passion with which it is told is infectious. There is much here about long distance cycling and perhaps even more about human relationships and perseverance. It is also a real antidote to some of the alpha male, testosterone filled accounts that are out there. I really enjoyed it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2011
This is her account of her ride in the 2650 mile great tour divide bike race and the journey she took to get there. You are with her every pedal of the way as she cycles through the wilderness encountering terrifying storms, huge climbs, and nearly impassable terrain. From the start of the race to the finish she chronicles the highs and the lows, from sleep deprivation & extreme fatigue to the euphoria she experiences as she cycles totally alone and self reliant through the beautiful wilderness. Her sheer grit and determination to make it through despite the many obstacles she encounters are told so vividly that you feel as though you are with her each step of the way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)