Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
15
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
12
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 August 2012
I am new to the world of science fiction/fantasy but if this is anything to go by I have been seriously lacking. What a laugh, what a treat. It is funny without seeming to try hard which is a real talent. Life is too short for doom and gloom, there is too much around. Escape into this and you won't be sorry.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2012
14-year-old Kyle Rivers, left paralyzed after an accident that killed his parents, is given an offer he can't refuse: join the Directorate of Metanormal Defense and walk again. Via high-tech nanobots that work specifically with his DNA, Kyle not only regains use of his legs, but develops super-speed and the ability to read people's danger levels.

Along with his wacky best friend, Ollie, Kyle attends the DMD's training program, hoping to one day become an agent who protects humans from dangers such as vampires and poltergeists. Not long after their arrival, a teenage girl called Leila, whose father had been killed by one of the DMD's agents, attacks the compound. Leila is captured and placed in a virtual reality prison, where she must face demons generated by the minds of the other prisoners in order to survive and possibly escape.

Cyberfreak Debt alternates between Kyle's story and Leila's chapter by chapter, with each chapter opening with an ominous countdown to "cyberdome activation." The cyberdome causes the real and the virtual clash, sometimes bringing Kyle into the virtual world, sometimes sending Leila into the real one and bringing to life that which is imagined. Courageous, diligent, and good-natured, Kyle is an immediately likable protagonist who is easy to sympathize with, the kind of kid we all like to root for. He sparks with hero potential, following his do-the-right-thing instincts in a manner that is genuine and unpretentious.

Wilson's snappy and witty writing makes Cyberfreak Debt crackle with energy. Between the zingy dialogue and the vibrant action scenes interlaced with sound effects (Raka-taka-taka! Kabloom!), this book and its characters practically explode from the page. And yet he also takes the time to develop the characters, sometimes stepping back from the action to draw out poignant scenes that add a level of emotional depth to the story.

But for the most part, Cyberfreak Debt is pure fun--thrilling, humorous, and rather ridiculous at times. Through the twists and turns of the plot, vividly imagined settings, and the lively character interactions, this book grabs you from the beginning and refuses to let go.

[This is a condensed version of a full review on my blog, Zigzag Timeline]
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2012
A fast-paced roller-coaster romp that will have you turning the pages with a smile! Cyberfreak Debt is an action-packed story with a heart and the lead character, Kyle Rivers, is a boy you'll want to stand up and cheer for. A great reading escape.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2012
Pull up a chair, make a cuppa and sit back and get in to this book. Exciting thrilling and easy to follow, highly recommended
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2012
I like this guy Stuart Wilson's writing! It doesn't take itself too seriously so it makes this fun and easy to read. I would recommend this to anyone who has a sense of humour and likes a bit of sci-fi action!

(I wouldn't say I wasn't totally inspired by the cover design - bit grey for my liking - but maybe that's just me!)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2013
Kyle vs Leila - Battle for the Cyberdomes

As I started reading the opening chapter, it was if Kyle and Ollie really were in prison and a zombie was eating the guard! The scene was scary but funny at the same time. I think it would seem real to the boys while they are playing too, and Kyle needs escapism from the dreary hospital ward and the tragedy that's befallen him.

Then Chief Matron, Nurse Bates appears. She really is scary, and reminds me of Nurse Ratchet in "ONE FLEW OVER THE CUCKOO'S NEST." While she is a 'trained nurse' she is not the sort you would wish to encounter. It is a moment of triumph for Kyle when Nurse Bates is deprived of keeping him on 'her' ward or sending him to another institute because he is an orphan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2012
Very fast paced, great story that sucks you in. Everyone says it but I realy could not put this book down. This has the same ambiance as my old comic books.
Dispite the comic feel there is some fine writing in this book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2012
This book rattles along from the opening line and doesn't let up.

There's lots to like here, including a fast-paced story, clever back-story, an engaging main character, stylish voice, ping-pong dialogue and many funny lines. In fact, one of the things that really appeals to me about the writing is the balance between humour and pathos. In my view it's hard to pull off, but it's done with aplomb here.

The dialogue is also very 'now' and will play well to the target market. I suppose the opening to the book put it in my mind, but this book is like watching a video game. Lots of zap and zing.

Great fun.

Five stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2012
Kyle, a paralysed orphan, is approached in hospital by two mysterious people, given an injection that enables him to walk again, and whisked away to the nearly invisible Directorate of Metanormal Defence along with his best friend Ollie. Life is peachy . But there are lots of unanswered questions that Kyle and Ollie simply cannot leave unexplored. Who was the man that was shot down as they arrived at the Directorate of Metanormal Defence? And what did his dying words, involving floor B of the Directorate, mean?
This book is great! Fast-paced and entertaining, written with a sense of humour and great skill. I was instantly drawn into the plot, and had to keep reading. It's one of those books that you'll end up reading in one sitting, even if it stretches into the night. Highly recommended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2012
This was my first ever Sci-fi and I was hooked immediately. Such an ingenious plot with characters you would love to meet. Brilliantly entertaining! Thrilling, fascinating, funny and thought provoking. The writer delivers everything you want. An action-packed adventure with some epic dialogue and a "feel-good" effect.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.