Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars176
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 April 2014
Some people look down on the Adam West Batman film and shows for being to "childish" or not for not being serious enough. Those people need to realise what the intent of the show was rather than what they think it was supposed to be.
This Batman is not the dark brooding tortured vigilante we know today, this is SUPPOSED TO BE FUNNY.

The plot involves Batman and Robin as they try to stop four of their most famous villains (Joker, Penguin, The Riddler and The Catwoman) as they team together to capture the members of the United Nations.
The only problem with this movie is that it doesn't feel like it was intended to originally be a movie but more of a special episode of the TV series. Everything you expect from a standard episode of the 60s show is here. The "BAM" and "POW" signs during the fight scenes, the ludicrous traps and the silly humour is all out

The Blu-Ray comes with the following special features:
Commentary by Adam West and Burt Ward (Batman & Robin)
Commentary by screenwriter
Batman: A dynamic Legacy
Caped crusaders: A heroes tribute
Gotham city's most wanted
Tour of the Batmobile
Batman on location: mapping the movie
The Batmobile revealed with Goerge Barris (designer of the car)
2001 featurette, trailers and galleries

So as you can see there are plenty of interesting features to keep you entertained once you've seen the film.
The visuals on Blu-Ray look good but aren't great, same with the sound quality. But with movies this old you cannot expect the best.
As of when I am writing this review, there are no plans to bring any of the 60s TV series to DVD or Blu-Ray. This is because the distribution rights are owned by two companies and the music rights are owned by a number of difference companies.
This is as only thing you can get legally of the 60s Batman in terms of DVD/Blu-Ray and I hope more people buy this as it increases the chance we will get the companies to work out an agreement and release the TV series.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2004
Plenty of Bat features of our comic strip heros!. In the film U get to see all the Dynamic Duos BatTastic Transport from the TV Series- Batmobile, Batcopter, Batbike & Batboat. Unfortunately Julie Newmar (Catwoman TV Series) was busy making Mackennas Gold allthough burgess meredith was also in that film he only had a small part. you get guest stars looking out of windows as dynamic duo walk up buildings. Gags, Jokes, Riddles!
Too the Batpoles
Atomic batteries to power, Turbines to Speed!..
The Series is overdue for been released
Please Release TV Series on DVD!..
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2006
An excellent buy, in my opinion.
It's a warm-hearted parody of the Black Knight and the Boy Wonder, with four of the great villains (The Joker, The Penguin, Catwoman and The Riddler) thrown in as well.
It's extremely hard not to laugh, when Batman is attacked by a rubbershark and utilizes his handy Shark-repellant Batspray, as well as at the fact that everything Batman owns, is conveniently labelled.
Or when Batman, Robin and Gordon unravels the devlish plot of the four villains, using nothing but comicbookish quotes and a total absense of common logic.
The movie is almost too silly at one point (Batman runs into a mother with her baby, nuns and other friendly civillans when trying to dispose of a bomb, that never seems to run out of its' fuse; "Some days you just can't get rid of a bomb!"), but on the whole it's a great movie.
On top of this, it's a fairly cheap movie, so it'd be a shame to miss it.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2002
It's difficult to add to the excellent reviews by Amazon and the other contributors, as they've summed it up so well!
The 1989 Batman movie had the Joker - and was very good. The follow up "Batman Returns" had the Penguin and Catwoman, and was pretty good too. The next one "Batman Forever" had the Riddler, but it wasn't up to much. And let's forget about the awful "Batman and Robin" one! This 1966 movie, however, has all these characters and has more entertainment value than all the more recent offerings put together.
Kids will love this movie, as will adults with an ironic sense of humour. There are so many laughs to be had, the characters are larger than life and it is quite evident that the actors are really enjoying it. With a few nods to the camera by Adam West as Batman, what we have here is the movie equivalent of a stage pantomime.
For me, the one scene that stands out is about an hour into the movie where Batman tries to dispose of a bomb. It's got to be one of the funniest scenes in cinematic history! But there are some wonderful throwaway gags that explain how Batman miraculously gets out of a sticky situation.
If you have a DVD player, this is a must-have DVD. There is a worthwhile commentary by Adam West and Burt Ward (Batman and Robin), stills galleries (some of the photos of the Riddler with a "circular saw - conveyabelt torture trap" appear to be from the TV series) and an interesting documentary. The presentation throughout is superb too. Absolutely flawless.
My only wish now is for the 120 episodes of the 1966-68 TV series to be released too! Maybe then we will finally get to see that conveyabelt of the Riddler in action!
44 comments|35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2013
Bought the blu ray today, still a good movie, the quality is superior to the DVD - but not as razor sharp/crystal clear as I was hoping for. A slightly soft image, but still has a cinema-like quality.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2013
I bought this for my son thinking it was the cartoon but when it turned out to be the movie I kept it on the DVD shelf and didnt intend on giving it to my 3 year old son thinking he wouldn't like it- well I couldn't have been more wrong when he spotted it on the shelf and asked to watch it I was a bit apprehensive at first but he loves loves loves it and I can't stand films like this but even I enjoyed it well worth the money I paid my son is only three bu has watched it time and time again
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
From the height of the television show's popularity, this full-length movie features all four of Batman (Adam West) and Robin's (Burt Ward) most dastardly and cunning adversaries: the Penguin (Burgess Meredith), the Joker (Cesar Romero), the Riddler (Frank Gorshin), and the Catwoman (Lee Meriwether), joining forces to take over the world thanks to a De-Hydrator that turns people into piles of dust. The dynamic duo pull out all the stops, with a BIFF! and a KA-POW!, to stop the bad guys.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2012
This film is hilarious as its so dated. My little boy is really into Batman at the moment and this film is ideal for him to jump about dressed in his Bat costume doing all the actions. It's from a by gone gentle age where props are dreadful and the story lines are feeble but it's worth getting as Batman is a part of our pop culture! I prefer this film to the latest versions as it subtly implies things rather than being overt.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The original 1966 Batman movie is, by far, one of the cheesiest and camp movies you'll ever watch. However, I don't intend to slate a film from the 60's that had kids excited and amazed - this is 2007 afterall. We love this film now, thankfully, because it is dated.
And by that I mean what? Who can not smile and grin at the sheer fun of this film! The fact that its so innocent makes us laugh now, but the bright colours and well-spoken people involved can only make you happy after a hard tiring day!
It would be silly to explain the plot - you've probably already got an idea of the structure involved! But present in the film, we see Adam West playing good ol' Batman, with an array of transportation, from his 'Bat-copter' to his 'Batmobile', not to mention the many other items he owns - all just standard things, made special by the fact they have 'Bat' in front of it. I may be mistaken... he does have a "Shark-Repellent-Bat Spray". Its just as well he doesn't spray it at himself then!
The best bit? Its not even worth questioning - West may come with some woppers, such as his truly viscious "You........CRIMINALS!", but the best scene was always going to be the funniest by todays standards. We see Batman and Robin in their Batcopter, flying over a boat. Batman releases his 'Bat-ladder' so he can try and board the boat. However, Robin rather foolishly lowers him too much, and so he goes waist-high into the sea - Cue a stiff looking model of a shark to be attatched to Adam West's leg, as he gets raised from the water. "Holy Sardines!" cries Robin, but the flustered Batman grunts, spits, stabs, and attempts to thump this shark. Cue once again, 'Shark-Repellent-Bat Spray'. And to top it all off, after a long spray on the shark, its blows up when it hits the water! Very handy indeed....
More laugh out loud moments are included in what would be considered by many now, a rather camp film. Its the truth! Society has changed massively. But if you can find it in your heart to try and treat it as a big-kids adventure, you might stop your self from becoming a Mr or Mrs Sarcastic!

I thought I'd end on some of Batman's most noble & dedicated quotes... Enjoy!

"We must leave inconspicuously... through the window!"
"How lucky it was that such a brave sea animal gave his life for ours, to prevent that torpedo from hitting us. One can only honour"
"Surrender! You.... Criminals!"
"Luckily this corrugated sheet of iron was the perfect retreat from that fiendish bomb"
"Who would dare gamble that we would crash land on this pile of foam mattresses? Luckily... I was able to see it in the corner of my eye"

B.M - "Say.. no more.. Robin. It... would only be compromising..."
ROB - "Of course Batman..."

"Batman to Coastguard - we have have infiltrated the enemy sub, its filled with human jetsam...

BATMAN "Look Robin, another Riddle!

What gobbles, and flies upside down?"

...

ROBIN "A sparrow with a machine gun!"

...

COLONEL "Yes of course!"
11 comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2004
Michael Keaton's Batman was a fine effort but for me Adam West IS the definitive Batman. He may be clean-cut and without the demons of the 90s Batman but West proved capable on the series of tackling either high camp moments of dancing in discos, giggling manically to laughing gas or contemplating the villains plots with all the dramatic seriousness of watching Hiroshima being bombed. This movie is basically a near 2hr long episode of the series but with an extra budget. The four best villains of the series are here if you can get past the idea that that they would actually work together and each has his own moment to shine. The great moments here are the obvious bomb sequence, subtler ones such as Bruce Wayne drinking milk out of a brandy snifter, and the Joker being mistaken for a steward by a kidnapped Commodore who thinks hes on an mid-Atlantic cruise.
The extras are terrific and West/Ward's commentary, particularly West's obvious self-mocking amusement at proceedings, is hilarious. A must buy and a great addition for any collector of comic-book movie DVDS.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)