Barnaby Grimes: Return of the Emerald Skull and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
Buy Used
£2.80
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by Get Go Gecko
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: This item will be picked packed and dispatched by Amazon.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Barnaby Grimes: Return of the Emerald Skull Hardcover – 3 Jan 2008


See all 7 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Hardcover, 3 Jan 2008
£5.00 £0.01

Children's Gift Guide
Children's Books Gift Guide
Explore our Children's Books Gift Guide to find the perfect gift for the child in your life.

Special Offers and Product Promotions




Product details

  • Hardcover: 224 pages
  • Publisher: Doubleday Children's Books; First American Edition edition (3 Jan 2008)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0385611897
  • ISBN-13: 978-0385611893
  • Product Dimensions: 14.2 x 2 x 20.6 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (4 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 1,398,257 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Authors

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

Review

"Once again Paul Stewart and Chris Riddell have created a tale that will make spines tingle and that will utterly captivate listeners. The story is beautifully paced, and from the very beginning, because of the contents of chapter one, readers know that Barnaby is going to get himself into a very unpleasant situation at some point in the story. The suspense is delicious and the characters are memorable" (Through the Looking Glass) --This text refers to the Audio CD edition.

Book Description

The second in this thrilling, breathtaking audio series full of intrigue and horror. Perfect for fans of The Edge Chronicles. Unabridged --This text refers to the Audio CD edition.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse and search another edition of this book.
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
3
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 4 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful By Mandyfab on 3 Jun 2008
Format: Hardcover
Barnaby Grimes is not afraid of anything, he rushes in where angels might fear to tread, and saves the day once more. My 9 yr old son found the first Barnaby Grimes book a bit unnerving, but I have thoroughly enjoyed both to date! The author's description of Barnaby hopping and skipping over rooftops "high-stacking" almost makes you want to become a tick-tock lad. The stovers pasties sound delicious too. Once again as in Curse of the Night Wolf, Barnaby's intuition rapidly uncovers the plot, and he bravely and selflessly comes to the rescue. This book contains horror, mystery, intruigue, friendship and excitement. A jolly good read for child and adult alike if you have enjoyed other Chris Riddell books such as Fergus Crane, Corby Flood, Hugo Pepper, Ottoline and Curse of the Night Wolf.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By J. A. Owen on 23 Sep 2013
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
I enjoyed the book very much not as good as The Edge books buts till a very enjoyable book to read
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Donna Mills on 28 Jun 2013
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
it's a good read, I have all ways enjoyed reading old story's and this was a good one to try.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By VICTOR on 17 May 2013
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
My Grandchildren love these stories and have given it a 5 star rating.

They are now waiting for the other's from these authors.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 3 reviews
Stewart's Prose and Riddell's Pictures Are Perfectly Paired 3 Jun 2009
By KidsReads - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Hardcover
Barnaby Grimes's city is home to many private schools for children. Some are pleasant and reputable, but others take parents' money and lock their kids in, housing them in horrible conditions until they are shut down or the children violently rebel. When Barnaby, a tick-tock lad (or clerk errant), delivers a message to the headmaster at Grassington Hall School, he finds the students happy and healthy and the staff well-meaning. But a later visit to that very same school ends in bloodshed and disaster.

RETURN OF THE EMERALD SKULL is the second installment in Paul Stewart and Chris Riddell's Barnaby Grimes series. Like the first, CURSE OF THE NIGHT WOLF, this novel is dark and gothic, a scary tale richly illustrated. Barnaby not only has a high adventure, but alludes to many he has had in the past. He doesn't seek out danger, but it finds him nonetheless.

Headmaster Archimedes Barnett sends Barnaby to the docks to pick up his latest acquisition, a stuffed bird called the catincatapetl, or emerald messenger of darkness. As he approaches the docks in search of the ship that brought the bird from its native jungle habitat, a deep and ominous fog rolls in. Barnaby finds the ship, but it seems ghostly and deserted, and he later discovers the crew has disappeared. Still, he delivers the package to Barnett and spends the rest of his summer studying an ancient and esoteric art called yinchido with a beautiful young Chinese woman. Mei Ling teaches him much and captivates him, but before he can finish his lessons, he learns that all is not well at Grassington Hall and that it has turned into a dreaded "lock-up academy." The students have gone wild, hunting animals and eating them raw, and abusing the faculty and staff. Can Barnaby stop them from committing a heinous human sacrifice?

Barnaby, a young man of indeterminable age, is brave, dashing, handsome and clever, and is the perfect guide through the chaotic unnamed city. Through a maze of streets to the wharf and highstacking over the roofs back to the richer parts of town, he knows the shortcuts and the people, the truths and the legends about the place in which he lives. He deals swiftly and easily with threats but always tries to avoid serious violence. He is cool and kind, a romantic realist, and his escapades are sure to thrill readers. Stewart's prose and Riddell's pictures are perfectly paired (the duo are also the creators of The Edge Chronicles).

Since Barnaby faces real terror and threats, this short book is not for very young or sensitive readers. There is less character development here than in the first book, making this one a bit flatter, but Barnaby Grimes is still a compelling and mysterious figure, and hopefully more will be revealed about him as the series progresses. What the book lacks in character development or plausible action, it more than makes up for in thrills and originality.

--- Reviewed by Sarah Rachel Egelman
I liked it 12 April 2014
By rebecca boyker - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition
His books keep getting better and better. I liked it. His style of writing is very fun to read. :)
Easy Read 18 Sep 2013
By Bettie Glover - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
My grandkids love this series of books. I have read them all that have come out and they still want more.
Were these reviews helpful? Let us know


Feedback